We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the fuss?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Helena

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Helena to your Saves list
Hotel St. Helena
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel St. Helena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What's the fuss?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

After reading the scathing reviews that I couldn't believe were true, we dropped in and asked for a tour. We were eagerly shown two rooms, which were clean and generally fine. We rented a room and had a pleasant stay. The location is great; in the middle of Main Street. It's a very old building, built in the late 1800's, so we expected things to be dated. Rates are high everywhere in Napa Valley, so again this was to be expected, however our room rate was within $20 of the place down the street and this place had far more charm. Not sure what the fuss is all about.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    8
    10
    26
See reviews for
6
26
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stay clear of this one, a rip off with a capital R
I could go on for weeks stating why not to go there, but instead I will leave that to your imagination. A bathroom sink with no stopper, when I enquired why..........................................................................................WAIT FOR IT I WAS TOLD THERE NEVER HAD BEEN, and to put a facecloth in the drain, abominable,straight out of the BATES MOTEL category.
Hell at $300 per night.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Definately not worth the money. Hotel smelled funny, toilet flush was very loud. Surprisingly they do have wi-fi and a continental breakfast. Not worth 500$, would look closer at options next stayover.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a classic example of expectations. The price on this hotel is WAY too high for what you get. What you get is fine if you were paying $100-$150, but when you are shelling out almost $400 for one night, it's pretty pathetic. Hotel is in a good location, but decor is dated, creepy and not very clean. Rooms are basic. We lucked out on parking, but were told when we got there that there were spaces, but shoppers usually park there and she 'didn't know what to tell us'. My advice - if you are going to pay this much, pay a little extra and find a nicer place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed in innumerable hotels over the last four decades - from modest to grand - and this one takes the prize for the worst value. The room was barely larger than the "queen" bed and offered no closet; just a hook on the back of the bathroom door. The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows like bags of cement. The only other furniture was a small, round bed-side table covered with an old floral cloth and sporting a telephone, a lamp and a box of Kleenex, and a bizarre, little white-painted cabinet with a few tiny drawers that was better suited to a garage than a bedroom. The bathroom was passable. Small and cheaply done, but passable. There might have been air conditioning - I could hear a hum - but if so there was no way to control it and we had to sleep with the window open. And what did all this splendor cost? A mere $365. Wow. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was $480, smelled, was not cleaned probably in weeks, furniture is old, bedding stained and unwelcoming. I will write a review to appropriate authorities to shut it down dangerous to the health of the tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel due to the fact that we needed to just stay one night and they had no minimum night requirement. It was $400 a night for almost a dump...when we checked in they said "Oh, there is no TV working in your room". When we went to the "room" and I use the term loosely, there was no place to put the luggage without putting it on the bed when we were not sleeping. It was hot, the windows don't open (they put some sort of material in to stop it from moving). SO, BEWARE..this hotel is a pit for the money. If it was $300 less, it would be fine.
On the plus side, the bed was comfy, even for a double.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helena

Address: 1309 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helena 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Helena CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.