We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and inventive cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
1347 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574 (Formerly Gail's Oldies & Goodies)
+1 707-963-3799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring and Adams
Description: Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Located on Main Street in St. Helena, the historical building features exposed stone walls and an antique bar dating back to the turn of the century. The menu features American classics with a fresh seasonal approach and the wine list offers a diverse selection of wines to complement Chef's creations, with an emphasis on wines from local Napa Valley vintners. In addition to a locally inspired and reasonably priced wine list, Market never charges corkage.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and inventive cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great lunch here on a Sunday in late June. We had a 1pm reservation but we were way early, so we called and they easily moved us up to Noon.

Waitress and bar staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The chopped salad (sounds like nothing special) was really excellent. Others had fish and brunch items and we loved everything.

Good beer selection and the Bloody Mary with a thick strip of bacon (photo attached) was a big hit.

Definitely one of St Helena's best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    154
    40
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food, very comfortable atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First night in the area and we had a great dinner with wonderful wine selection. The service was very attentive and yet casual, perfect for asking questions and considering new tastes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A culinary treat at a convenient price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We ate at Market during our recent stay in St. Helena visiting my brother and wine-tasting. Let's start by saying it was the top recommended restaurant by the people at the hotel, who told us we simply had to try their butterscotch pudding dessert. Boy were they right!

When we arrived we were greeted at the door by the owner and chef, Eduardo Martinez, who gave us a wonderful seat and was absolutely charming. We didn't realize it was him until we looked at the card he'd handed us, he was simply a friendly host inviting us in, and during the meal he checked on us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

We had the halibut, tuna tartar, and prime rib (rare) for dinner, and not only was the presentation wonderful, the food was even better - it was like being in a top French restaurant, but for down-home prices. Everything, including the wine list, was very reasonably priced, and we were able to get away with dinner for four people, with two bottles of wine, coffee and dessert, and a good 20% tip, for just over $200. Everything was prepared to perfection, there was not a bad review among us, and I was very happy to see that my prime rib was truly prepared rare as requested - most places tend to overcook the meat for my taste. This was tender and delicious.

You must make a reservation in advance as this place does fill up for dinner, especially on weekends - but it is so well worth it. I highly recommend if you can only have one meal in Napa, have it in St. Helena at The Market with Eduardo's wonderful dishes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Vibe !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good food, good wine and a vibrant atmosphere.
A very enjoyable place.
A wonderful spot in the Napa Valley.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Dinner at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Sometimes eating alone can be boring....even lonely. But having dinner at the bar at the Market is always a fun experience. Eddie and his staff are always friendly....the food is good and the prices reasonable. Plus no corkage! Eating alone?.....try the Market!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.