We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laidback tasting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Meadow Ranch Winery

Long Meadow Ranch Winery
738 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574
707-963-4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 82 activities in St. Helena
Type: Wineries, Specialty Shops, Ranchs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Long Meadow Ranch Winery & Farmstead is a sustainable food, wine and agricultural center located in St. Helena, the heart of the Napa Valley. A local gathering place and Napa Valley destination, the multi-use location is anchored by the historic Logan-Ives House at Long Meadow Ranch Winery & Farmstead, as well as Farmstead restaurant; wine flavor and vegetable gardens; a seasonal farmers market; and a variety of unique event spaces. This exciting destination offers an array of experiences for lovers of local food and wines, including distinctive full-circle farming tours, wine and estate olive oil tastings, and paired lunch offerings; fresh farm-to-table dining; private ranch excursions; customized event venues and services; and engaging educational experiences that underscore Long Meadow Ranch’s time-honored motto of “Excellence through Responsible Farming.”
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Laidback tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to Long Meadow Ranch on Memorial Day Weekend for wine tasting. The staff was extremely friendly and easy to talk to. It wasn't too crowded. The wine was good. It was fun.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

If you're in the St Helena area and enjoy good wine, haute cuisine and have some time available then the ranch/ winery tour with lunch or dinner and paired wines could be for you.

The tour covers the organic vegetable garden with the produce being used in the main restaurant as well as the private dining room, just off the tasting room.

After the gardens is the trip into the hills to see the vineyards, olive groves and the winery itself.
The trip by mini-bus is up some steep terrain with narrow roads so it's easy to see why it's done with a guide. The views on the way to the winery are stunning with a spectacular view from the winery.

The winery is 5* with extensive caves set into the hillside. Inside the winery is a room set aside for processing the olives and producing the olive oil. Again top notch equipment.
Spread throughout the ranch are chickens, horses and long-haired Scottish Highland cattle. If you haven't gussed by now have your phone or camera ready for many photo opportunities. The bulls are mated with the female herd and the extremely lean meat is used in the ranch restaurants.

On returning to the tasting rooms/reception we were introduced to Tim who is the chef for the private dining room. After an initial glass of wine lunch was served. The meal and presentation was very artistic and of Michelin standard. The wine pairing with the courses was well thought out and didn't disappoint.
The whole experience took about 4 hours and we were engaged the whole time.

LMR also hosts weddings in its extensive gardens and I would imagine are extremely popular due to the superb location.

Special thanks to Rebecca who was our tour guide and laughing partner for the day, Tim an amazingly talented chef and Erik who assisted with the wine tasting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our group visited recently and I enjoyed my time there very much. We were able to sample two premium olive oils and 4 of their wines. Our guides were very knowledgeable, friendly and approachable. The property is beautiful! I didn't purchase any of their wines or oils, so I can't speak to the prices or the process. It was a fun way for my group to spend the afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Farm to Table Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a wonderful way to spend a sunny warm autumn afternoon. We started with an initial wine tasting whilst being given a relaxing informative tour of the garden and restaurant with Tim. We ended up in a private dining room with a delicious 3 course lunch with all the produce sourced from either their own ranch or local suppliers and tasting a different wine with each course. Gretchen Heller was extremely helpful with advising on our visit beforehand. Would thoroughly recommend the above or even just the wine tasting with a meal in the Farmstead restaurant which looked equally as fun!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamaroneck
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The wine in store costs same as the wine in the wine store in my area sans shipping!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Sauvignon Blanc is $20.00 a bottle same in New York sans shipping. The don't even offer to box it for you and there is no advantage to buying it there price wise.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Meadow Ranch Winery also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Long Meadow Ranch Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Meadow Ranch Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Long Meadow Ranch Winery to your Saves list