We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Country Inn treats you right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Wine Country Inn to your Saves list
The Wine Country Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1152 Lodi Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Midweek Stays
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Wine Country Inn treats you right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Recently spent two nights in a charming large room with a balcony overlooking vineyards. The room was clean and quaint , with a southwestern theme. It was in a building called the Brandy Barn. Good location on the property, near main house and pool/ hot tub. (also awesome). There were many nice touches that made guests feel pampered. A fridge in main lodge offered up all kinds of sodas and water, and the kitchen served up fabulous breakfasts and afternoon appetizers. Local wineries provided generous tastings and often nice discounts to guests. The free car service to and from some of the local St. Helena restaurants makes it possible for guests to enjoy wine at dinner without the worries of driving afterward. The drivers gave great restaurant appropriate tips and info too. All the staff were so friendly and accommodating. They are most deserving of their #1 tripadvisor status. Good work, Wine Country Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    83
    18
    14
    2
See reviews for
31
452
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. We took the "Inncursion", for an additional charge. We toured a couple of wineries after a wonderful breakfast. After a light gourmet lunch we toured several more wineries in the area. Our tour guide was Marty Paradise. He was entertaining, very knoweledgeable about the wineries and took us to unique wineries instead of the normal "tourist" wineries. We also enjoyed the "wine socials" held every afternoon in tbe "Main House". Visiting wineries would bring two wines to try each afternoon. Homemade appetizers, bread and vegetables from their own garden were served. Our room overlooked the vineyards and we had a private hot tub. There is also a nice pool at the Inn. If you are looking for a romantic place to stay with great ambience, this is the place. If you are looking for a regular hotel room with televisions, etc. you should stay elsewhere. We were with two other couples and they enjoyed their stay as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband & I were the first of our party of 6, to arrive at the Inn. Carol was a great help to us for the whole 3 nights we were there. Comfortable clean room with amazing views of the vineyards. We were in room 20 which had a very generous sized bathroom with jacuzzi, fireplace & lovely balcony. Bed was very comfortable.The breakfasts each morning were a feast with offerings such as a different egg casserole every morning along with homemade pastries, fruit, cereals & make your own waffles! We booked the Inn-cursion for our party of 6 with Marty as our guide. Marty was informative,friendly,entertaining ,knowledgeable about the area & wineries and a great cook! The tour includes a delicious lunch back at the Inn. I would HIGHLY recommend him as your guide! We also enjoyed the pool while we were there. In the afternoons, in the dining room, the Inn provided delicious snacks (dips, cheese, crackers,etc.) along with a local winery who provided some wines to taste (not that we needed more wine,but it was a nice touch) A nice time to meet up with other people staying at the Inn. It was such a laid back, relaxing stay, I can't wait to return! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Coming from the city, this was the perfect escape, right in the heart of beautiful Napa valley. We received a warm welcome right from the beginning and we knew that we had made the right choice. The property is gorgeous, with a great pool tucked in the vineyards and very accessible to the main part of town. The front desk staff was very helpful and informative, they gave us excellent dinner suggestions during our stay and made us feel right at home. Definitely planning a return trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Arrived early and Joyce took great care to give us a tour. Our room # 26 was 4 feet from the vineyard. The room was clean. We had an issue with the hot tub. It was resolved quickly. The breakfast each morning was truly spectaculor!!
We enjoyed the wine tasting and pool...both being pleasurable. The view from our room was remarkable and breathtaking. John took us into town and great guidance on where to eat and drink. We will be back!! I commend the Smiths on a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A wonderful initiation to California wine culture! This place really got our NoCal vacation started on the right foot. Staff was tremendous with their suggestions on food, walking , hiking, and they are proud of what they have. We were first timers to the area and were truly impressed with the variety of offerings. Booked through Snique Away and were able to stay in one of the cottages which was over the top relaxing and well appointed. Could have easily had the whole family but it was much nicer for two. Their car service in to town and around the area was a real bonus and it allowed us to sample a little more wine and not worry about the drive home.
Late afternoon happy hour featured local vintners who gently pushed samples of their latest issue. The grounds are nicely maintained with incredible flowers that of course overlook endless fields of grape vines. Swimming pool is another bonus.Can't wait to get back....

Room Tip: Cottages are tremendous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights celebrating our 25th anniversary. The Inn met and exceeded all I wanted for this special occasion for us! The staff is friendly, helpful and most of all genuine. Our room was beautiful with a spectacular view of the vineyard and mountains. The Inn also provides daily "taxi" service to the restaurants in St Helena - this is a priceless service, you never have to worry about enjoying yourself too much because they make sure you get back safely - also, Janell, the taxi queen, was a delight (and a local with a wealth of knowledge & humor). The Chef, Ryan, is the Egg Master (waffle master, bacon master....the list of his culinary breakfast delights is endless) we never had anything that wasn't unique and oh so tasty! The Inn also offers a "wine inn-cursion", a must do! Tracy took us to vineyards that only a local would know about which made this experience so fantastic. Tracy is another Wine Country Inn gem! I can't think of a thing that could have been better! We will definitely be return visitors! Counting the months down already.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Address: 1152 Lodi Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Country Inn sits atop a landscaped knoll overlooking and surrounded by the vineyards of the world-famous Napa Valley. Casual, comfortable luxury is the hallmark of this renowned hostelry, from its thoughtfully prepared food and eclectically designed guest rooms to its vibrantly planted strolling grounds where a new view awaits your every turn. Family built, owned and operated for over thirty-eight years this model of hospitality welcomes and pampers its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.