We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Serious Food Connoisseur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Meadowood

The Restaurant at Meadowood
900 Meadowood Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9620
+1 707-967-1205
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Meadowood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in St. Helena
Price range: $225 - $400
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Silverado Trail
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“For the Serious Food Connoisseur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We ate at Meadowood & it is really impossible to accurately describe what we ate. It was a set menu & in total I think we sampled close to 16 different dishes. Each serving is quite small, most not much bigger than a silver dollar yet I don’t think we went more than 5-10 minutes between servings. The food is more about the taste experience as opposed to just filling your belly. The service is impeccable, the servers personable & attentive yet they did not hover & certainly were not stuffy or overbearing. It is an eclectic array of tastes that is really art on a plate. In fact even the dishes were beautiful. It is certainly for the serious food connoisseur. The atmosphere is beautiful & when they opened the windows as the sun set the sweet warm scent from the evergreen forest was intoxicating, in fact I initially thought someone lit a scented candle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    24
    16
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had the Chef's Table.

Very interesting experience, to see the kitchen in action for the entire evening service. You could see the expediter at work, the individual stations, and the sous chefs doing plating and of course Kostow himself. I would recommend the Chef's Table for those who do a fair bit of cooking for fun at home.

We arrived at around 6.30 pm and dinner was done by around 9.30 pm. The welcome drink is a proper champagne. 2000 Billecarte Salmon if I recall correctly.

We had about 20 tasting courses. Each course featured one main ingredient, often done in about 3 ways with minimal sauce or finishing salt. Usually presented by the chef on station, we also had some that were presented by Kostow himself

Clean fresh tastes - we were quite familiar with this style of presentation, as this is not that uncommon in fine dining in Asia and Australia and have tried this at eg, Waku Ghin albeit with Japanese and not Californian ingredients.

However, the underpining cooking style is clearly French and not molecular gastronomy, as there is no foam etc, though the food presentation was quite mischievious and whimsical at times. I don't know enough about modern American cooking but that's what it felt like.

I can imagine that this style would not appeal to some people the same way some may find French food too stuffy, and MG too gimmicky. Your mileage may vary.

We had a couple of drinks from the bar and from the collection. Bar was good and gave us a tall fresh drink as well per certain requirements - well done.

Wine selection was also eminently sensible, plainly Napa and Sonoma wines take centrestage, but for sparkling there was proper champagne on offer, and for digestives, the selection was primarily sauternes, tokaji, port, etc. Very little late harvest rubbish on offer.

We've tried various starred restaurants around the world. This place deserves its stars, primarily for the fresh and innovative approach.

Surroundings were posh and comfortable, though of course we didn't sit outside in the main dining hall.

Getting to Meadowood can be a bit tricky as it's tucked somewhere, and getting out after sunset can be even more tricky so drive carefully.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great tasting and pairing menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and actually tried to get reservations for a different spot to no avail. I am happy things worked out this way because our experience at the Meadowood could not have been topped. Dinner is expensive and the wine pairing costs about as much as dinner itself but if you are looking for a special night this place cant be beat. We ate overlooking a mountain at sunset. The wait staff was not at all stuffy (which sometimes we worry about at fancy spots) and servers were knowledgeable about both the wine and the food. The chef is amazing- he puts flavors together that are multi layered and just delicious. The restaurant actually has a fulltime forrager on staff who provides herbs, edible flowers, etc for the dishes. Just amazing. Like I said, its not a cheap experience but really well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gread food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent a very nice evening at this restaurant. Service was great, food was delicious. We were there at the first seating (5.45 pm), so I have to comment on two things: The courses (10 alltogether) arrived quite shortly after each other, but that seems quite normal in California. I think it would be more enojoyable if there was more time in between. We had a nice table at the window, but there was a window shade, so we could not enjoy the nice view. They said it is because the sun would disturb other guests. I recommend to find a better solution for that. And yes, its pricey, but a perfect venue for a special occasion!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“We had high expectations, and all were met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

So sometimes its hard to see the cheff through the food, but here I got to eat like I would want to, its baseball season and pretzels and beer... Good on you cheff!!!

The restaurant is great, not stuffy the staff is friendly and not robotic


Food done great, I read other reviews and was worried, no worries...

Bucket list check off - done

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Meadowood also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Restaurant at Meadowood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Meadowood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.