We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, comfortable & walkable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southbridge Napa Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southbridge Napa Valley to your Saves list
Southbridge Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574 (Formerly Inn at Southbridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Upscale, comfortable & walkable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Southbridge offers the rarest of amenities in the Napa Valley and that is the ability to walk to restaurants, shops, and even some wineries! Nestled between restaurants and wineries in the heart of St. Helena, it is easy to miss the property driving up valley. This is a tranquil oasis with only 21 rooms and outstanding service. The Napa Valley Health Spa is next door and is a great place for a workout, lounging at the pool or a treatment. Rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfy beds, soft linens and fluffy pillows. A fireplace wards off the chilly evenings and each room has a balcony. Breakfast offers choices of breads, pastries, yogurt and more. The Belgian chocolates left in my room made me feel welcome as did the turn down service with more chocolate treats. The best part is that I could walk to two wineries for tastings (complimentary for guests) and there were lots of restaurants in town, a short walk away. I loved staying here and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Room 6 has lots of windows and looks out over Merryvale Winery and is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
64
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This inn is just what you'd want to go along with a village that is so beautiful. Rooms are very comfortable beds that include very soft sheets. New large screen TV and no shortage of plugs for my iPad and cell phones charging. The Spa sits on the property and is first class from work out facilities to massages and facials. The inn is connected to a restaurant called Tra Vigne, which has a menu that is very special. Marcelle is manager and her and her staff are ready to help any time you walk by the front desk and lots of tips for wine tasting and sightseeing. Southbridge is located in the village so walking both sides of the streets visiting the stores is lots of fun. Don't miss the Model Bakery for lunch and my favorite men's store called Mario's that feature my favorite Alberto jeans, and visit Steve's Hardware no other town has one. So at the end of the day you'll be happy you experienced this hotel and visiting St Helena will take you back in time with up to date comfort.
J and J (Florida)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Southbridge and your visit to St. Helena. We value feedback from seasoned travelers like yourselves and are glad that you continue to return to Southbridge for your spring vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful with our bicycles but the rooms were okay but large and clean but a bit drab and in need of an upgrade and will remind you more of a Hilton or Marriot. The hotel is in what feels like an office park with cement all around you so this is not the place for you if you want a great view of the valley. Breakfast each morning was an assortment fruits, cereals and good pastries. The location can't be beat, but the price seems a bit steep for what it lacks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Kind guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We recognize there are certain areas of our property that will benefit from refreshing. This is why, in late January, we added brand new fine terry guest robes to all of our rooms along with brand new linens and bedding. We will continue to debut more refreshed soft goods this coming year. We believe our location in the heart of downtown St. Helena is a highlight of our property. It’s always wonderful to hear of guests traveling with bicycles. We’re happy to make arrangements to store bicycles and encourage guests to experience the beautiful town of St. Helena on two wheels! We would truly welcome the opportunity for you to experience some of our enlivened rooms the next time you have plans to visit the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location is great. The rooms are beautiful. But the service (or lack of) will keep me from staying here again. The weather was bad and the staff blamed the fire alarm going off on the wind. It happened 4 times in about a three hour period! Sleep was not to be had and when I asked for a discount the next morning they wouldn't consider it. I am very disappointed.....have not ever written a review before. But thought others should be warned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Would stay again. Was here on a one night business trip. Very comfortable and nice staff. Rooms are very large and the beds are comfy.
On the downside, the chair in the room was filthy. Stains on the coffee tray. too

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at Southbridge Napa Valley. Our stay was fabulous from entry to exit! When we were greeted at reception, it was with warmth, charm and efficiency. The desk clerk knew that we were running a race early on Saturday morning and offered to make whatever arrangements necessary to ensure we got our morning coffee and nourishment. The race had a late enough start time that that was not necessary, but the offer was so appreciated. Also, the breakfast at the hotel was not extensive, but was very good. Cereals, assorted locally-baked breads and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, juice and great coffee. The room was spacious and light. It was also well-appointed - great bath amenities, bath robes, fully stocked mini-frig, coffee with real half and half and half and snack bar. There was a nightly turn-down service complete with the most delicious chocolates! No need to get dessert when you go out to dinner, it will be on your pillow when you return. And the bed was so comfortable, the water pressure in the shower so good.
The hotel is a stone's throw from 3 wineries and several amazing restaurants. Additionally, hotel guests have access to the adjoining spa and fitness center. It is a top-notch facility with a heated lap pool, hot tub, steam room, and fully-equipped fitness facility.
My husband and I bought a fair amount of wine while in Napa, and the staff was wonderful in getting it shipped home for us with no fuss, no inconvenience. The staff was so helpful and so friendly, I would not hesitate to recommend Southbridge to others or to return at my earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Congratulations on a successful run and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Southbridge is a proud sponsor of the Napa Valley Marathon (NVM). We'll be offering the same NVM special offering: early breakfast, shuttle to the start and special turndown all included. Contact us today to reserve your spot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located right next to Tra Vigne Restaurant and Pizzeria. Pleasant Spa and great location in St. Helena. The room includes a fireplace. I would have hoped for more amenities in the room. Continental breakfast was good with pastries, cereals, coffee and juice. Just get the feeling that they could do a biut more to make the place even more special (nicer linens and towels, more items at breakfast, etc.) After all, most people who come to Napa are looking for great food, great wine, and a luxurious experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southbridge Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Napa Valley

Address: 1020 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574 (Formerly Inn at Southbridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbridge Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbridge Napa Valley is located on Main Street in the historic town of St. Helena in the heart of America's most famous wine growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Southbridge Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Southbridge Hotel St. Helena
Southbridge Inn
Southbridge Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southbridge Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.