We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best black cod ever ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant
1345 Railroad Ave, St. Helena, CA 94574-1123
707-963-8931
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Terra Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in St. Helena
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Californian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Adams and Hunt
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best black cod ever ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food was good, the black cod was DIVINE. But the absolute best part about the restaurant was Gwen the Captain, she just looked after us so well and Scott the Sommelier/Manager - we left ourselves in his, more than capable, hands for the wine pairing and he just came up trumps. His knowledge was very informative and interesting. A great evening

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    28
    11
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Menu, Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The tasting menu has 4 or 5 choices. Each was innovative, beautifully presented and really good. The service was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Chef Hiro Sone is an absolute genius, and he is completely worthy of his michelin star and his James Beard award. I am so glad that we came to this restaurant for our special occasion -- the entire experience made our special occasion even more memorable. It was one of the highlights of our recent Napa visit.

The ambience is lovely -- it's romantic, slightly rustic, and very elegant. Be sure to dress for the occasion! The service is unpretentious and gracious. I love how the chef himself comes out to serve some of the dishes, and what struck me was how humble he was. The food is so beautifully presented, we were blown away. Not only was the food gorgeous, but it was so delicious too. I love the concept of how you can create your own tasting menu from the listed menu items. Although I loved all of my courses, some of the must-haves would include the capellini with caviar, the black cod dish, and the foie gras tortelloni with shimeji mushrooms. Oh, and do be sure to save room for dessert. His wife is a pastry chef, and her apricot and almond cream bisteeya with meyer lemon rose ice cream will forever be embedded in my mind.

We will definitely be returning to Terra when we visit Napa. We didn't know what to expect, but I must say that we were pleasant surprised -- no, make that "blown away"! Thank you, Chef

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite Napa Valley Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Now with Bar Terra, this restaurant is the complete package. Start in the bar with champagne and the duck liver mousse in a clamp lid jar then move into the restaurant for the most delicious food in the Valley, We love the new menu format because you can put your meal together anyway you want. The portion sizes are perfect, not tasting or small plate, just the right amount of each dish to enjoy but you can have 6 or 7 course no problem. the menu changes seasonally but anything with sweetbreads or squab are stellar. The sweets are great too. the service is totally pro and the room is very comfortable. Hands down the best restaurant in the Napa Valley.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fusion of Japan and California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a great place with fine dining to affordable price.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra Restaurant also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Terra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.