We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Dining Experience - No Corkage on Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
1347 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574 (Formerly Gail's Oldies & Goodies)
707-963-3799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in St. Helena
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring and Adams
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Dining Experience - No Corkage on Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited the area in December and had dinner at Market. It was an incredible experience to say the least. The atmosphere is wonderful; just the right mix of ambiance and openness. The service and food was spectacular. I had the Day Boat Scallops and my wife had the Organic Chicken Breast; both dishes were great. We brought in our own wine from a day of tasting and enjoyed the no corkage. If your in the area and want a great dining experience; you need to visit Market. We had reservations and they were quite busy; so reservations are strongly suggested.

Cheers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    142
    39
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yountville, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Napa Valley Good Food No Corkage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Having dined at many local restaurants and finding that Market has a no corkage policy, I had to investigate. Locals assured me the food was always very good and bringing one's own wine was not a turnoff to the servers. Thus we marched forward with two bottles and were treated very graciously. We shared the fried calamari and another and moved on to the scallops, fish and chips and lamb shank. The lamb shank was not a star but the other entries were. Be sure to order the well loved butterscotch pudding as it wonderful. An affordable dinner for four.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Enjoyed our meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal at Market. The steak was excellent and the wine selection was great. Many brought their wine in as they have no corkage fee. Very warm, friendly atmosphere. I didn't sit at the bar, but it was lively and the patrons were having a great time. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service - pudding to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great lunch and dinner menu complemented by really nice, friendly service. Butterscotch pudding dessert was so good we came back again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

great little restaurant on the main street in st helena, we had the risotta for appetizer, my husband had the flat iron and loved it, i had the filet appetizer as dinner with a market salad. yum! VERY friendly staff ! This place is small, so you will get to know your neighbors but somehow it seems to be part of the charm. this is one of the few restaurants i've been in where the bar is in the same room as the tables and it didnt bother me.
thanks for a nice evening out!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.