We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Respite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Wine Country Inn to your Saves list
The Wine Country Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1152 Lodi Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Midweek Stays
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Selkirk, NY
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was our second trip to the Napa Valley - the first one was 26 years ago. The area has changed a lot in that time. This was our first visit to this wonderful inn. Of the many inviting places to stay in Napa, this one is listed in Select Registry and well reviewed by Tripadvisor. That weighed heavily on our decision to stay here for 3 nights. We had a lovely room in the main house on the lower level with a private patio. The patio afforded us a view of the vineyard. The staff of this inn is knowledgeable and accommodating, there where you need them but not in your way. The free evening shuttle to restaurants within St. Helena is such an added amenity. We could go to dinner and enjoy a wonderful meal without being concerned with driving back safely. There are not enough words to describe how pleased we were with our stay - kudos to Tim, Janelle, Chris and the rest of this team that made our wine country return truly memorable,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
David, Sue--we're all so glad that you enjoyed your return trip to the Napa Valley. Yes, things HAVE changed a lot in the 26 years since your first visit, but we like to think that the core things have not changed here at the Inn (we celebrate our 40th birthday next year): our great vineyard setting; lovely clean rooms; and an accommodating (but not stuffy staff). (Note: One thing that has changed--Chris wasn't even born during your visit first...though I can't say the same for Janelle or myself!.) And yes, our guests love our complimentary evening car service that whisks you off to fantastic restaurants like Tra Vigne and Market (you hit two of our favorites) and then picks you up.

We hope it won't be another 26 years until we see you again.

Cheers!

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    82
    18
    14
    2
See reviews for
31
451
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff were attendant yet not in your way, rooms were beyond anything we expected. Nothing left out and lots of extras to make the stay wonderfully pleasant. They are close to everything in the valley and the Super shuttle van was on time to take us to dinner and come back to pick us up making it easy to enjoy the dinner and wine. The wine tsting and breakfast were both off the charts. My fiancé' and I will come back here every time we come to the valley to wine taste and relax. Im really picky about my bed, and this place has nicer more comfortable beds than my own, guess ill have to upgrade now at home ..Lastly, being forgetful, I left something in my room and they made the effort to get it to me immediately.. That's better service than 5 star :)..


Cant wait to come back..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi Arthur,

I'm so glad that you two of you enjoyed our stay. We work very hard behind the scenes so that our guests can have the most relaxing and fun time as possible.

And yes, folks love our beds! Please contact me directly at tim@winecountryinn.com if you'd like information on the manufacturer and/or the bed linens.

Cheers,

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent four days in Kate's Cottage at the Wine Country Inn. The Inn is a romantic hideaway located between Freemark Abbey and Duckhorn wineries in St Helena. The surroundings are impeccable (swimming pool, hot tub, outdoor dining, landscaped grounds) but the vineyard view from our patio was spectacular! We even just stayed in two evenings (one night ordered pizza to go with our wine, and the inn driver picked it up for us) just to enjoy the comfortable surroundings and the ambiance by the gas fireplace. When we did leave the property for dinner, the inn provided a designated driver to take you and pick you up after your meal. What service!!!

Check-in was very easy and the staff were all eager to please. The rooms were spotless and well furnished. From setting up dinner reservations, balloon information and reservations, everything was effortless. Carole assisted with all the pre-arrival reservations and even an upgrade from a suite to the cottage as we were celebrating. Breakfasts were a great beginning to our day. Luckily, our package included their all day wine tour, including an excellent lunch back at the inn. We were the only guests that day and received royal treatment as we visited five local, but very different style, wineries. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. If you choose to go on your own, the inn has arranged for complimentary tastings all around Napa. Even at the end of a busy day (4:30 to 6 pm), the inn arranges for a local wine merchant to pour their wines with inn made appetizers (no need for a full dinner if you indulge). Just enjoy. A wonderful romantic retreat in wine country.

Room Tip: Cottages are so inviting you will not want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Phil, Jackie,

Great to hear from you both. We're so glad that you had a fabulous time at The Wine Country Inn. Yes, many guests skip a go-out-to-a-restaurant dinner and instead lounge on our large private patios with those beautiful vineyard views. As we tell our guests at checkin, "it doesn't get much better in Wine Country than this!"

Marty and Chef Ryan both say hi. And again, happy anniversary.

Best,

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I picked the wine country inn to propose to my GF of 4 1/2 years as we had spent much of our time together taking trips out to Sonoma/napa while we lived in San Francisco. I picked Kate's Cottage which was amazing, great size, fireplace, huge bathroom and had it's own outdoor area looking onto the vineyards. Kelly helped me plan everything and was fantastic and perfect when arrived, she had setup rose petals, champagne etc I even had the ring delivered the day of and it was waiting in the cottage upon arrival. They even suggested restaurants for our stay. The happy hour wine and breakfast was also fantastic, not too much selection but enough to enjoy. There were only two downsides to the stay, we did a wine excursion and it wasn't as good as expected, seem to be taken to a lot of the wineries the driver knew as friends and nothing special, no tours or behind door experiences we were expecting, would suggest you book your own tour instead. The other was the noise of construction next door which couldn't be helped, building a house very close to the property. Overall it was a great experience and would suggest to anyone.

Room Tip: Cottage is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Congratulations on your engagement! We're so glad that the Wine Country Inn could play a role in such a special event. And yes, Kelly on our team is the Super Concierge--from dinner reservations to special wine tours to helping create special occasions, she's the one to go to!

I do understand your comments about our Wine Tour, and I will talk to our two drivers about that. They do like to take our guests to places where they know the tasting room folks, to ensure that our guests are treated very well (as opposed to potentially getting someone at the winery who we have never met, who might be stuffy or even rude). But perhaps that has gone a bit too far.

And yes, with neighbors building a house nearby, there has been some noise during mid-week days. The good news is that they have basically finished the house--yay.

Best,

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

First of all the rooms are beautiful! The staff members are very friendly and very helpful (e.g. making reservations for dinner etc....) Complimentary breakfast is always fantastic w/a large variety of fresh items to choose from. Complimentary wine & cheese in the late afternoon. We've stayed at the Inn 3xs and will continue to return every year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent 3 nights at The Wine Country Inn in May. The staff was fantastic - welcoming, very helpful and responsive to all our questions and requests. The breakfast buffet is well worth getting up for and the late afternoon wine tasting is a pleasant way to close the day and meet other guests. Our room was spacious and well-appointed including a fireplace and balcony with a nice view of the surrounding vineyards and countryside. The bed was comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. The bathroom was large but the lack of window coverings over the picture window gave us some concerns about privacy. The wine tour offered by the Inn is well-worth taking as we visited several out of the way boutique wineries with the driving left to Tracy. The evening shuttle to many area restaurants is a great benefit as you don't have to worry about finding parking and can enjoy a nice bottle of wine with your dinner. The Inn is well worth the value. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband wanted to take me to a Napa Valley retreat where we would be in the middle of a vineyard (check!); where the service was impeccabble (check); where the food was superior (double-check!!) and the feel was cozy and not "corporate" (check!)

Our stay at the Wine Country Inn was all of the above. On 2 of the nights, we never even went out for dinner because the "snacks" at the daily (wine) happy hour at the inn were so scrumptious and filling we just didn't need dinner. Each evening a different vintner shares some of their wines at the happy hour and the chef (onsite, fulltime, gourmet!!) seems to tailor his food to the wines.
The ambiance was quiet but social. We met new people (other guests) every day at breakfast who shared ideas of places to visit and wines to try during our stay.
I'm trying to think of anything I didn't like about the Inn and I just cannot think of a thing. (a little pricey but the quality is definitely there!!)

Room Tip: Queen #23 has a jaccuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi there,

We love to "wow" guests like we wowed you two! Yes, our vineyard setting sets us apart from most other properties in the Napa Valley. And we work hard as a team to provide great service to our guests without being stuffy or pretentious. And I love your description that the "feel was cozy and not 'corporate.'" That's us!

Hope to see you both again soon.

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Address: 1152 Lodi Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Country Inn sits atop a landscaped knoll overlooking and surrounded by the vineyards of the world-famous Napa Valley. Casual, comfortable luxury is the hallmark of this renowned hostelry, from its thoughtfully prepared food and eclectically designed guest rooms to its vibrantly planted strolling grounds where a new view awaits your every turn. Family built, owned and operated for over thirty-eight years this model of hospitality welcomes and pampers its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.