We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in a great location in St Helena, CA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrose Bierce House

Save Saved
You added Ambrose Bierce House to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambrose Bierce House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in a great location in St Helena, CA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This historical home right on Main street was perfect for a stay in the St Helena wine country. The original owner, Ambrose Bierce, was a civil war journalist and several of his articles are framed throughout the home.
Enjoy the late afternoon on the shaded sitting porch with complimentary wine, then take a leisurely stroll to any one of several nice restaurants. We took in a movie after dinner at a classic 50's theatre on Main street. Then retired home with a dessert Zinvadel waiting for us in our room.
Tough to beat this kind of relaxing pleasurable experience !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently stayed at The Ambrose Bierce House for a couple of nights and enjoyed it very much. The location is outstanding as are the breakfast and John's suggestions on what winery's to visit and where to dine after he asked us a few relevant questions. Our room was very comfortable and it was a pleasure to walk to dinner in the quaint town. When we return we will certainly contact John and Lisa and perhaps stay at their other property.
Thank you for a wonderful experience, John and Gina

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We loved everything about the Ambrose Bierce House. Even before we arrived, Lisa was doing her thing, getting us reservations at some the best restaurants in the area. Later, during our stay, John gave us perfect advice on places to see, wines to taste. To top all that, the breakfasts were amazing, fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed the wine, cheese, and great conversation in the afternoon. We will return to Ambrose Bierce House many times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ambrose Bierce House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Phil and Theresa, It was a great getting to know you two. We had a great time. Thank you for staying with us and writing such a great review. It is guests like you that make our job so wonderful. We can't wait to see you next time you visit the Napa Valley
Warmly
john & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We wanted a quaint Napa Valley Inn to have our tiny wedding. The Ambrose Bierce House was exactly as we had hoped. Although John and Lisa had never housed a wedding before, both were excited about the idea and exceptional in helping us to plan, including providing contacts for a florist and a photographer and making all of the necessary arrangements so our special day was wonderful. We were married in the morning and Lisa made sure the inn was cleaned early that day so all of our pictures would be perfect. Our overall experience at Ambrose Bierce was outstanding. The “Mollie Day” room was quite spacious and romantic (especially the fireplace and the jacuzzi), the breakfasts were incredible, and the suggestions given during the eight months of planning were spot on. Thank you again John and Lisa for being so gracious, friendly, and helpful. You were a big part of our perfect wedding vacation. We will return!

Room Tip: The Mollie Day room has a private entrance, a large bath with jacuzzi, and it's own private pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Ambrose Bierce House, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. You were the perfect guests and a great couple. It was a pleasure helping you out with your wedding and spending time with you. We have been doing this for 28 years and are still having a great time Innkeeping because of guests like you.
Good luck and we can't wait to see you again.
John & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull,England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Ambrose Bierce House for 3 nights over Easter weekend as part of our California road trip. The accommodation is perfectly charming throughout and a real home from home. We found our Edward Muybridge room, although the smallest room, very comfortable and well appointed. The B&B location was just right for us, being a lovely stroll to restaurants in town and the Berringer vineyards where we spent a happy afternoon. We dined at Market one evening and would also recommend that highly - especially the champagne battered fish and chips! We were very appreciative of the courteous and attentive service from Chris. Loved the complimentary wine and cheese hour, hot tub and swing on the front porch. Breakfasts were sumptuous indeed and set us up for the day. Many thanks to Lisa for her kind hospitality (and the birthday waffle!). We would love to return one day and hope to do so.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great historical home of the famous writer. Read Bierce before you go; not sure why he would have ever fled from St. Helena to Mexico. John was a great host and Lisa was delightful over the phone. Both provided careful insight into our travel agenda. Lovely guests! Would return. ONE PROBLEM: We went there long enough. OH YEAH! John brews a great red.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room downstairs...KING BED, Jacuzzi in the room and outside entrance. Very nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at the Ambrose Bierce House, and absolutely loved our stay and will be coming back soon!! The house location is just a mere block from downtown St. Helena, and walking distance to great restaurants and stores.

We met John on our first morning, greeted with an Amazing Breakfast, meeting the other couples staying and had a great conversation over breakfast, everyone sharing there plans for the day and dining. John was so accommodating, helping those find wineries, shops, and helping with reservations.

The next two mornings we had two more gourmet style breakfasts, served by Chris, John & Lisa's right handman. Chris was great, breakfast was amazing and again he was so helpful in helping fill in the day and reservations for the evening.

The house was such a charming older home, with all that one would expect from a vintage home, feeling like had entered into a brand new home at the turn of the century. The rooms were impecably clean and everything was spotless. Each morning at 9am breakfast is ready, and each night there was wine and cheese. And after a day of wine tasting and great dinning, if you still need a night cap, they even had a bottle with Port and glasses for a late nighter.....

It was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, and after our stay with John and Lisa, we will be staying again with them soon. We highly recommend !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrose Bierce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrose Bierce House

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambrose Bierce House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ambrose Bierce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Ambrose Bierce House St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrose Bierce House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;