We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowood Napa Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowood Napa Valley to your Saves list
Meadowood Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location and facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I must commend the management for their response to a water problem in the room. It was taken care of immediately and handled professionally. Our stay other than that was wonderful. The lodge was beautiful and private. Comfortable accommodations and delicious breakfast at their restaurant. Tennis pro was excellent and made our stay extremely enjoyable. Their golf course is beautiful as well. We were in wine country for a wedding and added a few days at Meadowood and was happy it was in St. Helena which is a wonderful little town with great restaurants.

Room Tip: Treetop room was private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    71
    31
    15
    3
See reviews for
60
283
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in the tree-line room, but were unaware when reserving, that this room was so primitive, with a bathroom that was from the sixties, Hollywood lighting and all. No view, old furniture( and I don't mean antiques!!). Had just left a two-night stay at Calistoga Ranch, and were left wishing we were still back at that beautiful lodge.....live and learn! For the price of the room, we were expecting much, much more....

Room Tip: Do not choose a Tree-line room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team strives to provide the best food and wine experience in the valley along with genuine service. We recognize there are certain areas on property that are ready for updates. Meadowood recently completed a renovation of several guest lodges and we will continue to debut more renovated areas this coming year. We would welcome the opportunity for you to experience one of our refurbished rooms the next time you are in Napa Valley. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to provide the upgrade with my compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with a small group last week. What a wonderful time we had. The accomdations exceeded our expectations. The service was exceptional. We had a few meals there which were great. There is tennis, croquet, golf, a pool and hiking trails. It was truly a wonderful experience to be there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is Meadowood Resort. The best place to stay in Napa Valley if you have the means. You will not find any better service (IMO) and the staff is eager to make your stay memorable. The ground offer much to keep you interested and the hiking trails can be challenging. I wish I had brought my tennis racket because I was envious of those playing on the well groomed courts. This was our third stay and it had always exceeded expectation.

The amenities and bedding were excellent. Each morning we awoke well rested and happy with our choice. On the downside is the bathroom appeared dated, and limited hot water will give anyone a frown but I am not complaining. This place is still a good value for the money. As Ben Franklin said so many years ago "The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of lower price is forgotten." If you can afford it - stay a Meadowood. Think of it as Blackberry Farm - West.

Room Tip: Opt for a room by the croquet court if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you to our guests who take the time to share their experiences with us. We're dedicated to quality service and thrilled to have provided a positive guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My fiancé and I decided on a few days at Meadowood for the early Fall. This place so far exceeded any expecations that we had; and they were high. The two of us have the privilege of traveling quite a bit and staying in the some of the best hotels the world has to offer. Service is, in our opinion, THE key component to what makes a property great. In my travels, I can tell you, this is the best out there. Not the Cavalieri in Rome, nor the Trianon Palace in Versaille. It's Meadowood in St. Helena, CA. The service is absoultely flawless. Everything from housekeeping, to having breakfast waiting for us on the deck in the morning. We even went on a hike around the property and had a picnic basket waiting for us along the trail. The staff at Meadowood truly took care of everything and let you do the thing you're almost inevitably there to do. Relax. A lot of the reviews have mentioned the rooms being out of date or small. As they say though, "you get what you pay for". Our suite was pristine, enormous, and faultless in every way. We were, adimittedly staying accross property in the Esate Lodge. But in the words of the great Ferris Bueller, "If you have the means, I highly recommend it. It is so choice."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We would stay here every time. The place is gorgeous. The service is one of a kind. The prices are high but it is such a great experience that it is worth it. We had dinner at the Meadowood restaurant which is a three Michelin rated place. It was unbelievable. The food was so creative and flavorful. The presentation was a work of art.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Impressive grounds and a lovely room with a view over the golf course and trees. Very light and beautifully furnished with a wood fire. Huge bathroom. Dinner in the Grill lacked atmosphere but the food was very very good - we had an incredible burger. The concierge was very helpful with winery bookings and really went the extra mile.

Good location close to Yountville.

In summary a very good high end resort as America does so well. Quite formal and felt a little more East coast then California.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a full-service health spa, wine experiences, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowood Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.