We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnum Tours

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Magnum Tours
101 Pine Place St, St. Helena, CA CA 94574
(707) 753-0088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 87 Activities in St. Helena
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Magnum Tours was nothing but first class. Jim put together a wonderful day in and around Napa and our driver Ricky was fantastic. Ricky picked up a wonderful lunch for us while we were visiting Gamble Ranch as well. We had wonderful times at Adastra and Gamble. Steer clear of Shifflet winery. Our trip there was 100% at our request, not any fault of Magnum - the wine was excellent, but the owner was a bit off putting and a few minutes was all we needed with him. We had a great time on our "first class" trip of Napa. I highly recommend booking Magnum for a day in Napa.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I began emailing with Jim, owner of Magnum about 8 weeks prior to our arrival. He asked questions to find out what we were interested in as far as wine/vineyards were concerned. He set the entire day up for us, including all appointments at vineyards.
Our driver MIke was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. He had the car stocked with water as well as plastic utensils/wine opener/cooler. All of our tours were expecting us and we were the only ones there since we opted for smaller, more boutique wineries where appts were necessary. We had a great day and Jim is very accommodating to your needs in order to make sure that you have the experience you are looking for

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE best way to see Napa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Brian, our driver, was amazing -- always making sure we were having a great time but also making sure we were fed and hydrated on our vineyard tour! He also always made sure that there would be room for us at a tasting and completely treated us like royalty. He had flowers for us from every vineyard when we got in the limo. He was awesome. The owner of Magnum had some great recommendations and set up a great lunch with the winemaker of Tres Sabores. I totally recommend using Magnum to get around safely and worry-free from vineyard to vineyard. Tres Sabores was amazing for lunch. We also loved Duckhorn. Lunch from Dean & Deleuca was great too. Thanks Brian & the guys at Magnum Tours!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Falls way short of expectations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Tour started with a 45 minute ride to a location just 15 minutes away. Owner stated that he was working on an itinerary all week yet driver showed up with no planned itinerary and said he would "wing it" . After 6 hours and only 2 wineries and listening to the driver berate the larger more famous wineries, telling my wife she needs to drink more wine to shut up, and telling us that some of our favorite wines are "crap" is pretty lame.

Dropped us off at a lunch place that was guaranteed to take at least an hour. When you are paying a driver 75 per, that doesn't make a lot of sense. Also driver took us to his "best friends and drinking buddies winery" yet they were sold out of everything and only offered replacement wines.

Overall 6 hours 2 wineries and $500 is a complete waste of time and money.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Jim and his team are terrific! We have used them multiple times and most recently for our surprise engagement trip. They helped arrange everything to the T and took us to our favorite boutique vineyard spots. If you are even thinking about using a car service in the valley, these are the guys to go with while you are there.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnum Tours also viewed

 

Been to Magnum Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnum Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.