We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowood Napa Valley

Save Saved
You added Meadowood Napa Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Helena
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We will go back to Meadowood! Everything was wonderful about this estate. Our treehouse suite was appointed nicely and the fireplace each evening was a bonus. The food and of course wines were excellent. The estate also has hiking trails which we enjoyed as well.

Room Tip: If you can, book a treehouse suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    40
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
37
155
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our second time at the property, we stayed only 3 nights last time and had such a fantastic experience that we decided to stay 5 nights this time!

The 250-acre estate is in a beautiful foresty setting. The rooms (in fact, the “cottages/ suites/ lodges”) are spread out in different parts of the property.

This time we decided to spend more time in Meadowood so we can fully enjoy the estate (last time we were too busy going out for winery visits and regretted not spending enough time in this beautiful property). We played two 9-hole rounds of golf (it is a small course but challenging enough). Green fee is US$45 for 9-hole. It is not too busy as the golf course is only open to members and hotel guests. Hiking at the hillside filled with lush oak trees and pines is also a must (don’t worry, you can go for an easy stroll or an advanced trails).

Their 3-star Michelin restaurant which we tried on our first stay is also excellent (start dinner early as it is a long 9-10 course menu)! The in-room dining and dining at the Grill are a bit on the pricey side and nothing too impressive, so if you are dining only once at the property, I’d suggest you’d save it for the Restaurant - as a total experience (food, wine, service and atmosphere) it is even better than French Laundry!

The service is of course top-notch as always. The atmosphere is casual, warm and attentive. The Concierge and the Wine Educator are all very knowledgeable and patient and helped arranged some lesser-known but excellent wineries for us to visit. An update: for those who had been fortunate to attend wine tasting classes with their Master Sommelier/Director of Wine Education, Gilles de Chambure, he is no longer at the property. Now, for the very best wine advice and education from Gilles, you’d have to join the very exclusive club, Napa Valley Reserve, just down the road.

Daily wine tastings at Meadowood (usually 1 sparking/white, and 1 red) takes place around 4.30-5.30pm in the lobby. The wines are of average quality but give a good intro to the local wines. It is also the best time to meet and chat with other hotel guests, share notes on wine and tips on which wineries and restaurants to visit next.

Having visited the few other 5-star hotels around Napa, Meadowood is by far my favorite!

Already dreaming of my next trip…..

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have fireplaces (some are wood burning, and some are gas so you have to specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
This is shaping up to be the year of the hiker here at Meadowood! So many of you are venturing onto our trails to explore the terrain into which our private estate is settled. Like all of Napa Valley, the Meadowood property changes with each season. Our creeks run in winter and the trees are light of leaves but thick with moss. Dogwoods and other flowering trees are harbingers of spring. And in summer shade returns as our Maples and other leafy trees provide respite from the bright summer sun. Then, after a brisk hike any time of year, nothing is as rewarding as a hearty country breakfast. Thank you for writing and we hope we'll see you again soon! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Gorgeous. The website doesn't do its justice. The rooms are separate from the main buildings, and they are like renting a vacation house. But it has all the amenities of a first class resort. Tennis courts were beautiful. The spa was world class. The grill had delicious breakfasts. The service incredibly attentive. The concierge helped us get reservations to French Laundry and Redd. This place far exceeded our expectations. We'll be back in a month! Can't wait.

Room Tip: Treeline studio overlooking the golf course is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences! And, thank you for spending time on our website before visiting us. No matter how hard we try to convey a sense of the natural beauty that is an integral part of the Meadowood estate nothing compares with the sensation of being here. With hundreds of acres to explore the experience just keeps unfolding day after day. We're glad to hear you'll be returning to us so soon to continue your exploration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our first stay at Meadowood. I know its a different time and place, but somehow i felt like i was on the set of Dirty Dancing - but more luxury! I think we were in a treeline room - it faced the golf course. Room was very nice. Separate sitting area w/couch, tv, fireplace. Bathroom was spacious (and loved the Molton Brown toiletries), shower had good pressure (and was nice and tall).
Bed was quite comfortable (tv and desk in the bedroom). Little porch (table & two chairs) out front. I think they were doing some room renovations on the bldgs behind us, didn't hear anything often (and certainly didn't keep me up).
The staff was so friendly and helpful - front desk, wine guy, servers in the restaurant, spa team, guys to help with luggage/drive you back to your room, and the concierge who set up all the great wine tastings!
Our package included breakfast in the Grill each morning (or in the room). Food was so tasty! Loved the huevos rancheros. Wow - fresh squeezed pineapple juice! We didn't try the restaurant, maybe next time.
The gym was quite well equipped and offered some classes. Instead i tried the trail - so pretty.
The Meadowood is so peaceful and serene, yet SO close to so many vineyards. Great location!
If i can, i will stay here again ANYTIME!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks! We're so pleased to know your first stay was a memorable one. It's very nice to hear that you ventured out on our hiking trail. It's such a nice way to explore our beautiful, natural setting. The comments that are always most heartening to me are those relating to the level of service provided by our staff. I hope you'll return to us again soon and allow us to introduce you to aspects of the estate and the surrounding Napa Valley you haven't yet discovered! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After spending a terrible night at one of the new modern popular hotels we booked Meadowood through AMEX fine Hotels and Resorts for our last night. The hotel is situated in a canyon lush with redwood and oak trees.
The staff is amazing and couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect.

Our one bedroom cottage suite was nestled up in the trees over the tennis courts. It was beautifully built with wonderful high beam ceilings and a rock wood burning fireplace. Great bed..super cozy and quiet. Well appointed.
The room service was excellent. Everyone there that we dealt with was cheerful and made it their job to make sure we had everything we needed.
Perfect getaway....definitely will return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meadowoodvalley, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I wanted to thank you for writing and identifying yourself as having come to us via your relationship with the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts program. American Express is a valued partner and we are honored that they have the confidence in us to refer their discerning clients. We appreciate that you took the time to share your story with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the estate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I absolutely LOVED this place! We did a San Fran/Napa/Sonoma trip. This was my favorite leg of the trip. The service was outstanding. When I phoned from the room, they greeted my call so warmly, and 2 minutes later, my freshly-squeezed orange juice arrived. I had an amazing deep-tissue massage on site. I played croquet...which I ABSOLUTELY loved!! (Bring proper attire, as I spent over $50 on shorts from the club house. For lunch one day, I had a multi-colored tomato salad. YUM. For dinner we had all sorts of caviar, fish.....I didn't love everything, but my other guests couldn't get enough!

The room was terrific and spotless. I loved every piece of this property. I loved the people we encountered and want to go back......and stay forever!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meadowoodvalley, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We love that you are willing to work to accommodate your next stay! It's so wonderful to hear from a guest who was able to experience so many aspects of the property. One of the most common comments we hear from our guests is, "If only I'd known how much there was to do at Meadowood, I would have planned to stay longer!" We believe wide ranging experiences differentiate us from other properties. And, we understand that it is our talented people who create those experiences for our guests. We're so happy that both our breadth of activities and our staff fostered a memorable stay. On your next visit leave time for a wine class, tennis, golf and / or a hike on the Meadowood Loop. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Oh, and I just about lived on the heirloom tomato salad during harvest season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here several nights before and after our wedding in October 2012. Truly a wonderful experience all around (service, accommodations, amenities, etc). We were also very impressed with the bell staff and their desire to exceed our expectations. We will be back to Meadowood very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a full-service health spa, a wine educator, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia, Jetsetter and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowood Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.