We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews were right...no doubt the friendliest place in the valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duckhorn Vineyards

Duckhorn Vineyards
1000 Lodi Lane St., St. Helena, CA 94574
+1 888-354-8885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 93 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Co-founded by Dan and Margaret Duckhorn in 1976, Duckhorn Vineyards has spent almost forty years establishing itself as one of North America's premier producers of Napa Valley wines. Visit the winery in St. Helena, CA for an unforgettable wine country experience.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The reviews were right...no doubt the friendliest place in the valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our friends arranged the Duckhorn tour - then their flight was cancelled. So...we did Duckhorn two days in a row so they could experience it the next day. Our guide, Sally, was incredible. Extremely knowledgeable, and probably one of the nicest people we've ever met. Duckhorn is elegant but not pretentious. Duckhorn was already a favorite before we visited but it was great to see where it all happens. This one is a MUST on your Napa tour. Go to Farmstead in St. Helena afterwards for lunch/dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    41
    12
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Indiana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This Vineyard is beautiful. Our guide was Sally and she was incredibly knowledgeable and so much fun! She really made our first experience with wine tours memorable and a high bar to reach for everyone else. We toured the winemaking process while she gave us fascinating information. We sampled grapes. We enjoyed the smells and then were lead into the private wine tasting room for our party. Sally was generous with the pours and the descriptions of the cheeses that went with each wine. It was amazing how the tastes changed in our palate and truly, a memorable experience.
This visit was a gift to us from one of our wedding guests who is a member of Duckhorn Vineyards wine club and it was really worth our time and is worth yours! Plenty of lovely things to purchase alongside the wine. The grounds were beautiful and we would happily return to Duckhorn again and again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The most pleasant tasting experience in the valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Out of all the wineries that we visited on this trip, Duckhorn by far had the most pleasant and personable hosts. Our wine guru had a very bubbly personality and made us feel welcomed - she was very knowledgeable and thorough - not to mention very generous with her pouring.

The setting is beautiful and relaxed - not what I expected from a "big name" such as Duckhorn (quite a pleasant surprise). Most of the "big name" wineries I've visited have been lacking that warm touch. It is great to see that there are still few non-snooty "big name" wineries to visit in the Valley.

I especially enjoyed the Migration chardonnay!

See you again next time...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Elegant Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went to the winery at the suggestion of a friend, who said it would be an elegant experience. She was right. The setting for tasting could be indoors, outdoors on the large patio or under a shade tree. The wines chosen for us were very good. We especially enjoyed their Merlot, Pinot Noir and Cabernet Franc, and bought a bottle of each one. We were very surprised that the 3 bottles of wine were well over $200. That and our tasting fee took our short time here to nearly $300. The wines are indeed very good, but they are not your average winery. If you are expecting to do tasting and buy a couple bottles of inexpensive wines - this is not the place. If we had more time, we would have walked around the grounds and enjoyed the flowers. I recommend Duckhorn with the note up front about the cost of the wines. The wines are excellent to taste even if you don't buy a bottle of any of them - you will still have a very nice experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Favorite Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had already discovered Duckhorn Merlot prior to our visit to Napa Valley, CA, so I was extremely excited about visiting the vineyard. Of all the vineyards/wineries we visited, this was my absolute favorite. This is a beautiful estate, and it was a gorgeous afternoon sitting on the large porch sipping on a variety of wines.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckhorn Vineyards also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Duckhorn Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duckhorn Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.