We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on a no-frills motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Save Saved
You added Good Nite Inn - Salinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   545 Work Street, Salinas, CA 93901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value on a no-frills motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On my long drive from the Bay Area to Los Angeles, I needed a cheap place to crash for several hours. That's it. No frills needed. The low room rate sealed the deal, and makes this property a reasonable value. ... The hotel is not very clean, and the color scheme is drab and dull. The stairwells and walkways and carpeting could all use a good deep cleaning. The noise level is not blissful. There's an auto detail shop Next door whose PA announcements woke me in the morning. And, as of October 2012, there is a construction project on the north side of the property that is sure to be a nuisance to sensitive sleepers; be sure to request a room on the opposite side. ... On the plus side, the housekeeping staff was unobtrusive in the early morning, and the Front desk staff was helpful with directions in the morning and at my 3 a.m. checkin. Bottom line: i have stayed at far worse places for double the price. If this motel keeps its prices low enough, there is a good value to be had here, when a 1-star property is all you want.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I would like to thank you for providing feedback of your most recent stay at our property. I would also like to apologize for some of the inconveniences that you experienced while staying at our hotel. Your concerns will not go unaddressed and rest assured I am taking the appropriate steps to change the culture here at the property. The construction is only temporary and once completed, will add another wonderful business to the city of Salinas. Thank you very much for your positive comments relating to the staff. I will be sure to share your kind words with them. We pride ourselves on having outstanding guest service and appreciate and I hope to serve you again in the near future.

Respectfully,

Aaron Lavota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    38
    23
    56
See reviews for
35
38
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The place was reasonably clean (wouldn't want to walk barefoot on their carpet), but the check-in process feels more like checking into a prison half-way house than a hotel.

First thing I noticed was even though it was only about 7 P.M., while the clerk was in the lobby, the customers had to wait outside and push things through some sort of armored contraption.

The clerk asked to see my ID - a reasonable request. I then saw my driver's license up on clerk's computer screen. Without warning or my consent, the clerk had scanned in a copy of my driver's license, picture and all! I have stayed in many hotels in the US, and have never seen this before.

The I was presented with a two-page document to sign, full of rules and regulations (more than the normal no smoking/check out time is sort of stuff). It was late and I didn't have the energy to read all of them. Some had to be initialed, including something about that they reserved the right to turn all of your information over to the police. Once again, something I had never seen in a hotel before.

Also, not specific to this hotel, but to most budget hotels in the US - instead of having yucky hard-to-clean stained carpet, why not use an easy to clean laminate (e.g. Pergo) for flooring? This is very common in European budget hotels, particularly in Southern Europe.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your visit. We are sorry that you found our check-in process somewhat involving. It will be good to know that we are required by law to keep an accurate record of every guest who stays with us. This is due to any eventualities or emergencies. The use of an ID scanner has been employed for no other reason but to make the check in process faster and the capture of guest information more accurate. This is tantamount to swiping a credit card, an action that accurately captures the information on the guest's credit card.
All guests are required to sign the registration form to conclude the "contract" being entered with the hotel. Given that we have guests from all walks of life, the hotel has developed some guidelines that we advice our guests to adhere to so that all can pursue happiness without transgressing on others.
Finally, as for the night window, may I first say that we are located in a very safe area away from the vibrant downtown Salinas and do not experience any insecurity conditions. We have in-house security guards and work very closely with local law enforcement agencies. At dust however, we advice the only Guest Service Representative on duty to serve all guests through the night window. I am sure you will understand this to be an agreable safety precautionary measure. Like they say, better safe than sorry.
Again, please accept my apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. We appreciate and will certainly take your candid feedback constructively and continue to improve on our procedures moving forward. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It ok, just some minor copliants about cleanlineless and big one about bloodie carpets in room. Sleeping in street side also was not so good as we would.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience. We apologize that the level of cleanliness was not acceptable during your stay with us. Inexcusable to say the least. We obviously did not live up to our normal reputation and hotel standards in providing a clean room. It will however be good to know that the red spot you noticed on the carpet is not blood but hair dye caused by a guest who stayed in that room prior to your arrival. We take seriously the safety and health of our guests and would not assign a room to a guests that does not meet stipulated safety standards. A vendor has already been requested to replace the carpet in that room.

Located in an urban area, a level of traffic noise is to be expected, but when we receive complaints of noise disturbance, we propmply move our guests to alternative accommodations.

Your candid response is appreciated. We strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional experience and regret that your stay was not up to our standards. We hope that others reading reviews of the Good Nite Inn Salinas will note that the majority of our reviews are very positive and that this is a rare occurrence. We hope you will consider the Good Nite Inn

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was the least expensive reasonable hotel around, and just fine. It's in a warehouse district, a few blocks from other businesses. It's a nice, basic place. Check-in was efficient, and the clerk went out of his way to find us the quietest room he had. We even were given a room with 2 beds instead of one, and he didn't make us pay more. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We make every effort to maintain clean rooms in a safe environment and are very proud of our hotel. We are equally mindfull of the economic times we live in and make every effort to maintain our room rates within the reach of our guests..

Although located away from the busy Salinas city district, many of our guests choose our hotel just for the peace and serenity it offers. You may have however noticed that we are strategically situated at the confluence of highway 101, route 68 to Monterey and route 183 to Santa Cruz

Our well trained staff go the extra mile to see to the comfort of our guests and we are always willing to upgrade our guests especially when we recognise the need and have availability.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope it wont be long before we welcome you again.

Sincerely
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with family when we went to see the MOTO GP at Laguna Seca
The rooms were quite poor and had old worn carpet, bedclothes and towels.
The TV didn't work and the walls were so thin the guy snoring in the next room sounded like a buzz saw.
It advertised breakfast included but the coffee was nasty and the pastry was poor.
We only paid about £30.00/$50.00 per night so I suppose I cant really complain

Its ok if you just want somewhere to sleep but I wont be staying again !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your experience. My staff and I work very hard to ensure that our guests stay in a clean, safe and affordable room. I personally inspect all rooms before they are released to be sold to ensure that the standard of our cleanliness is maintained. We continually assess the condition of our carpets and have a vendor come out to install new carpets in rooms that show carpets which may have fallen below our standard. I am so sorry our bedspreads and towels did not meet your expectation. Every month, we bring in new towels and lined. I am equally sorry about breakfast. The hotel offers complimentary coffee and tea in the morning but not continental breakfast. I have reached out to the travel agent with whom you made your reservationes and ensured that the correct infornmation is posted on their website. Finally, with due respect, at a rate of $50, I would not call it cheap, but we are mindful of the economic times we live in and make every effort to keep our rates within the reach of a majority of our guests. Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectation but thank you for your candid review and invite you to stay with us again should your travels bring you the Salinas/Monterey area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My Boyfriend & I've stayed in this motel on several occasions. It's a No Frills place, but it's Conviently located right off of 101 & 68. If you blink you miss it. ok, Not really. LOL!
Everytime we've stayed there, we've gone down the Coast to Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur & etc. Each aren't really that far away....oh If you stay, you gotta stop at the Giant Artichoke restaurant. It's not that far away either. It's in Castroville, Ca. off of Route 1. it's only 16 minutes away. Anyway, our room is Always clean. the Shower works well. the Room is comfortable. and at least they do have a T.V. & a Refidgerator. and a phone, if you really need that. but Most people have Cell phones nowadays...so ya really don't need the use of the Landline do ya? we don't. I have No complaints about this motel. It's Affordable & it has the Main things you need a motel for in the first place...a Bed, a Shower & a T.V. and Lights. LOL! what more do you really need? oh, and the Staff is Super Friendly & Helpful. :)

Room Tip: Be Friendly with the Staff, and they'll return the Same in Kind. Don't be Rude tho, cus that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging remarks that have been passed to the team. We make every effort to meet the needs of our guest: a clean comfortable room in a safe environment. We are concious of the economic times we live in and make every effort to to keep our room rates within the reach of many of our guests. Our staff is very proud to work here and go the extra mile to meet the needs of our guests. Like you mention, we are strategically located off the main highways and quite accessible to the major attractions in this valley.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is ok to sleep there for one night if it is on your way, but I wouldn;t stay there longer.
Negatives: Small room, strange people, not very clean.
Positives: Comfortable bed, good shower, refrigerator, TV.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience. We are a budget hotel geared towards meeting the needs of travelers not requiring extended stays. We are glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We are however sorry that you felt uncomfortable about some of our guests. While we cannot deny anyone accommodation, we take immediate action when cases of disturbance by other guests is brought to our attention. We have adequate security on property to ensure the safety of our guests and their property. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Address: 545 Work Street, Salinas, CA 93901
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Nite Inn - Salinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.