We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The accommodations were extremely clean, the staff was more than helpful, and I'd gladly stay there again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Kern Street, Salinas, CA 93905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The accommodations were extremely clean, the staff was more than helpful, and I'd gladly stay there again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a double room with 2 friends while on vacation from Aug 31 -Sept 5, 2012. Our goal was to see San Francisco (1.25 hrs away), and all of Carmel & Pebble Beach (40 min away). Salinas is small, quiet, and perfectly located if you have your own car and enjoy driving. Don't be alarmed by the surrounding low budget motels when you get near the Holiday Inn. It is VERY nice and clean. The ladies who make the daily complimentary breakfast keep the area clean and well stocked with food (breakfast is from 6-10am and get there before 9:30 if you dont want to miss the last of the fresh food). I got a sneak peak of the kitchen one day and Wow - that is a clean kitchen! Seeing it made me feel much better about the breakfast. The lobby was so nice that guests hang out with their families there on busy nights. The rooms are spacious and really clean. Housekeeping comes through around 9-10am, and if you want your room cleaned same day be out of it by then. There are lots of outlets in the rooms and all of ours worked. There is a blow dryer, microwave, and mini-fridge in some rooms along with free internet. There are only 2 open computers near the lobby, so business travelers should keep that in mind. The hotel has easy access to major roads and freeways. For the first time ever I used the laundry facility at a hotel, and theirs is clean and inexpensive ($1 per wash/dry). Definitely bring your own detergent or bleach, and the front desk will give you quarters.

An added bonus (unrelated) is the In-N-Out burger 2 doors down! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Caution: Do not eat at Margie's Diner next door. It's really bad food and really old.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
39
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, California, United States
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very nice property, right off the freeway but set back enough to be quiet in the hotel. This Holiday express is well kept, clean & the staff very friendly & helpful. It has a nice large pool & hot-tub with showers in a detached enclosure kind of like an atrium. The rooms have refrigerators & microwaves an an air conditioning system that would make even polar bears happy. The breakfast area is large with ample seating. breakfast itself has a nice selection of fruits & breads, eggs, pancake machine, as well as milk & assorted juices. at night hot coffee, cocoa, tea & juice is available for guests. The media area is right off the end of the dining area and has 2 computers hooked up to the internet & a printer. My Wi-fi worked well here also. the staff was knowledgeable of the surrounding area & suggested a great place for dinner as well as provided us with discount for local attractions (Monteray aquarium, chart house & Famous Dave's & whale watching). While this hotel is about 15 min from bay area... it is priced way below ones actually in Monteray bay which makes a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Near the highway, with a bit of noise, but not too bad. Clean, modern room. Breakfast quite good, nice selection of bread, fruit, cereals. Great advice from reception for dinner- Los Altos, just down the street with delicious, cheap authentic Mexican food. Noisy but fun. Thanks for the great suggestion!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Last night of our California vacation, stayed at this nice property enroute to the airport the next day. It was very clean, felt like a new property, friendly staff, spacious room, nice pool house, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently took a trip to Monterey and I had a room booked at Hyatt Monterey. After reading about the thin walls and having two small children, I started to search for other properties. I was able to get a great deal through Hotwire for $123/night at HIE Salinas. The free parking, breakfast and small amount of rooms helped a lot. Checkin was a breeze and the evening shift employee was a great guy. We got a room on the second floor and did not hear anything the first two nights. The last night Friday we did hear some neighbor noise. We think it was teen aged boys just hanging out. They were all asleept by 11:30 p.m. The breakfast for us was the winner. A good variety of choices and my son would eat three yogurts every morning. Would highly suggest this property and the location right off 101 and very close to Monterey and surrounding areas. It was just a low key, quiet property and reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

So my family and i needed a hotel for a night and i found out about this one which is close to the east side it was a bit expensive for a suite with 2 queen beds but after staying there i notice it was worth it it was 4pm when we got the room and they had some food at the lobby eggs,bacon,hotdogs and more stuff and they had two pools which was awesome i wish i could go back i will definetly stay there again the room was supee clean.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a two queen bed room (because it was cheaper than the king room) and the lighting was abysmal. Only one lamp between the two beds and it was very tiny so could not be used to see anything on the opposite side of the bed. No table on the opposite side of the bed either. It is a newer hotel and, despite being next to the very busy 101, we did not notice any road noise. Rooms were clean and bathroom was fine. An indoor pool. The usual breakfast stuff. We stayed here two nights and prices seemed high for a Holiday Inn Express, but maybe that was because the California Rodeo was happening. Prices in Salinas usually escalate during the rodeo, but $189 for a room at a Holiday Inn Express? We thought about spending a 3rd night, but the bump up in price (from the $153 at which we reserved the room a couple of months ago) was just too much for a Holiday Inn Express. Especially when, for just a bit more, one can stay at the fabulous Spindrift Inn over in Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas

Address: 195 Kern Street, Salinas, CA 93905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While lodging in our superior Salinas hotel, guests enjoy free, wireless Internet access, indoor pool and whirlpool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast bar. Check out our Salinas hotel's excellent deals and start planning your trip today.Stay Smart. Stay at a Holiday Inn Express ;) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas Hotel Salinas
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Salinas
Holiday Inn Express Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.