We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sleeping room...but that's about it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Vineyard Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vineyard Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice sleeping room...but that's about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you'll be visiting wineries in the St. Helena area or the immediate vicinity. The sleeping rooms are very spacoius with a comfortable king bed. Prior to our stay I was concerned about previous reviews I've read about the noise from highway 29. I didnt find that to be an issue whatsoever. In terms of the "grounds" well it was nice...but there is very little "wow factor." The pool is literally the size of a hot tub. The breakfast was good, but will not leave a lasting impression or a "pull" to get me to return. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with a great location this is the place for you....if you're looking for a real special Inn or room I dont believe this will suit your needs. There is literally NO feel of hospitality at all....the staff is about giving you a key to your room and that is the extent. With a bit more personality and warmth from the hotel staff my rating of this hotel would be higher.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tapps
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to the Napa Valley. It afforded us an excellent location from which to tour the area vineyards and was such a comfortable, scenic and delightful place to stay. There is no comparison to staying here rather than a larger hotel. We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Small country inn just south of St Helena in the Napa valley. Rooms are spacious, clean, and well decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful when asked for advice on vineyards to visit and restaurants in the area. They have a nice continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a room from 115 and up (only @ 20 rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Charming, spacious and what a location. Staff was helpful and what else can I say. Only problems is that there are on 21 rooms, but then again who wants to be around huge groups of people, when on a romantic weekend!!!!!

Room Tip: Reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed one night at the Vineyard Country Inn, and had a very pleasant experience. The inn has rooms in more than one building. Our room was about halfway between the office and the road, and road noise was not a problem. The landscaping around the rooms was quite nice.

We used the fireplace in the room. They burn a fake [paper] log, but it lasts at least 3 hours. We requested and got another log to burn, but you only burn one at a time.

We used the hot tub, and it was good. The jets are on a timer, which seemed to last quite a while (didn't time it). Since it was November, we had to scramble to find a small table for our stuff, and there were no chairs around the pool or hot tub, but that was not a problem. The robes in the room came in handy for going to/from the hot tub.

The lady who checked us in was most helpful, getting us an extra fireplace log, pool towels, etc. and when I tried to tip her (for our numerous requests), she refused it, saying that was part of the service.

The breakfast in the morning was sufficient, but not extaordinary.

I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

They take great care of their property. The rooms are meticulously decorated, very clean and stocked with what you need and many extras. The views of the vineyard next door from the balcony of our room were extraordinary-if we didn't know any better we could have been sitting at a french vineyard!

No complaints on the staff, hotel, breakfast, or pool. All great. We were so happy we chose this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

i have been staying at this hidden treasure for about 10years. i am always amazed at the intimate feeling this inn has and how even after staying there for so many years the place still seems fresh and calm. the grounds are beautiful, having matured very well over the years, the employees always helpful and friendly. can't say enough good things about the place.

have been introducing it to many friends over the years and without exception they like it and feel it is a great value for the area. people who complain about the price have not spent much time checking prices in this area!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vineyard Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Country Inn

Address: 201 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vineyard Country Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Vineyard Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Vineyard Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.