We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Helena

Hotel St. Helena
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Helena to your Saves list
Hotel St. Helena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Definately not worth the money. Hotel smelled funny, toilet flush was very loud. Surprisingly they do have wi-fi and a continental breakfast. Not worth 500$, would look closer at options next stayover.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a classic example of expectations. The price on this hotel is WAY too high for what you get. What you get is fine if you were paying $100-$150, but when you are shelling out almost $400 for one night, it's pretty pathetic. Hotel is in a good location, but decor is dated, creepy and not very clean. Rooms are basic. We lucked out on parking, but were told when we got there that there were spaces, but shoppers usually park there and she 'didn't know what to tell us'. My advice - if you are going to pay this much, pay a little extra and find a nicer place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahS0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Helena hotels

Carmel, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed in innumerable hotels over the last four decades - from modest to grand - and this one takes the prize for the worst value. The room was barely larger than the "queen" bed and offered no closet; just a hook on the back of the bathroom door. The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows like bags of cement. The only other furniture was a small, round bed-side table covered with an old floral cloth and sporting a telephone, a lamp and a box of Kleenex, and a bizarre, little white-painted cabinet with a few tiny drawers that was better suited to a garage than a bedroom. The bathroom was passable. Small and cheaply done, but passable. There might have been air conditioning - I could hear a hum - but if so there was no way to control it and we had to sleep with the window open. And what did all this splendor cost? A mere $365. Wow. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was $480, smelled, was not cleaned probably in weeks, furniture is old, bedding stained and unwelcoming. I will write a review to appropriate authorities to shut it down dangerous to the health of the tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raluca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel due to the fact that we needed to just stay one night and they had no minimum night requirement. It was $400 a night for almost a dump...when we checked in they said "Oh, there is no TV working in your room". When we went to the "room" and I use the term loosely, there was no place to put the luggage without putting it on the bed when we were not sleeping. It was hot, the windows don't open (they put some sort of material in to stop it from moving). SO, BEWARE..this hotel is a pit for the money. If it was $300 less, it would be fine.
On the plus side, the bed was comfy, even for a double.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Having never been to this hotel I was not sure what to expect, so I was really pleased when I first walk in at the charm of the place. Totally Victorian in its style and decor, very clean and well appointed with period furniture and curios. The staff both at check in and check out were wonderful. We felt immediately welcome and they were very helpful and gracious with all of our questions. We also got some great recommendations as to restaurants and bars in the area. The rooms were also spotless. Very comfortable king size bed and what appeared to be a newly remodeled good sized bathroom. All around a wonderful experience with great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room for 18May as we were to visit friends in Anguin. It was the least expensive room I could find. The woman that checked us in was nice enough. The room was tiny. I have traveled for business since 1964 and have to say our bed was one of the worst I've ever slept on. Terrible back ache the next two days. I just returned from four months in Central and South America and have had better beds in $10 hosterias. The woman that served us breakfast was nice enough and the breakfast was pretty good. Over all, the rate is about $100 too much. I suspect the visitors from the 'Bay Area' don't mind getting gouged as they get use to it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
2.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
0.1 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#3 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#5 of 8 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helena

Address: 1309 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Helena CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing