We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average wines over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelham Vineyards and Winery

Kelham Vineyards and Winery
360 Zinfandel Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574
(707) 963-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 94 things to do in St. Helena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our vineyards in Oakville have been farmed by Rawson Kelham for the last thirty-five years. In 1998, Rawson and Susanna Kelham rebuilt the old Shadow Brook Winery on Zinfandel Lane in St. Helena. After three years, the ten-acre facility is now planted with seven acres of Cabernet Sauvignon grapes and a new winery facility is being constructed. Hamilton and Ron Nicholsen, the winemakers, grew up in the Napa Valley and developed a passion for wine. They have been closely involved with several different wineries and made home wine for several years prior to developing their own label. After graduating from college, Ron in architecture and Hamilton in hotel restaurant management, they pursued their goal to build a family winery and produce fine wines.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average wines over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

A little pretentious and the wines a little off for my liking. To each their own. I found other wineries more welcoming and their wines better i think.

I could not recommend, there are 450 wineries in the valley and at least 200 are a better value. ( I have visited many over the past 40 years.)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth it! One of my favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was an experience - it's by appt only and a bit pricey but so worth it. I could have spent all afternoon at this breathtaking property. We were greeted by the owner and served wine by the winemaker himself. Very rare.

Oh and the wine!! Be prepared for some knock your socks off cabs the subtle pinots and a surprising and very pleasing rose. He serves some of the oldest vintages at a tasting.

And they are animal lovers and so are we. All rescue pups :)

A must. We can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Could've spent all day there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Suzanna Kelham was a most gracious host and the experience so wonderful that we ended up spending almost 3 hours tasting wines and wandering around the property. The views are phenomenal and the wines are even better. In fact, the wines were so good we joined their wine club in order to get access to their current cab release from 2001!!!

Don't miss the estate grown/blended/distilled Merlot based port. Unreal!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine Tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a visit to Napa and went to the Kelham Vineyards for a private wine tasting with lunch. It was excellent and one of my favorite wine tastings. We were greeted by Suzanna Kelham and she directed our party to a lovely table in front of french doors looking out to their estate. We ate scrumptious appetizers of cheeses, meats, olives and dried fruits while we tasted their amazing wines. This is an expensive tasting, but well worth the money. It was relaxing and the atmosphere and wine were excellent! Tasting the wines with food parings was so much more enjoyable than standing at a tasting counter to sample 6 different wines. This winery is in a different league than the others, far better than the "big box" wineries. We loved this wine and lunch experience and Suzanna is delightful! Skip the big name wineries and the ones with the glitz and gimmicks and opt for a quality experience. Bon Appetito!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable visit, great views and outstanding wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is beautiful, we ate our picnic lunch in their outdoor gazebo right near the vines. The owner and her sons were continually coming by and checking on us, and pouring great wine. Beautiful artwork for sale inside the house. The wine is higher prices than many, but some of the best I've had. We brought home a few bottles and plan to order more. Highly recommend a visit if you're in the area!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelham Vineyards and Winery also viewed

 

Been to Kelham Vineyards and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelham Vineyards and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.