We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury at its Best !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowood Napa Valley

Save Saved
You added Meadowood Napa Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Helena
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“luxury at its Best !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night only in one of the wooded suites, room simple but gorgeous Fantastic huge fire ,2 porches ,huge bathroom,lovely bed linens and views overlooking the woods.The staff are wonderful,very friendly,unbelieveably helpfull yet extremely professional.A fleet of mercedes suvs are on hand to take you around the resort or to nearby wineries.Went to both restaurants The Meadowood for cocktails and the Grill for dinner.Loved both places in particular The Meadowood as the decor is gorgeous and our server(sadly cant remember he name) was so helpfull in suggesting nearby wineries to visit.To sum up ,this is truely a one of a kind place to visit,expensive but so worth it,you really are treated like VIPS and everyone should get the chance to visit somewhere as beautifull as this.Cant wait to go back for our anniv next year. !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We're thrilled to read your comments! Most of the members of our staff live in close proximity to Meadowood and know our community, including our wonderful local wineries, very well. You will find nearly every member of our team will be happy to recommend favorite places to visit and call ahead for you to make arrangements. In reality, the Napa Valley is a very small place, only about 35 miles long and five miles wide. This makes for a close-knit community and a very warm and hospitable one as well. When you experience gracious service at Meadowood it's because this is how our staff members really feel. They're happy to be here and equally happy to be helping our guests to create magical memories, both on and off the estate. Please do come back again soon! We'll save two seats in The Restaurant at Meadowood for you so you may enjoy yet another new experience...and a romantic one at that. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    44
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
174
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff, the grounds, the food and the spa are all amazing! It is pricey, but we try and go back at least once every two years. The treetop rooms are too "woodsy" for us but we LOVE the rooms b the Croquet area.

Room Tip: I love the rooms by the croquet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Hilary! The Napa Valley is a truly romantic destination and we love that so many couples utter the words "Yes!" "I will!" and "I do!" during their stays at Meadowood. Thank you for returning to us over and again to relive fond memories and create new ones. I would like to welcome you personally with two flutes of Champagne on your next visit, so please contact me at 707-967-1235 when you plan your next stay. Thank you! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Meadowood Napa Valley is an adventure and a vacation the minute you turn off the highway. Quaint but modern, the resort has an "oldtime" persona, from another time and place in American history - the kind of place that makes you relax and slow down the moment you drive up the lane. That said, our rooms (and all the main areas of the resort we visited) were updated and new, Adirondack-cottage style. Tucked away off the main roads, past a vineyard, down an olive tree lined lane, and finally up a steep hill into the woods just outside of St. Helena, Meadowood is exactly what my husband and I needed to recharge our batteries this weekend for a romantic weekend without any family or friends (not that we don't love them all, but sometimes it's just nice to be alone). Highly recommend Meadowood for anyone looking for some pampering time, especially i think, in the "off season" when the kids are in school and families may not be summering there. Mid week would be great. We found the resort to be blissfully quiet, the weather absolutely perfect in April, and once all the doors are closed and the shades drawn at night, incredibly peaceful.

The staff is friendly and soliticious. Before arrival, Bob and Denise helped us plan as few or as many activities as we desired, including arranging massages, hiring either a service or driver for wine tasting tours, making dinner reservations. (We chose a driver with an SUV for wine tasting one afternoon and were really pleased with Mr. Smith's services. The resort also offers driver service into St. Helena for dinner or shopping, which is only about 5 minutes away but a nice touch because we did find that parking in St Helena on Saturday night was challenging and we should have called for the limo instead of taking our car.)

On arrival the front desk greeted us with an itinerary and a bellman to show us to our cottage and handle our bags (let them - most of the cottages are up many steps, part of the charm is the fact that nothing is on the road level). For activities we chose a couples massage (heaven), wine education program (interesting), in room dining twice (dinner the first night since we were so tired after traveling and breakfast the next day) - food was great both times, but there was a delivery fee plus a tip plus a service charge. the delivery fee seemed a bit strange, but the food was delicious, hot, and arrived quicker than we were told it would take when we ordered it. We did not have time for, but normally would have looked into/enjoyed complimentary zumba classes, yoga classes, hiking and running around the many trails throughout the 250 acre resort. We also wished we had more time - to take a croquet lesson!
The staff goes out of their way to pamper you and do everything to make your stay memorable. Every night while we were at dinner someone snuck in and closed all the shades, turned down the bed, set out slippers, turned down the lights, and left water bottles on either side of the bed for us. Our Oakview cottage had been remodeled beautfiully - simply but elegantly with white paneled ceilings and walls, custom color-matched roman shades, new dark wood furniture with clean lines, a round rock fireplace, flat screen TV, small couch, desk, small table for meals and a small deck with new outdoor seating furnishings, which we enjoyed for reading in the sun and the beautfiul view (you are up in the trees). The bellman showed us that the fireplace was set up and ready to use. The spa-like remodeled white and grey marble bathroom was huge (for a hotel) with double vanities, a double headed walk in shower and separate tub, lovely amenities including bath salts and candles, morning papers delivered upon request.
There are children allowed on the property and you could sometimes vaguely hear the pool if you were on the deck, and we were very close to the heavily used tennis courts, but we did not experience any of the loud noise mentioned in other reviews from the Oakview cottages. When we drove around we noticed that some cottages were in remodeling phases, but we did not hear any noise from them. The cottages have AC, but at night it was so cool you did not need it. During the day if you shut the porch door and turned on the AC you could not hear anything outside of your cottage (ie tennis court or pool).

Room Tip: ask for a remodeled room up in the trees. They are fabulous. Ours was near the tennis court and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you kindly for such a wonderful and detailed review! We do find that our guests (romantic couples in particular!) appreciate our private setting. We are fortunate to be located in a beautiful 250-acre valley off the Silverado Trail just east of downtown St. Helena. This setting afforded the opportunity to locate our guest rooms across vast acreage, further ensuring tranquility for our guests. I know I say it over and over again, but I really do love to hear positive feedback about our staff. I'm glad they were instrumental in creating an enjoyable itinerary for you. You are the first couple to have offered feedback on our new Oakview Rooms! It's very exciting to hear that you felt so favorably about the new decor and furnishings. We feel so fortunate to be able to offer our guests many guest room styles from which to choose. We hope guests will return to us often enough to sample many rooms and ultimately choose a favorite! We also debuted our new Hillside Rooms this spring and we hope they will be as well received. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This resort is tucked away just outside St Helena. Its rooms are set in a beautiful setting with great amenities. Great for a family or romantic get away. STaff was incredibly helpful and courteous. Everything from the workout facility, tennis courts, hiking trails, spa and swimming pool was great. The croquet field requirements are strange and a bit offputting but other than that, it is ideal. I could also see this as a great multigenerational trip location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for writing! I'm so glad you were able to enjoy so many of our activities during your stay. Most particularly, I appreciate your kind words about our staff. I do regret that you felt somewhat disappointed by croquet. I am thinking you are referring to the dress code for this unique sport, which is white attire (with khaki pants being okay as well). I would very much appreciate the opportunity to hear about your experience specifically so we can make sure to communicate this in a more positive way in the future. Should you have a spare moment to speak with me, I would welcome hearing from you. My direct line is 707-967-1235. Kind regards...Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a bit of a rough start, with too much noise from maintenance. But a word to staff who took the word to management took care of that.

We will be back again. For your benefit, here are our pros and cons:
Pros:
You are in with the trees.
Professional Staff.
Our room was large and spacious. Some reviewers said spartan, but not ours.
Huge tub (we comfortably soaked together).
Fabulous water pressure in shower and fixtures.
Good amenities (quality Q-tips, cotton pads, Kleenex, bath salt (that was extra nice after a hike)).
Good bed and bedding.
Plenty of closet and hangers.
Wood burning fireplace.
The Grill restaurant is good and priced not to gouge.
Gym is small, but has all you need for free weights, cables etc.
Grounds are as pictured.
Hiking Trails well laid out, with water breaks. Stunning views.
Adult pool.
Lisa - masseuse- is the best.
In-room service flexible (they didn't offer yogurt parfaits, but made them for me daily. Plus packed them to go for me to enjoy on our hikes).
St Helena is pleasant town to shop.
Bothe State Park nearby with great hikes.
Management's constant attention to detail.
Cons:
During our stay, there was some construction (fixing up Spartan rooms?), that had some noise (never after 4 pm).
Some equipment is outside, generating a low hum.
Gym is small (but adequate).
Adult pool had a number of locals who swim laps - we could never find a quiet time down at pool the two times we visited it (both times around noon).
During our stay, some tree maintenance was being done, making some parts of resort noisy when chipper was engaged.
Be aware that some wineries require advance reservations to visit.

We had so much fun exploring, we never made time to get out our golf clubs, nor got on the croquet field. We left feeling relaxed, and cared for. We hope to return a couple times a year, as there is so much to enjoy here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I had a brief, but idyllic, two night stay at Meadowood. From the moment we drove up to the hotel we were pampered by the staff. There was always bottled water on offer and wine, cookies and delicious hot apple cider in the elegant main house. Our room faced the perfectly manicured croquet lawn and we got a peek at some tournament play that went on the Sunday we were checking out. As others have mentioned, the room--which seemed more like a cottage--is luxurious and I was especially enthusiastic about the wood-burning fireplace and strong shower with huge soaking tub (bath salts and loofah provided!). The food was spectacular: in particular, the in-room dining breakfast (brought in a picnic basket) was the best I have ever enjoyed, bar none. The bakery basket alone was stunning and impressed even my very critical husband. We took a hike on the property and got a sense of the amazing land and foliage in the area. This was a delightful experience and I highly recommend Meadowood to anyone looking for a relaxing, gracious, sumptuous stay in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your comments! My office is in the Reception Lodge and I pass the cider and cookies a dozen times a day. Our pastry chef, Danielle, bakes different varieties throughout the week and I make a point to sample each variety...to ensure they're up to Meadowood standard, of course! She's also responsible for the delicious breakfast pastries that were delivered to your guest room. She's incredibly talented and a very valuable member of our team. Travel Note: If you return to us for another visit during warm weather months, you'll still find the cookies. They're a year round treat. But in the summertime instead of cider we offer fresh iced tea with lemon slices and simple syrup. We hope to see you again soon! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We will go back to Meadowood! Everything was wonderful about this estate. Our treehouse suite was appointed nicely and the fireplace each evening was a bonus. The food and of course wines were excellent. The estate also has hiking trails which we enjoyed as well.

Room Tip: If you can, book a treehouse suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a full-service health spa, a wine educator, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowood Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.