We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Deal and super clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Good Nite Inn - Salinas to your Saves list
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   545 Work Street, Salinas, CA 93901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a Deal and super clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I'm a snob when staying at hotels and can't remember the last time I've stayed at less than a four star hotel; however, I was traveling alone and just needed a place to crash that was clean and convenient. This place is right off the freeway close to the local subway for sandwiches and two blocks from a CVS where I picked up my forgotten hairspray. The building and grounds are attractive and nicely maintained and the room was absolutely perfect for a one night stay. I felt safe, the bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless and the staff was most helpful. I never would have thought you could still get a bed for $35! Works for me. Wi-fi was $4 extra - big deal. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for registering your experience during your recent stay with us.

Our main objective is to earn the trust of our guests by providing a uniquely positive service that exceeds expectation. We strive to provide a clean, safe and friendly environment at rates that remain within reach of many of our guests. Your comments are highly valued for they give us an indication of our performance and point us in the direction our guests would want us to pay additional attention.

Once again, thank you for your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    42
    26
    57
See reviews for
38
41
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We went for 1 night. We were going for my daughter birthday to Monterey Bay Aquarium. The Hotels in Monterey are much more expensive and change extra fees. This Hotel was close and well worth the price. It was very clean and friendly people in the office. We used the pool and hot tub, it was very clean and nice. It was easy to get to and quiet. There is an elevator. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is right off the freeway in a quiet industrial street. Its simple, clean and has a decent continental breakfast. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stay there for the long weekend of Labor Day and we were so pleased that the manager Vic help us with our resevation via phone call a day before we arrived. We noticed changes in the motel for good.... as a permited voucher for your car to be display in your front window as part of safety for guess, any car without will be towed away. The service with the rooms has been changed as well, we don't have to wait a lot for room service and the front desk person was very nice.....
I give all the credit to the manager for creating such a nice place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post your experience following your recent stay with us. Our primary objective is to provide to our guests a clean and inexpensive room in a safe environment. Feedback from our guests such as yourself is invaluable as it helps us in understanding the needs of our guests as we continue to work on our product and service to wow and meet guest guest expectation. We invite you to stay with us again should your business bring you to the Salinas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

If you are merely looking for a place to crash for the night at a good price, this is it. There are no frills or extras, but the rooms are tidy.

By tidy, I mean they are cleaned daily, but they do not appear to have been deep cleaned in a while as there is dust in the corners, etc... but for one night at a great rate, it doesn't much matter.

The fan in the the bathroom is very loud, we nicknamed it the monster :) Again, we were only there for a one brief night, so no matter.

The continental breakfast isn't really one. There is coffee and a small selection of muffins that were bulk purchased. There is a Jamba Juice a few blocks away with fantastic oatmeal, which we opted for instead.

Parking is included with your stay, but you do need a paper for your dashboard to identify your car.

There is a pool and hot tub but we did not try them, there were people in both during our stay.

Our room was quiet and our heating/cooling worked properly.

Again, no frills, but a great place to stay to get to Monterey in a short drive or as a pit stop on a long 101 road trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit. Our objective like you correctly observe is to provide our guests with a clean room at an affordable rate. We offer a quick-start breakfast for this same purpose of keeping our rates within the reach of many of our guests. Car parking is complimentary to our guests. We issue paking passses to ensure that the parking area is utilised exclusively by our registered guests. Please allow me to apologize for any room conditions that were not up to standard. We do inspect the rooms daily for any substandard conditions, but it seems we may have missed some necessary repairs that should have been addressed in your room. Thank you for alerting us about the noisy fun which we have already addressed. The swimming pool and hot spa are very popular with our guests especially in the summer time. I am sorry you did not get an opportunity to use them but I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future as to utilize some of the facilities you may have missed out on. Again, thank you for your comments and my apologies for where we fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUNTINGTN BCH
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked two rooms (family of four including two children). We were put in the back of the hotel and within a couple of minutes of arriving in our rooms we noticed an unusual amount of cars with men pulling in front of our windows. Our kids (two girls of 13 and 15) alarmed us as they started feeling scared as the men would stare in their bedrooms. I decided to keep an eye on the outside and indeed we saw non-stop cars pulling in front of our windows and walking to other doors down ours. Then they'd walk back to their car and either drive off or stay in their cars and waited there staring at us. Unbelievable ! It's a brothel not a hotel.... The hotel told us they would give us our money back when we checked out after 20 minutes or so but now (a week later) they are refusing to honor their promise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnimgmt, Owner at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments and for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are very sorry that you felt uncomfortable during your stay, as your total satisfaction is our number one goal.

Please rest assured that we take any complaints of perceived illegal activity at our property very seriously. Unfortunately, we do not always know upon check-in what activities people may be planning, but as we receive evidence of improper conduct, we take swift and immediate action.

We are also very diligent in monitoring any such activity and work very closely with our local law enforcement agency, which visits our property from time to time to check-in on us and offer any assistance.

In regard to any refunds that may have been promised, it can sometimes take a few days for this to be credited to your account, due to the use of third-party providers. Anyone not receiving a promised refund within the suggested time frame, should contact the hotel for status.

Again, we are very sorry for any inconvenience you may have felt and do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Omg... this hotel is the most lousiest hotels ive ever stayed at!! They said my room was ready..but of course it wasnt. The towels were stale and the room was as well. The staff was out of this world. Manager didnt know how to run a business. I had a non smoking room which still smelt like stale cigarettes. The parking was horrible. The check in process took forever. There were prostitutes in and out throughout the day. Drunk men hanging out in cars looking for some fun. Trust me do not stay at this ran down place of unprofessionalism. Stay here if you want noise and stale muffins. I stayed there the same week the softball teams were there and this review before mines is absolutely correct. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED ITS CHEAP BUT AN EXTRA 20-30 BUCKS A NIGHT WOULD BE WORTH IT STAYING SOMEWHERE ELSE!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnimgmt, Owner at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As is the case with all hotels, our general check-in time is 3:00pm.

When guests arrive earlier, we do our best to accommodate an early arrival, but due to the fact that we may need time to clean rooms and prepare them appropriately, an immediate check-in may not be possible.

We do, however, apologize for not meeting your needs. In regard to the parking situation, since your complaint is not specific (“the parking was horrible”), we’re not sure how to address this issue. If you would like to contact us to give us more specifics of the issue you faced, this would allow us to more constructively look into the matter.

Finally, regarding individuals who may have been on property for illicit or illegal practices, please rest assured that we take any complaints of this nature very seriously. Unfortunately, we do not always know upon check-in what activities people may be planning, but as we receive evidence of improper conduct, we take swift and immediate action. We are also very diligent in monitoring any such activity and work very closely with our local law enforcement agency, which visits our property from time to time to check-in on us and offer any assistance.

Again, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and do hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Address: 545 Work Street, Salinas, CA 93901
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Nite Inn - Salinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.