We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowood Napa Valley

Save Saved
You added Meadowood Napa Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
South Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Meadowood is a lovely resort clinging to the hillside outside of St. Helena. I had a huge, comfortable room and deck in the treetops at the top of a long flight of (poorly lit) steps. Excellent, pricey spa. However, at $1000+ a night, it simply isn't in the same league as 5-star properties I've stayed in all over the world. Disappointments: Virtually no common space where friends or family can hang out together. Incredibly overpriced food and wine. A tiny bar where we were told that every comfortable chair was reserved. We sat on bar stools for wine that ranged from $35-$65 a glass. There was NOTHING special about Thanksgiving dinner. Unless we wanted a long, steep walk, we had to call for a golf cart to go anywhere on the grounds. Maid service arrived late in the afternoon. No comparison w/my experience at the Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay, not to mention the difference in time from the San Francisco airport (45 minutes vs. 2 1/2 hours). If you're a big foodie/winie, stay in a hotel in Yountville where you can walk to some of the best restaurants in the US and drink all the wine you want without worrying about driving afterwards.

Room Tip: Look at a resort map and try to get a room near the activities you plan to participate in. Some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I thank you for writing such a detailed note and I'd like to offer you a thorough response. First, I am glad to know you enjoyed your guest room. We are very proud of our spa therapists and the array of services we offer. We do know it is time to update the physical aspects of the spa and have broken ground on a brand new spa in a different area of the property. We look forward to making this available to our guests at some point in 2015. We also realize we are lacking a large, convivial gathering area and while I can't share the details of a plan we have to remedy this, please know there is a plan underway. I regret you did not find your Thanksgiving meal more memorable. We have always had very positive feedback on our holiday meals. I also regret you were not happy with the timing of your housekeeping service. Our standard is to visit the rooms between 9:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. although we welcome special requests from guests for specific service times. In terms of staying in Yountville, we understand that many of our guests want the privacy and natural beauty to be found at Meadowood while also wishing to enjoy the wonderful dining establishments in Yountville. Please know that we do offer complimentary house car service to downtown Yountville and downtown St. Helena for our guests' convenience. If ever you would like to return to Meadowood, we would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence in our experience. Please contact me directly if ever I may be assistance with a future stay. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    50
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
196
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bahamas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Amazing Location if you are Planing to take tour on the Wineries!
Opus One / Frogs Leap/ Mondavi are really close!!!!
Hiking trail is very large and with some beautifuls views.

We travelled alot and never felt soo pamper from a General Manager in a Hotel as we did at The Meadowood! from the Welcome arrival (amenity singed by him) to greeting us in the mornigs and in the restaurants! General Manager Alex Kim really elevated our experieced at the Hotel!

We cant wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You are so right! Meadowood is ideally situated in the heart of the Napa Valley within close proximity to a dazzling array of legendary wineries. I'm glad you had a chance to visit a few wonderful wineries during your stay with us! Thank you for mentioning your appreciation for my attention. It is both my honor and pleasure to welcome and be of service to our guests. Please always ask for me by name when you visit! I will look forward to seeing you again. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Five stars!! The property is beautiful and the staff is very accomodating. Its the details that really make the difference. The complementary shuttle into town, the Molton Brown bath products, the turndown service.. Not to mention.. a very romantic room. Had a really lovely time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We're glad you left the property for a bit to visit our beautiful downtown! St. Helena's Main Street offers blocks of historic buildings, restaurants and cafes, bakeries and coffee shops, wine tasting, art galleries and, of course, shops! We hope you will return to us for another romantic getaway soon. Kind regards, Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The room that we got was very small, the electrical and plumbing systems are very old and we had problem as soon as we arrived as we had to call the maintenance team to clean our toilet bowl as the flush was not strong enough to clean it properly. We also had a power cut while we were watching the TV in the evening. which is quite frustrating. We could hear the neighbours in their room and especially when they were on their small terrace having a drink. The service was not very efficient compared to other hotels charging this kind of prices especially for the morning breakfast.
The fitness is equipped with very old equipment. The swimming pool is large and very nice.
We travel all the time and usually choose the best hotels where we go. We have been very disappointed with this one. Our opinion only !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Meadowood for two nights last week. What a beautiful, private, and exceptionally unique property. From the minute we arrived, we were impressed by the scenic beauty, relaxed atmosphere and friendliness of the staff.

Brittany (the Concierge) was extremely efficient in putting together a last minute wine tour for us, and the bellmen were warm and welcoming throughout the duration of our stay. Daniel was exceptionally hospitable and attentive, delivering a bottle of champagne to us, and providing a ride to the hot tub late in the evening. Although the girl at check-in seemed a little insincere, other than that, we were greatly impressed by the entire Meadowood team. Hospitality at it's finest.

Our room was luxurious and set apart from the main reception area. Very peaceful and private, with a spacious balcony and fireplace. Everything we could ever need or want was at our fingertips. In-room dining was quick and efficient. Although we had a few problems with our in-room telephone, the trip was essentially perfect in every way and culminated with a breathtaking hike around the property. Would definitely return and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Reading your comments regarding your stay were a wonderful way to start the day! I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay. One of the things we hope our guests will do should they decide to venture from the estate is to visit our legendary local wineries. It's wonderful to know that Brittany made good choices for you and that she was able to arrange your itinerary on short notice. That's one of the benefits of having so many wonderful winery relationships! I'll also let Daniel know you appreciated his thoughtful gestures. We look forward to welcoming you back to Meadowood soon and often! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Top-notch property in the St. Helena neighborhood, just off the Silverado Trail. Rooms are exquisite, but understandably expensive. Will Agee, at the Concierge desk, was very helpful in arranging a couple of days of winery visits: he did this flawlessly after talking to me about what my wife and I liked and wanted to see and taste. Food is outstanding as well, for all meals. Lovely wine tasting in the lobby by the front desk in the early evening. There are less expensive options but this place is worth it. You feel pampered and relaxed, to say the least.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Will Agee is a popular fellow these days! We're so glad he was able to assist you in scheduling experiences you found memorable. We've made recent updates to our guest rooms and are heartened you found them exquisite. It's nice to know we're making the right choices! We do hope you'll return to us soon. With hundreds of small, exceptional wineries to visit, Will will have no trouble introducing you to others you're likely to enjoy. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had an amazing visit - Will went the extra mile to set up 3 great days of wine tastings and restaurant selections. Waking up to a beautiful wood burning fireplace, top notch room service, and later, winding down in our beautiful sitting room made the trip worthwhile. Friendly staff and relaxed vibe. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your high praise for Will! He's a highly valued member of our team with excellent relationships within our vintner community. We do strive to offer our guests hospitality that is professional yet reflects the relaxed atmosphere of our country setting. When you're ready to return, give Will a call and he'll create a wonderful second visit for you! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a full-service health spa, a wine educator, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowood Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.