We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & relaxing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clif Family Winery

Clif Family Winery
709 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574
707-968-0625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 94 things to do in St. Helena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Velo Vino is a unique tasting room, cycling hub and retail location where the passions of cycling, wine and food are celebrated and blended. At Velo Vino, you can taste Clif Family Wines, enjoy a cheese plate or an espresso drink, and embark on a world-class cycling excursion, all in the heart of Napa Valley.
Kent, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice & relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice people here- they have a great patio! The wine was very good and I even became a wine club member! It was so relaxing and comfortable I already felt like a family member!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“By far my favorite tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Velo Vino is home to Clif Family Winery's goods....and a fantastic array of cycling gadgets and gear. The blend of wine and cycling makes for a unique atmosphere and there are many things to watch and see at this small venue. I loved their wines and very much enjoyed the staff--very genuine and knowledgeable without being snooty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful pairing of cycling and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited a bike store and this winery was suggested to us. Completely wonderful the many biking photos the kind friendly and knowledgable staff make this a must see and a wonderful contrast to the big expansive wineries. We would have done the food pairing but time did not permit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holtsville ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unexpectedly wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The winery paired wines with unlikely snack combinations that really enhanced the wine and the atmoshphere was very cool.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sports/wine lover must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

very casual, great service and intresting ties to sports. we arrived and while we were there on the st helena passport (half price) they treated us fabulous. our table was reserved by the fire pit for 8 all ready for us. our server stayed with us the entire time and explained all the history and the vines. he also preparred small pairings for us for each wine. we enjoyed this place it was very casual, and down to earth. nice sport shop on property too....we loved the climber red...with the chocolate almonds....almost all the girls bought a bottle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clif Family Winery also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Clif Family Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clif Family Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.