We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meadow in the Woods of Napa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowood Napa Valley

Save Saved
You added Meadowood Napa Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Meadow in the Woods of Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely location, great food, nice sports facilities with excellent wine program. One can have a very relaxing sojourn. The rooms are extremely comfortable and view is generally pleasant. Unfortunately the main restaurant was closed for renovation. The time flies at supersonic speed at this resort. The service in the restaurant was awesome though the room service (here it would also include being transported from Reception to the room) left much to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meadowoodvalley, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you all for the recent positive comments! We so appreciate reading about your experiences. We are heartened particularly when our guest share stories about members of our staff who have helped to create special moments and memories. Our service culture is very important to us as we know this is what makes the difference between a good stay and an exceptional one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Meadowood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    50
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
197
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent the night here with friends from out of the country as a quick getaway. We arrived with no expectations other than a very nice dinner, so it was an extremely pleasant surprise to find a resort that was as well run as this place. Service was truly impeccable - probably the best we've experienced in this country (and we've stayed at many nice places in the U.S. as well as in Europe and Asia). If we had to give specifics, they'd be little things -- spa masseuse who spent an extra ten minutes with me, barman who only charged me for a small bottle of Pellegrino for a large one because he had run out of the former, etc.. . But as a total package, it's extremely rare to find this level of service without the attitude.

Restaurant was also amazing. Every dish was perfect and beautiful and the wine pairings delicious. Probably the best meal we've had in the Bay Area ever (including the French Laundry). They're doing something very special here.

Only caveat is that the rooms were a tad small without much of a view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent three days at the Meadowood this July in a Treeline Cottage Room.
Upon checking in I made some arrangements with concierge & he was extremely helpful. I must also mention that one day while out & about I found out that a new client had recently celebrated a birthday. I wanted our table for dinner that night to have a beautiful arrangement of flowers...within 2 hours. The concierge made this happen! I wish that I remembered his name, he was fantastic & I called on him quite a bit.
The property was beautiful, the room was very spacious & comfortable, & the resort was in a wonderful location. Unfortunately we did not spend a great deal of time at the resort due to other events going on in our schedule.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a valuable Relais & Chateau 5C member, we received an excellent/special treatment from Meadowood: 1) had a well pre-arranged wine tasting trip in Napa before checking in, 2) in-house free Napa wine tasting with Scott (if we remember right?). We appreciated very much of their gesture.

From the first moment drove in the gate of property, we have received friendly smiles, efficient service from all level of employees (specially in both restaurants). This property is huge and generally well maintained (although part of the area was under renovation), lots of sport ground, unfortunately we were busy wine tasting in Napa, checked-in late and out early the next day, didn't have time to well profit the facilities. The night before Meadowood we stayed in MacArthur Place of Sonoma, if compare purely the guest room, the Rainshower suite we had, and Hillside room(clean but nothing special) in Meadowood? MacArthur is much better and 1/3 price cheaper.

Dine in 3* restaurant was the main reason of staying in Meadowood (to avoid drink and late night drive), unfortunately this dinning experience was our major disappointment. (The worth experience we had over at least 25 other 3* Michelin). We believe chef Christopher Kostow has great abilities to preform, but at this particular night just not using enough attention for other guests then his own friends. We were seated the first table near the entree of the restaurant, despite I asked for other possibilities (at that moment there were 2 other tables free). I wore my coat dinning through the whole meal with a cold draft. Between our table and the next, there was about 50 cm distance flower deco separation. Unavoidable we heard everything what this couple talked and ate the whole night. Soon we figured out this young couple(arrived after us) were chef's personal friends, the chef in and out had spent at least more then half hour to chat with them, but never a slight friendly gesture to us. Worst of all, they had very different/better dishes then ours (please check out the attached photos with explanation). If you know apart from the fixed price of US$225 per person, there was no menu to choose from, no idea what you might get... surely you would have had the same frustration as we had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its a big place. The pools are nice, tennis courts are plentiful and it is not a bad location for exploring the area. If you are interested in experimental sophisticated food, the Restaurant might be of your liking, if not, go somewhere else.

Cabins are of reasonable size, not very personal, but not bad. Service is discreet and a bit impersonal but reasonably efficient.

Its in a way a Sheraton in the forest, not much to complain about, but not much to like either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Meadowood the first week in October. It is one of the gorgeous luxury resorts in Napa Valley. We had a lovely, spacious cottage; "The Hillside" with a fireplace and views of the woods. You may opt to ride with the golf cart or an enclosed vehicle depending on the weather. Parking is available near your cottage. The resort offers golf, tennis, croquet, hiking, swimming, fitness, spa, wine education and a Michelin three-star restaurant dining experience..at the "Restaurant"-on a 250-acre estate. The continental breakfast has many choice of coffee and tea and the best Chocolate brownies!
The Service was excellent. We apprciated the knowledgeable Sommelier and waiters directing us to the perfect wine selections and meals.

It is a wonderful destination for reunions since they have many different accommodations that can sleep families and groups comfortably.

If you are flying in to San Francsico, San Jose, Oakland, Sacramento, Monterey, San Luis Obispo; a car and driver is available for your comfort.

We were near many wineries for tastings. Again, you may hire a car and driver so you have no worries expereincing the wines and driving. The driver will wait for you at each tasting.

Napa Valley has the most beautiful countryside. We are looking forward to our visit next year!!

Room Tip: jfyi: there are many steps in the hillside; so do make reservations aware if you have walking conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We would like to thank our guests who take the time to share their experiences with us. Our team is dedicated to quality service and we're thrilled to have provided that to you. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the Napa Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently attended a conference at Meadowood that was hosted by a luxury European watchmaker. We had not been to Napa before so we were thrilled we would have the opportunity to experience Napa, several winery tours, our favorite watch company and personnel, fabulous food, and the unique property of Meadowood. It couldn’t have been more delightful, and Meadowood facilitated much of our itinerary.

Some highlights would include:

The resort staff made our check in and departure very easy. The staff was genuine and eagerly delivered five star service. Transportation to and from San Fran was quick and seamless.

Our individual cottage perched on the treed hillside was very spacious, and created a secluded feel that was a nice getaway from our urban/suburban norm. The bathroom – while not Four Seasons – was nicely appointed, and perfect for what we needed. I agree with previous posts that commend the furniture, linens, and free Wi-Fi. In addition, firewood was neatly stacked (and replaced) daily in the room. We enjoyed a fire each night, and it made for a very charming conclusion of day.

To properly educate us on wines and the related production process, the hotel’s wine expert Gilles de Chambure was used for basically two days. Gilles is a Master Sommelier (certified wine expert) and he is very good about not only his subject matter, but in communicating this subject to us. His informed and fun personality really made our trip memorable, and I might add he arranged a number of private winery tours and lunches that just aren’t publically available. If possible, include Gilles in your plans.

Some of our conference was staged at the Napa Valley Reserve. This facility is a private club next door to Meadowood that includes a winery and nice indoor and outdoor meeting areas. It was perfect for our small group, and very high end.

Last, our final dinner was staged by chef Christopher Kostow and was beyond special. The Restaurant has a three stars rating by Michelin that only ten in the country so hold. After experiencing a multi course dinner and multi wine pairings – this top rating by Michelin is well deserved. Our dinner was in a private room and was spectacular.

If you are contemplating using Meadowood for a corporate or group event – I would strongly endorse this fine property, and their well trained staff. Our time was productive and restful as we fully enjoyed the best of Napa Valley!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a full-service health spa, a wine educator, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowood Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.