We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual Napa Valley restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Sherpa Kitchen

Himalayan Sherpa Kitchen
1148 Main Street, St. Helena, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Himalayan Sherpa Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 41 restaurants in St. Helena
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not your usual Napa Valley restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Smallish restaurant with around 16 tables inside. As the weather gets nicer, be sure to get one of their patio tables. It's on the main drag so you can people watch but it's not too noisy. The food is top notch and they offer a variety of vegetarian dishes. I'm a meat eater myself andf it was all delicious. Service is fantastic and the staff are freindly. Family run and it shows. They really care about their customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    22
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stopped here for a bite to eat during a shopping day in St. Helena. What we found was a hidden gem. Wonderful food and service. We enjoyed the lunch buffet which enabled us to try many of the restaurant's specialities at a reasonable price.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Fresh Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Took a break from wine tasting and tried this little gem. Very fresh food with wonderful spices and great nann. The lamb was the best I have ever tasted and wish we lived closer. Pretty good portions and the prices were fair. The staff, probably the owners were very friendly and welcoming. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stumbled across this place while wandering St. Helena looking for dinner. Most of the other places on Main Street didn't seem like what we were looking for, but then we found the Sherpa Kitchen, a cute little place right on the southern end of Main Street. We were pleasantly surprised with everything we had there. The service was fast and friendly and the food was delicious. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice dinner without all the fuss that you can find in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great curry, recommended by locals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We walked past, read the menu, and some locals walked past raving about it.
Good, honest Indian food. Large portions, friendly staff.
Well worth a trip if you are looking for unpretentious good food!
Awesome naan!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Sherpa Kitchen also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Himalayan Sherpa Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Sherpa Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.