We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique culinary experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Spectator Greystone Restaurant

Wine Spectator Greystone Restaurant
2555 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574
+1 707-967-1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wine Spectator Greystone Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 44 Restaurants in St. Helena
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Deer Park Road
Description: Enjoy an innovative menu inspired by bounty of Napa Valley with seasonal ingredients sourced from the CIA's own farm and other local purveyors. Our California wine list, noted for its depth, enhances the dining experience, while the spectacular landscape and vineyard views set the stage for a rich and satisfying dining experience.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Truly unique culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Greystone offers such an amazing dining experience. The ingredients used in each dish are special and unique. The presentation is only the beginning of the excitement. I have never had a bad meal here and will continue to make it a dining priority each time I travel to the Napa area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    72
    47
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Cuisine, tiny portions, tip added”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a fabulous historic building built in 1888 with a great view of the valley. Two of us ate lunch there 5-7-13. Not wanting a big meal, we opted for an appetizer and a dessert. My scallop and pea soup plate was neatly arranged. One scallop piled on the side and about half a cup of soup spread out artistically on the plate. My companion had the charcuterie plate with cute little portions arranged artistically on a cutting board. When the bill came, the tip was added in. The clue was when the charge slip stated "additional tip". I've seen tip added for large groups, but for 2??? Left a bit stunned.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Quite good foods from culinary students. But you must be there before 2pm. otherwise cannot sit at the table,only at the bar. Price are not cheap. Big restaurant. Should also visit culinary shop, many interesting kitchen and wine equipments.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We've been twice but it is kind of hit and miss. The first year we went it was five stars but last year it was not AS good but it was still was great! We always get samplers (beer sampler, wine sampler, appetizer sampler, dessert sampler...you get the idea!) so you're at the discretion of the cook but it is always interesting and enjoyable!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful culinary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Ok so understand that these are students as a whole learning their craft. Our 5 course meal was very good. Service was ok but not great. It was great meal from the Gazpacho to the House-Made Gleason Ranch Duroc Pork Rillette and then to 5 Dot Ranch Slow Braised Short Rib. These gourmet meals are priced very reasonably and yet and very well done. All the vegetables are local source and just bursting with flavor. Our only complaint was no one came by to ask us how our meal was and how was our service. Our waitress did forget to items was asked for and as well was a bit giddy as server just giggled way to much, Meal was impressive so go and watch these students apply their trade.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Spectator Greystone Restaurant also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Wine Spectator Greystone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Spectator Greystone Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.