We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little winery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Omega Winery

Alpha Omega Winery
1155 Mee Lane at Hwy 29, St. Helena, CA 94573
+1 707-963-9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 82 activities in St. Helena
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Alpha Omega, a boutique winery located in the heart of Napa Valley on the Rutherford Bench, began its journey in 2006 to be recognized as one of the great wine estates in the world. Surrounded by vineyards and mountains, the beauty of this rustic, farm-style winery is as captivating as its wine. Alpha Omega's extraordinary winemakers, along with historic vineyards, combine to create wines that express the essence of this famous wine region. Talented winemaker, Jean Hoefliger, has teamed up with one of the world's finest palates, Michel Rolland, to create wines that express their passion for excellence as well as the unique terroir that is Napa Valley. By procuring prized grapes from the many appellations of Napa Valley, our winemakers blend the essence of exceptional terroir ranging from valley floor, hillside, mountain and coast. Using natural techniques, they handcraft finesse-driven, complex and balanced wines, which express the aromatic profile of the best Napa Valley has to offer. Hoefliger and Rolland's combined award-winning winemaking techniques create elegant, approachable and perfectly balanced wines of the highest quality through blending the best of Old World and New World wine styles. A gifted young winemaker and a master winemaker are discovering together the excitement of creating world-class wine from world-class grapes in world-class terroir for Alpha Omega.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute little winery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

They have a nice terrace where you can have your wine tasting. The wine tasting was $25 per person, but it was waved if you purchased a bottle of wine; good deal if you like the wine. I did feel a little pressure for purchasing and tasting faster...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

When driving up to the property you feel like you are entering a plebeian marketing-hype environment. The parking lot is teaming with people and the steel structure is a very tastefully architected facility. The place is abuzz with activity around the tasting bar...and you are surrounded by the energy of youth!

Definitely not what you would expect for the traditional private "wine" tasting experience.....but then.....you are ushered into a private room and John Palmer launches into his informative, energetic description of the wines accompanied by an array of biscuits, cranberries, almonds, prosciutto and more. John's dissertation was very well done. It was a treat to witness the look of wonderment and hear the expressions of high regard from our friend and sommelier who has done wine radio shows and videos (Grapes to Glass). His quote "these cabernets defy aging and are drinkable now"! (2009 and 2010 blends).

Reds to whites were delectable. One of the best Chardonnays that I've savored. We also tried two cabs aging in the oak barrels. That was my first barrel tasting and it is a definitely a valuable exercise as I learn to describe the wine tasting sensorial experience.

What can I can? Young is fun....!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I'm not a wine guy, but this is good stuff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my wife and in laws, and truth be told, I'm not a wine guy, but what I tasted was quite delicious. The winery is a small one, which truthfully adds charm to the whole process, and the staff is very knowledgable, and that also adds to the overall experience. Our tour guide was Rick, and he was very friendly.

I definitely recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you plan to have a picnic, this is the place to do it. The fountains greet guests as they drive into the property. The tasting room looks out over the vineyards and fountain. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The winery is obtaining their Napa Green certification and is extremely eco-friendly and their wine is outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

In Napa, most wineries have a menu and the prices for tasting. Here, when you arrive you do not see any charge or options for tasting. After you taste and you decide not to buy, you get saddled with a twenty five dollar fee per person. We were so shocked, we didn't question it and paid it. If you spend a certain amount, you can apply that towards the tasting fee but that is not disclosed before you taste. While decent but pricey wines, it's bad business practice that made us feel taken. I wished I would have questioned this further -with no signs noting that charge, I think we could have challenged the fees and not paid that high amount! We were just so shocked at the charge, we did not question it. if they had posted the fees as we entered, we would have told them that we would have shared a single fee. Beware!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpha Omega Winery also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Alpha Omega Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Omega Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alpha Omega Winery to your Saves list