We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Culinary Institute of America

The Culinary Institute of America
The Culinary Institute of America at Greystone, 2555 Main Street, St. Helena, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in St. Helena
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Service could have been a bit better, but overall meal was great. Servers couldn't open the bottle of wine that I ordered and ended up dropping the cork in the bottle. Instead of opening a different bottle, they tried to spoon and seive out the pieces of cork. Needless to say, they did not get all of the cork out of my glass. Would have preferred they open a new bottle or at least remove the charge from my check. Waitress said she would top off my glass, but never did. For appetizers, we ordered the squash soup nd the mussels. Highly recommend the soup. Meal was great...we had the steak with smoked sausage and braised winter greens. The potatoes with this dish were tough...could have been removed or cooked a bit more. Also ordered the pork and polenta with apples...this dish was perfection. For dessert we shared a meyer lemon panna cotta which was light and refreshing after a very rich and filling meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    36
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Excellent food...a little pricier than I thought it would be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was one of the best meals we've had. We are locals, and have been to many of the Napa area restaurants, and thought we'd try out Greystone. Gorgeous setting/building (despite the pouring rain outside).

The food was simply awesome! Loved every course! Service was fairly good (though could have been slightly more attentive, given that only five other tables were in use at the time we were there).

I'm afraid I have to say that the price was a little on the higher side than I was anticipating. Plan on $50 per person with NO alcohol, at minimum.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal, fun evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Went to CIA with 8 of my closest friends to celebrate a birthday while visiting Napa. Food was wonderful, the price for a multi-course meal with wine pairing was reasonable, service was outstanding, atmosphere wonderful, overall a great experience!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Lovely evening in a lovely building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Had a really enjoyable evening at Greystone.

New concept to us that we were introduced to on out visit no Napa Valley and we'd certainly be keen to visit the Culinary Institute's campus in New York (can't say I ever expect to be in San Antonio).

The building is beautiful. Built in 1888 and steeped in tradition. Impressive architecture and nicely decorated within.

Staff were friendly, polite, and professional. Happy to chat and very informative.

We were impressed with the standard of cooking and enjoyed the food. Well presented and tasty. As you'd expect from a nice restaurant in Napa Valley, the wine list was of a good standard.

Would be very happy to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel, Jerusalem
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“unique experience to foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

eating at the culinary institute of America in napa is definitely a unique experience to foodies. the building looks like an old castle and with the vines around the scenery becomes even more impressing. we had reservations for the outside terrace for lunch and weren't aware that inside you can sit on the bar and see all the cooking process, but they were happily willing to sit us inside and for people who love to cook it is a fun thing to be part of a chef's kitchen. i'm a vegetarian so they offered my dishes outside the lunch menu, which was very nice of them (had the mushroom risotto). the atmosphere inside was great. seeing the chefs and the trainees was awesome. over all a great lunch. go after your lunch to the main building to explore some of the gallery exhibit and of course their store.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culinary Institute of America also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Culinary Institute of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Culinary Institute of America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.