We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Meadowood

The Restaurant at Meadowood
900 Meadowood Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9620
+1 707-967-1205
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Meadowood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in St. Helena
Price range: $225 - $400
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Silverado Trail
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The service is upscale and impecable. The food is exquisite and innovative but very tasty. The chef creates new textures and plays with flavors without loosing the essence. Great place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    24
    16
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was at the French Laundry 2 years ago in Napa and I was expecting the same kind of food and atmosphere. There were 10 of us and we were pleasantly surprised that we had our own private room and could be as loud as we wanted to be. This perk was very key for the group to have a great time at this restaurant. I must say the food in my opinion was better here than the French Laundry. The head waiter was excellent and described all the courses to a tee before they came out. The only issue I had with the head waiter was that he forgot to bring a glass of wine for my wife. But at least he remembered towards the end and apologized. The head chef actually came out and greeted us as well which was really cool. He even photo bombed our group photo in the kitchen was which totally awesome!!! I definitely enjoyed the food and ambiance here than at French Laundry. Just my opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

One has great expectations from Michelin 3-Stars where one pays 600 USD for two person meal. The Restaurant at the Meadowood did not really live upto our expectations. Even though service was very attentive, we did not find the dining experience extraordinarily special. I would agree with most of the critical notes. If you are staying in the resort, try The Grill instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved staying at Meadowood and The Grill was great but dining here was not the experience we hoped for.It started with a wonderful perk here that they offer by having a driver pick us up at our room.The bad experience started with our walk inside the door.No one greeted us.There was a fireplace with people sitting around it to our left and a bar straight ahead.We waited and then walked to our left which wasn't the restaurant.We walked to the right and a young woman then came out and greeted us.As she showed us to the table she walked in between the middle serving area and a table.The space was too narrow to walk through so we turned and went another way.Once we were seated we still waited until someone finally came.They asked us twice if we wanted help with the wine list and both times we said yes.It took a while to get our wine.We had one server who was very friendly and we could actually hear what he said about what he served us.We only had him for a few courses.Nothing wowed us but several dishes left a horrible taste in our mouths.The whipped yogurt was really awful.It was the equivalent of putting crushed sweet tarts on yogurt. The chicken whelk reminded me of how spam comes out in the jell....horrible.The plating was done nicely.We did like the potato and cod dish.The last dish was The candy dish.....really bad dish to end the night with.Tasteless and not creative at all! Three Michelin stars....not this night and the service was lacking too. You can imagine we went to The French Laundry the next night wondering if it too would disappoint.It was such a different experience.Greeted warmly,every bite delicious and the service impeccable.We left there happy and delighted with our experience.The Restaurant at Meadowood should learn from them what a great restaurant should be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can a $250 per person dinner be worth it?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was prepared to be disappointed with the 10 course dining experience, but my wife and I were not. The tastes were outstanding, unique, and enjoyable. The best three hour dining enjoyment we have ever had. And the service was extraordinary. I did have the wine tasting with the meal for another $250, and although it was very expensive, it added to the pleasure of the meal. Literally while we were sitting in the Restaurant, Chef Kostow received the James Beard Award for best regional chef in CA, HI, and NV. This was perhaps a once in a life time experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Meadowood also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Restaurant at Meadowood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Meadowood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.