We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Rock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Rock Inn to your Saves list
Black Rock Inn
3100 Silverado Trail North, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southern Pines, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We cannot say enough great things about Jeff and Black Rock Inn. We traveled to Napa in September with several couples and had a great time. Jeff is the perfect host, the food was amazing, rooms were perfect. His winery and restaurant recommendations were very helpful. We will definitely return to Black Rock for our next trip to Napa. It is very apparent Jeff loves what he does and is so good at it. Thanks for an amazing visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with Jeff at the Black Rock Inn mid August 2013 and our entire experience was absolutely fantastic. From the booking, to personal conversations ahead of time, the accommodations, recommendations and itinerary planning - everything was top notch and even better than we anticipated. It was our first trip to the region and clearly our trip would not have been the same had we chosen a different place to stay. By the end of the trip we had all decided that when we came back there was no doubt we'd stay at the Black Rock Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I, along with great friends of ours, recently took our dream trip to Napa Valley. We had never been before and were really looking for a great experience. Well, staying at the Black Rock Inn with Jeff was the best decision we could have made! The Inn is beautiful and the location and property are fantastic - but it is Jeff, the owner and host, who makes the Black Rock experience one we will never forget!
Jeff served up delicious breakfasts every morning and was able to deal with my wife's allergies and made things specifically for her, which we definitely appreciated. As first time visitors to Napa, we had Jeff organize wine tours, tastings, and lunch for us - and all were fantastic. He listened to what we wanted and came through for us with his connections to very small, boutique wineries that were a pleasure to visit.
Jeff is also an avid wine collector who has a tremendous amount of knowledge and a great appreciation for great wine - something we really enjoyed and admired. Every afternoon Jeff would sit with us and chat and have a few glasses of wine. His recommendations for dinner were spot on and he did absolutely everything to make sure we had a tremendous time.
We were only in Napa for 3 days, but at the end of the trip, we all felt that we had made a new friend in Jeff. Without him, our trip would have never been what it turned out to be - one that we will have great memories of forever!
We definitely plan on future returns to Napa Valley and to the Black Rock Inn - and anyone else who is planning a trip to Napa should do everything they can to stay there as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Jeff is a fabulous host and his property, food and wine cellar are truly remarkable. We loved the ambiance of afternoons wine tastings with Jeff and other guests. His innovative breakfasts were delicious. His restaurant recommendations were excellent and he arranged a personalized wine tasting with a small vineyard which aded some gems to our cellar. We had too small a trunk to bring back souvenirs but Jeff arranged for their delivery to our doorstep. Our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently spent three nights at the Black Rock Inn to celebrate our collective 30th birthdays.

We took over the insanely adorable guest cottage and it couldn't have been more perfect for us. Equally comfortable, chic and spacious, the cottage had everything you'd want for a luxurious weekend away - cozy beds, beautiful decor and a private patio to die for. We had a private outdoor fireplace, flowers, ivy, heaters, a large community table... the list goes on an on.

In addition to staying at a beautiful home in St. Helena (perfectly located in the Valley), at Black Rock Inn you get your own personal concierge service and chef! Before we even arrived, the owner, Jeff, provided us with tons of local recommendations and went so far to make hard-to-get reservations for dinner. Upon arrival, he was very accommodating, generous with his wine, cooked a delicious breakfast each morning, and even confirmed limo and spa appointments on our behalf. At the end of each day, we'd come home to turndown service and a lit fireplace on our private patio - what more could you ask for?

I highly recommend the Black Rock Inn for your Napa getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Jeff did a great job hosting our family for Father's day. We had a wonderful weekend in Napa with great food and great wine.

Breakfast here was very tasty and Jeff made some great recommendations in planning our tastings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Heights, Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wish I could own The Black Rock Inn (BRI) and invite my friends to visit while in Napa. Last weekend we (me, my wife and a small group of friends) spent an extended weekend at BRI because our other friends were getting married in St. Helena. Jeff, the inn owner, provided a wonderful place to stay and made our four night vacation very welcoming and comfortable.

My wife and I stayed in Suite #2. The room was spacious, clean, relaxing and had a big bathroom (a plus for the wife). The suite is located on the second floor with a small balcony to overlook the front of the property. Also, leave your shampoo and conditioner at home. Jeff has stocked the bathroom with products from the Napa Soap Company!

Now what makes BRI the best. The hospitality AND the attention to detail AND the food. Jeff does a great job making sure his guests are comfortable and never hungry. Our group had an action packed weekend ahead so we inquired about having dinner prepared by Jeff on our first night. We agreed to a menu and the cost. Every dish served was tasty and remarkable. That includes every breakfast served in the mornings. It is rare to experience such great hospitality and I am glad we choose BRI for our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Inn

Address: 3100 Silverado Trail North, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rock Inn is an upscale Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Napa Valley Wine Country on the North end of Saint Helena. Surrounded by world-class vineyards, the two-acre estate offers multiple Suites in the Main House, a separate two-bedroom house (available for monthly rental) and gorgeous outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Black Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.