We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backyard tasting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arger-Martucci Vineyards - CLOSED

Arger-Martucci Vineyards
1455 Inglewood Avenue, St. Helena, CA 94574
(707) 963-4334
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Clayton, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Backyard tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We didn't go here with platypus tours like most others - it's a family owned vineyard, where Vince, the winemaker, sat down with us during the tasting at the table next to the pool. He was a pleasure to chat with and the wines were quite tasty. This is not your giant commercial winery, it's a relaxed place to sip wines while you eat your picnic. Loved it, so did my Canadian friend, we would return there in a heartbeat. Tasting fee waived if you purchase a couple bottles.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This place was recommended to us by our Napa tour guide. Atmosphere was great. Casual, laid back pool side tasting beside the families house. Complete with Cinnamon, the family dog, just in case you're missing a friend from back home. We generally liked all of the wines: yummy and affordable. Our favourites were the Illiad (such a unique flavor profile); the Odyssey, the Syrah, and the Cab Sauv... Our tasting guide, I think his name was Brendan, was knowledgeable and friendly. Would go back

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Recently went with some friends to this winery. Arger Martucci is a bit off the beaten path (well, actually, just a few blocks off the main drag in St Helena). Ambience is a bit understated. Somewhat feels like you are drinking wine in someone's back yard but that's just fine given how good their wines are. Their servers pour your wine while you sit by the pool enjoying fantastic views of the valley. As for the wine - everything we tasted was fantastic. Cabernets are solid but the true standout is their own blend called Odyssey. They were pouring the 2005 recently and at $50 a bottle it's a steal. This wine is comparable to wines twice the price in the area. I had never heard of Arger Martucci until our friends recommended it and I will definitely be back.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family affair makes for fantastic wine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I went to Arger-Martucci based on the recommendation of someone staying at our B+B who happened to work in the wine business. WOW are we gladed we listened to their rave reviews about this winery. If you are looking for grandiose views from a tram, large crowds and high tasting fees this is not the place for you. Vince and team provide a laid back education experience in what is the backyard of his home. The history of the owners is fascinating and we can't wait for the first shipment of wine club wine. You can just feel the love in every drop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Outside tasting and hospitality were the highlight of our trip!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arger-Martucci Vineyards also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arger-Martucci Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.