We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Rate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Helena

Hotel St. Helena
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Helena to your Saves list
Hotel St. Helena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Rate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room for 18May as we were to visit friends in Anguin. It was the least expensive room I could find. The woman that checked us in was nice enough. The room was tiny. I have traveled for business since 1964 and have to say our bed was one of the worst I've ever slept on. Terrible back ache the next two days. I just returned from four months in Central and South America and have had better beds in $10 hosterias. The woman that served us breakfast was nice enough and the breakfast was pretty good. Over all, the rate is about $100 too much. I suspect the visitors from the 'Bay Area' don't mind getting gouged as they get use to it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    8
    11
    26
See reviews for
6
26
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The service here is not only terrible, but insulting. I booked 1 night on a Saturday for 4/28/12. It was the cheapest hotel around I could find in Calistoga and St. Helena. Now it's the cheapest for a reason. I was told I had 3 days prior to the reservation to cancel or modify my reservation. My plans changed 3 days prior, and I called the hotel number listed in my confirmation email to cancel one of the rooms. No one picked up so I left a voicemail. No one got back to me, and it was at 8:00 pm so I thought fine I'll try again tomorrow.

Tomorrow comes and I email them when I don't hear from them. Turns out the confirmation I had a different number than what they usually answer at. I call at the new number they gave to me and when I get a hold of someone, they told me it's too late to cancel since it is 2 days prior to the reservation. I explained that my confirmation email did not have the right number, so they should let me cancel since I left a voicemail last night. The woman refused to do so and would not let me speak to the manager after repeatedly asking to speak to the manager. I told them there's no way I'm staying there after this fiasco, and that I'm disbuting the credit card charge if they still charge me. She said fine she doesn't care. That's the kind of service you'll get for staying here. Heed my words, find somewhere else that will treat you like they actually care for how you feel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, so I'm not able to talk about the room. But we did stop in the lobby and the woman working at the front desk was able to help us out tremendously. She was very accommodating and welcoming despite the fact that we weren't staying at the hotel. The antique decor is charming and the lobby was clean and comfortable. I would book a room at this hotel based only on the way that they treated us as non-guests and welcomed us into their space. Obviously very kind hearted and caring hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed here with my friends on our first visit to Napa Valley, and the receptionist was extremely helpful. The hotel is being renovated, and the rooms and bathrooms that have been renovated are really nice. We happened to stay in a room that had not been renovated, and spoke with the receptionist about some of our concerns and they apologized completely and gave us a partial refund, which was great and unexpected. I would recommend this as an affordable place to stay in St.Helena, with a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated, and if you want a private bathroom make sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This wasn't the best hotel we had stayed in during our CA trip but there were some good things about it that should be pointed out. Firstly it is in a great location for dining with two EXCELLENT restaurants just minutes walk away, one just opposite the hotel. This is what you need after a day of wine tasting; somewhere where you don't need to use the car. The gentille ladies who seem to own and run the place are pleasant and helpful and we saw no signs of the grubby carpets etc that some have complained about. Admittedly it was expensive - we paid around USD 120 for a room with shared bathrooms - all that was available - but the bathrooms were always clean and dry and no sign of others using them, although they must have.
The breakfast was much better than most 'motel' style places in USA and the hotel had a calm and quiet air about it. howver, there was a fairly noisy aircon fan outside our window which we asked the landlady to turn off at night, which she did. otherwise we had no real complaints.
If you are there to enjoy the hotel then choose another, but if you are in St Helena to enjoy the region and visit the wineries etc, this place could be ideal.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms obove the side aircon plant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very sparse accomodations for price. i made a mistake and thought I had 3 nights reservation but only had 2 nights. I was touring the valley with business partner when I received a call at about 3 PM indicating i had failed to checkout so everything was gathered from my room and put in a plastic bag behind the counter. Very unprofessional. Only good thing is I had to stay somewhere else that third night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

WHO is writing the reviews that say we had a great time here, has to be friends and relatives!!! It was late. We were getting disparate. Most all of the other hotels wanted 350-400 for the night??? This crap hole was 160. we went for it. (they love it when you pay before seeing the room, then smile in delight when they swipe your credit card, and chuckle when they take you up to the room and open the door for you.) Room old, You could almost call it a cell. First...bed check...no bed bugs spotted ...good. Carpet filthy, furniture...garage sale rejects. Hallway smelled like when I visited my father in the retirement home. Keep in mind that they have no staff at this place after 8, you are locked in the place with whoever they let stay there besides yourself, think about it...Leaf blower guy stands outside the window at seven. I do not understand what that area thinks they have that they need to charge such ridiculous prices for everything!? The wine country, Food is high priced, traffic is the worst I have seen. I ask myself why go back...why...why.
In my disgust, after this trip I started drinking beer and coffee...hard cider, I was even once reduced to sipping tea...after that one, my parents disowned me. I have been reduced to taking Viagra in the morning just to stand erect...Anyway this place sucked. Enjoy life elsewhere.

A B&B called Inkhouse wanted to take our reservation over the telephone, but we said we want to see the place first. When we got there it was on the main noisy highway, next to the railroad tracks, looked like the Munsters house from TV???The phone lady had a real attitude.

END

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helena

Address: 1309 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Helena CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.