We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrose Bierce House

Save Saved
You added Ambrose Bierce House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambrose Bierce House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ambrose Bierce House B&B in St Helena has 4 large and well furnished beautiful rooms and I stayed there by myself visiting Napa Valley Wineries. I had a good stay and was treated very well. For sure recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The B&B was charming. The location is key. The breakfasts were delicious. Stay here if you want to walk to restaurants and are close to everything. The owners are very gracious and helpful. We stayed in the largest and only room downstairs. It was nice having a private entry, however the house is old and as such you can hear every sound from the upstairs room and plumbing. I would stay upstairs next time. The bathrooms were completely redone and were nice and clean. Location, location, location. I wish the beds were not so up high.

Room Tip: Upstairs the Ambrose Bierce Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Another unsatisfied customer. When we arrived for my wife's birthday, we thought it was a nice place. We went out for dinner and returned around 10 pm. After going to sleep, we were woken up at 2:30 am by the upstairs guests who were running up and down the stairs to get to the hot tub which is just outside our downstairs room. After finishing making noise in the hot tub they went up to their room and took a shower, which we could hear through the walls. Then all of our pipes started bubbling and making noise for the next hour. When we woke up in the morning, the toilet overflowed and urin and feces went onto the bathroom floor rolling over onto the floor mate by the sink. I told the caretaker, but he said he could not do anything about it but would call someone after breakfast to check on it. We were not able to take a shower or use the room anymore due to the smell. The care taker told us that the other downstairs bathroom pipes were clogged and that could not be used either. He said this has happened before and that it was something he could not fix. We paid between $250.00-$300.00 dollars for a smelly room that we could not enjoy.

Room Tip: Don't let the great location fool you. This place will put a damper on an otherwise nice city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Ambrose Bierce House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Jim did have a couple upstairs that was up late and took a shower late. The main line did back up and I am very sorry for that. Unfortunately I cannot control plumbing problems. Jim was told we were very sorry in the morning and we called a plumber who came out that morning and fixed it. HERE is the best part. I called Jim the next day and apologized and offered him a free nights stay any time he would like to make up for the problems he had. Since he is local he accepted. Then he wrote this review. JIm also told me that besides the plumbing problem and the late shower takers that our inn was great.
John Runnells
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our Napa mini-moon. We liked staying in town and being able to walk to the restaurants and shops in St. Helena. The breakfasts were pretty good, and the rooms and the property pretty much met expectations. But the main reason to stay here is the location in town. If you want a countryside feel, I'd look elsewhere. If you're an early riser, I recommend a leisurely stroll through the neighborhood to Napa Valley Coffee Roasters - it's only a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The young man helping the owner, who was absent, kept asking us if we had a Groupon. Ok, when we booked the room with the owner, we asked about deals but were never told to check if a Groupon was available---shame on him and us. We felt almost like second class citizens since we didn't have a Groupon.
The first room had a nasty smell so we asked to be moved. Also, the heat lamp in the bathroom didnt work but the young man said he wasn't authorized to fix it. So a cold shower for us.
The next room had recently been flooded and the carpet was wet. The young man said he had toweled up as much water as he could---thanks for that but maybe a shop vac or a professional water remover would have been a good investment. In this room the bathroom blinds wouldn't close so we had to put a towel over the window so no one could look in.
Finally, the food was less than average. The young man said he wasn't a chef and was just learning to cook. The promised french toast never appeared, just another day of waffles.
Great location in St. Helena and cute buidling. Don't be fooled by the outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Ambrose Bierce House, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
I am so sorry these guests were so unhappy. Let me clarify a little. The first room which is normally $229 and we gave them for $175 did not smell. Three different people checked. Even the gentelman guest said he could not smell anything but his wife hade a special nose. The heat lamp in the bathroom was changed the next morning. Their shower was not cold just the heating lamp had burned out. We moved them into our nicest room which is $309 a night for $175 again. There had been a flood two days before and the carpet was damp against the back wall under the bed about 2 feet out and under the end tables. Not even an area where they walk so it should not have been a problem. We did use a carpet cleaner to clean up the water but it was still damp. They pulled up the shade up in the shower the second day and could not get it down. I spoke to him that evening and told him I would come over right away and fix it and he told me not to worry that he just put a towel over it and not to come over. I came over the next day and fixed it.
We have owned this Inn for 17 years and have never had more difficult guests that would complain about very small problems. They were even difficult to serve breakfast to because they did not like most things we served.
Read our other reviews and you will see what we are really like.
Warmly
JOhn Runnells
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Ambrose Bierce House was the perfect location for what we wanted to do. We could walk into town for dinner at wonderful restaurants. It's nice to not get in your car and jump into the traffic that was pretty heavy at times during our stay in October. Walking was faster. The breakfasts were delicious and the innkeeper, John, was helpful and nice, not to mention a good cook! We would go back. Our room was comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: The Molly room at the back is quiet and has it's own little private patio and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This historical home right on Main street was perfect for a stay in the St Helena wine country. The original owner, Ambrose Bierce, was a civil war journalist and several of his articles are framed throughout the home.
Enjoy the late afternoon on the shaded sitting porch with complimentary wine, then take a leisurely stroll to any one of several nice restaurants. We took in a movie after dinner at a classic 50's theatre on Main street. Then retired home with a dessert Zinvadel waiting for us in our room.
Tough to beat this kind of relaxing pleasurable experience !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambrose Bierce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrose Bierce House

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambrose Bierce House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ambrose Bierce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Ambrose Bierce House St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrose Bierce House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.