We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special touches on the tour and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pride Mountain Vineyards

Pride Mountain Vineyards
4026 Spring Mountain Road, St. Helena, CA 94574
707 963-4949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 87 Activities in St. Helena
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Special touches on the tour and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

On our visit, they were very short staffed and that made for an awkward arrival and a little more time standing around waiting for help, or to be able to mention we were there for a tasting. We thought we were the only people on a tour but they grabbed another couple who walked in to join us. It was awkward because the woman in the couple was buzzed. The views from Pride were great and if the weather is good on your visit this is where you should time your lunchtime picnic. the highlight was definitely the barrel tasting. It was a nice touch and a different experience than any other vineyard. When we were finished on the 15 min or so tour of the cave, we went back in the showroom and stood around. There was no real education happening. We did get up to the counter and ask about ordering. We couldn't order any wine because those in the taste are not out for another seven months. No pre-ordering, they just added us to their mailing list. Seemed odd to miss out on guaranteed orders.

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING vineyards and fabulous tours/tastings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The views from this vineyard were some of the most amazing we've seen! The staff was extremely friendly and informative. The cave tour is included with the tasting and is definitely worth the time. This is the only winery we've visited (or maybe exists) that is half in Sonoma County and half in Napa County. It is an appointment only vineyard but is definitely worth the dirve up the mountain and I'm sure we'll be back again!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great tour, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this winery. The tour started outside with a brief explanation of how the winery worked (really fascinating that half of it is in Sonoma and half in Napa, so they have to do double the work) and how long it had been around, etc. He explained the difference between mountain vineyards and the valley vineyards (the valley vineyards were badly affected by the rains this season which resulted in lots of moldy grapes) and some other interesting facts. Then we went into the manmade caves and tried a few different wines, including two different versions of the same year merlot (one was in an unoaked barrel and the other was in an oaked barrel); it was really interesting to experience the differences as a result of the oak. The wine was delicious although our favorite was the cabernet sauvignon. After the tour we drove up the hill a bit to the vineyard's private picnic grounds and ate a picnic lunch at a table while enjoying the great view of the valley from up high as well as a few acorn woodpeckers and mountain bluebirds.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wine Country Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Breathtaking views, very friendly staff, amazing selection of wines to taste and a more in-depth/personal tour made this our favorite winery in the napa region.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Tour and Tasting in Napa Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

For the price, the views, and the quality of wine, I could not recommend a winery more highly. Loved everything about it, even the lovely albeit curvey drive up the mountain! Make your reservations for a tour and tasting well in advance - it is worth it.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pride Mountain Vineyards also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Pride Mountain Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pride Mountain Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.