We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meadowood Napa Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowood Napa Valley

Save Saved
You added Meadowood Napa Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadowood Napa Val Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Driver
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Helena
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meadowood Napa Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Meadowood the first week in October. It is one of the gorgeous luxury resorts in Napa Valley. We had a lovely, spacious cottage; "The Hillside" with a fireplace and views of the woods. You may opt to ride with the golf cart or an enclosed vehicle depending on the weather. Parking is available near your cottage. The resort offers golf, tennis, croquet, hiking, swimming, fitness, spa, wine education and a Michelin three-star restaurant dining experience..at the "Restaurant"-on a 250-acre estate. The continental breakfast has many choice of coffee and tea and the best Chocolate brownies!
The Service was excellent. We apprciated the knowledgeable Sommelier and waiters directing us to the perfect wine selections and meals.

It is a wonderful destination for reunions since they have many different accommodations that can sleep families and groups comfortably.

If you are flying in to San Francsico, San Jose, Oakland, Sacramento, Monterey, San Luis Obispo; a car and driver is available for your comfort.

We were near many wineries for tastings. Again, you may hire a car and driver so you have no worries expereincing the wines and driving. The driver will wait for you at each tasting.

Napa Valley has the most beautiful countryside. We are looking forward to our visit next year!!

Room Tip: jfyi: there are many steps in the hillside; so do make reservations aware if you have walking conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We would like to thank our guests who take the time to share their experiences with us. Our team is dedicated to quality service and we're thrilled to have provided that to you. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the Napa Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    36
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
145
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently attended a conference at Meadowood that was hosted by a luxury European watchmaker. We had not been to Napa before so we were thrilled we would have the opportunity to experience Napa, several winery tours, our favorite watch company and personnel, fabulous food, and the unique property of Meadowood. It couldn’t have been more delightful, and Meadowood facilitated much of our itinerary.

Some highlights would include:

The resort staff made our check in and departure very easy. The staff was genuine and eagerly delivered five star service. Transportation to and from San Fran was quick and seamless.

Our individual cottage perched on the treed hillside was very spacious, and created a secluded feel that was a nice getaway from our urban/suburban norm. The bathroom – while not Four Seasons – was nicely appointed, and perfect for what we needed. I agree with previous posts that commend the furniture, linens, and free Wi-Fi. In addition, firewood was neatly stacked (and replaced) daily in the room. We enjoyed a fire each night, and it made for a very charming conclusion of day.

To properly educate us on wines and the related production process, the hotel’s wine expert Gilles de Chambure was used for basically two days. Gilles is a Master Sommelier (certified wine expert) and he is very good about not only his subject matter, but in communicating this subject to us. His informed and fun personality really made our trip memorable, and I might add he arranged a number of private winery tours and lunches that just aren’t publically available. If possible, include Gilles in your plans.

Some of our conference was staged at the Napa Valley Reserve. This facility is a private club next door to Meadowood that includes a winery and nice indoor and outdoor meeting areas. It was perfect for our small group, and very high end.

Last, our final dinner was staged by chef Christopher Kostow and was beyond special. The Restaurant has a three stars rating by Michelin that only ten in the country so hold. After experiencing a multi course dinner and multi wine pairings – this top rating by Michelin is well deserved. Our dinner was in a private room and was spectacular.

If you are contemplating using Meadowood for a corporate or group event – I would strongly endorse this fine property, and their well trained staff. Our time was productive and restful as we fully enjoyed the best of Napa Valley!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you want to relieve all your stress and willing to pay for it. Meadowwood is the place to go! Situated on a beautiful piece of property in the hills of St Helena, Ca. Meadowwood is definitely a quiet, welcome. The food is fabulous, the rooms are so comfy and the staff is willing to please. We have visited in the winter and summer. Winter is a great escape with a fireplace and room service. A complete spa and work out facility....
Summer is incredible too with great weather and many activities like swimming , tennis and golf. Have fun and enjoy!

Room Tip: Definitely shop around for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have been to Meadowood many times and every time I leave I am trying to figure out how I can get back! The rooms are all wonderful - I have never had a bad stay - the beds and bedding are very comfortable. On the resort grounds there are hill paths for easy hiking, tennis courts, golf and a croquet lawn! On my last visit I had a lesson with my sister - we had so much fun - tons of laughs drinking wine and playing croquet in the beautiful Napa sunshine! they have bikes that you can use if you want to go further afield, pools, and spa services. The Restaurant at Meadowood is really something extraordinary. You won't regret a stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I must commend the management for their response to a water problem in the room. It was taken care of immediately and handled professionally. Our stay other than that was wonderful. The lodge was beautiful and private. Comfortable accommodations and delicious breakfast at their restaurant. Tennis pro was excellent and made our stay extremely enjoyable. Their golf course is beautiful as well. We were in wine country for a wedding and added a few days at Meadowood and was happy it was in St. Helena which is a wonderful little town with great restaurants.

Room Tip: Treetop room was private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in the tree-line room, but were unaware when reserving, that this room was so primitive, with a bathroom that was from the sixties, Hollywood lighting and all. No view, old furniture( and I don't mean antiques!!). Had just left a two-night stay at Calistoga Ranch, and were left wishing we were still back at that beautiful lodge.....live and learn! For the price of the room, we were expecting much, much more....

Room Tip: Do not choose a Tree-line room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team strives to provide the best food and wine experience in the valley along with genuine service. We recognize there are certain areas on property that are ready for updates. Meadowood recently completed a renovation of several guest lodges and we will continue to debut more renovated areas this coming year. We would welcome the opportunity for you to experience one of our refurbished rooms the next time you are in Napa Valley. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to provide the upgrade with my compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with a small group last week. What a wonderful time we had. The accomdations exceeded our expectations. The service was exceptional. We had a few meals there which were great. There is tennis, croquet, golf, a pool and hiking trails. It was truly a wonderful experience to be there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA
Address: 900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a full-service health spa, a wine educator, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowood Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.