We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to escape reality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrose Bierce House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambrose Bierce House to your Saves list
Ambrose Bierce House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to escape reality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We have stayed several times at the Ambrose Bierce House - and will be back again in the future. In the past we had always stayed in the Edweard Muybridge room - considered it "our room" and found it cozy and welcoming. Though the room is the smallest in the Inn, the parlor provided the extra space for sitting around, reading or playing a game that we needed, and it suited our budget. On our most recent trip we splurged a little and stayed in the Ambrose Bierce Suite. We loved having the extra space - our own little sitting room, and with the cool, rainy weather, we really enjoyed the fireplace! From the first time we met him, Carlos has seemed more like an old friend than an Innkeeper. He makes a wonderful breakfast, and is fun to catch up with during "happy hour" over wine and cheese. He is always full of wonderful suggestions for places to visit - whether a favorite winery, restaurant for dinner, or a special activity and is happy to make any reservations or arrangements for us if needed. The Inn is right on Main Street, just a couple of blocks from the center of downtown St. Helena. There are so many wonderful restaurants, a great local coffee shop, great old theater - everything to make you feel right at home. It is our escape from the real world - the perfect place to relax and re-energize.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    3
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Took the wife as a birthday surprise to this Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Napa wine country and walking distance from many boutique-type shops. Extremely helpful staff that provided outstanding restaurant and wine tasting pointers. The staff also coordinated multiple dinner reservations that got us into the restaurants we wanted. The breakfasts both mornings were fantastic as well. We will definitately go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We truly enjoyed our visit. Our room was comfortable, the ambience was great. We meet fellow travelers that enhanced our experience. Breakfast was a delight. We would definately stay again. Also, Lisa was VERY helpful with suggestions on the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

The architecture of the house is very quaint and the decor to match. We felt like we were back in the Victorian age and the history of the house only enhances it. Our inn keeper, Carlos was the consummate host with a wealth of information, friendliness, and served us the best breakfast we've had in quite a while. Kudos to the folks who run this inn!! Thanks for a most memorable stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ambrose Bierce House in early September while attending a friend's wedding in St. Helena. We had the charming, sunny, and comfortable Lillie Langtry room, which includes a nice large bath with plenty of surface space for toiletries (not always the case in B&B bathrooms).
The location of the inn is ideal - we could walk anywhere we wanted to go in downtown St. Helena, which made shopping & restaurant exploration fun & easy. Calistoga was an easy & very pretty drive up the road, and of course nearby wineries are plentiful.
Carlos, the innkeeper, was exceedingly friendly and very enthusiastic in talking about the area and suggesting activities & restaurants. Breakfasts were great, and one morning included homemade croissants - some of the best we've had outside France & Belgium.
Our trip went all too fast & we would love to have stayed longer. Compared to some of the other very pricey lodging options in the area, the Ambrose Bierce house was a very enjoyable place to stay at a great value. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I highly recommend staying at the Ambrose Bierce house. The property is located in downtown St. Helena, within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to wineries and the countryside. That's if you want to go out. Staying in is nice too! The rooms are beautifully furnished and maintained, with many amenities and comforts. The breakfast was delicious! The innkeepers, Carlos and Jenna, are gracious hosts, knowledgeable about the area and with great recommendations for places to eat (I'm blanking on the name of the restaurant, but ask them where to get mushroom soup). We had a wonderful visit at Ambrose House, and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I loved our stay here. The people were very helpful and very willing to help us out with the area. The breakfast was excellent and the bedroom was very elegant. We will be going back here the next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrose Bierce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrose Bierce House

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambrose Bierce House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambrose Bierce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Ambrose Bierce House St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrose Bierce House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.