We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Napa hotel with pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Harvest Inn to your Saves list
Harvest Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Napa hotel with pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

For people who may have misunderstanding on this property:
This property has great rooms which are equivalent or better than 5 star grade hotels. So please don't think this is just a "Inn".

The staff is friendly but rooms are all scattered around the yards, so It's little bit hard to find a palace I would like to go.
The breakfast is good for light eaters but if you'd like to find a great meal with hot soup or rice and some meats, you need to drive out to downtown of St. Helena to find suitable place.

My wife also stayed here with me, but there's only a long road and farms around this property and even it's winter season, she couldn't go out to feel the greens across the farms by walk.

I also proper to recommend here for:
A honeymoon or with family tour to feel the nature and who's familiar with wine & want to tour the Napa Valley, it would be a good choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Raccoooon,

Thank you for your gracious comments, you are right the Harvest Inn is much more than a simple "inn" The entire staff is working on making the Harvest Inn a complete resort. Look for our new Charlie Palmer signature restaurant in late 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    130
    43
    21
    14
See reviews for
44
381
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed one night at the Harvest Inn and I loved my experience. The hotel was tucked away from the main road and the grounds were impeccable. I felt like I was in a different country with the tudor style cottages. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I loved sitting outside on the verandah while sipping tea. The complimentary wine was an added bonus.

I slept very well. I was in room 114 and I didn't hear cars from the main road as other reviewers have said. I can't wait to come back and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Danigal525,

Thank you sincerely for your kind and honest comments.
It is always great to know we have created a tranquil retreat in the heart of the napa valley, I sincerely invite you to contact my office once you make your next reservation so I can meet you personally.

Kevin Dimond
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The grounds were beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. the staff was wonderful. Lisa the concierge was FANTASTIC! The Wine bar was a nice touch. We enjoyed the wine tasting and after dinner wine there. We enjoyed everything about the Harvest Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your simple but clear comments we are proud we could provide you with such a fantastic experience. We agree no guest should visit the Harvest Inn without working with Lisa to plan their agenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room wasn't anything special - we got the handicapped room, so maybe it was different than the others. The complimentary breakfast was awesome. The pool was amazing - open 24 HOURS and it was HOT (and you could bring your wine in with you). It was cute - Disneylandish. Overpriced for what it was, but the staff was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear srahsrahh,

Thank you so much for your polite but honest comments, we always want to make sure we get the guest in the room of their desire and preference.

Looking forward to your return vist when we can turn your 4 Stars to 5.

Kevin Dimond,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A beautifully-prepared breakfast waited for us every morning of our stay: eggs, sausages, pastries, fresh-made orange juice, coffee and tea. A nicely-appointed workout room was close by. Our room came with a fireplace. We made a fire and watched the rain, then sat in the hot-tub. Yes, a rough life, to be sure; and that was before the afternoon wine-tasting. We were free to roam all the wonderful new restaurants in St. Helena that we had not gotten to over the last five years. There was a slight bit of road noise from 29 at night, but it was no deal-breaker. This property has a rustic personality, unlike the sterile Yountville spas that have popped up over the past five years. Saw a rabbit run through the vineyard. Marveled at the grove of redwoods that the hotel is built into.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the reception desk face the vineyards and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Honolulu Historian,

Wow, thank you for the beautiful description of your stay. It is exactly what every guest that travels to the Napa Valley should experience, in any season. Thanks for the 5 Stars.

Kevin Dimond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Wonderful property in St. Helena. Ease of access to great restaurants and north and south parts of Rt 29. You can take a walk through the vineyards in the back, enjoy a wonderful breakfast to start the day and then cap it off with a nice wine tasting in the lobby lounge. They were extremely helpful at the front desk on restaurant suggestions and advice on some off the path wineries. the challenge might be if they are busy (and they were not when we stayed in June), car parking close to your room might be a bit of challenge. Other than that really enjoyed the stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jedda,

Thank you for your belated comments, but we appreciate you capturing the spirit of your stay, I can only promise you that we have made improvements since last June, we would love for you to return for even more "Peace and Quiet".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at this property for a couple of days for a business activity. It's pretty, but it has some challenges. There is no ramp up to the reception building, so you have to haul your luggage up some steep steps or, if you're lucky and someone tells you, go around the back where you will find a ramp. Good luck if you're on a wheelchair, for example. The staff is friendly and professional but speed of checkin is random -- one employee was very fast, the other was deathly slow, and instead of giving the dozen or so people from the same company a group orientation, they were wasting time explaining the location of pools, spas and breakfast one by one. The rooms are rustic and not friendly for business travelers -- there was no desk to put my computer and get some work done. The breakfast is good but the staff struggles to keep food coming out of the kitchen -- I waited at least 5 minutes for a refill on eggs, and I was late for a meeting because of that. If you come here on a honeymoon or with family and want to tour the Napa Valley, it would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Have them assign you a room close to the reception building or you'll be walking all over the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Juan,

Thank you so much for your poignant and honest comments it is through this type of feedback that we improve and get better. we have made adjust t the room you stayed in to be more business friendly including a work area. It was one of the few on property that did not have a full desk configuration. While we pride ourselves on being a retreat from the hustle of everyday life we appreciate we also need to serve the needs of business guests as well.

Kevin Dimond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn

Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond rated Harvest Inn is a luxury Napa Valley retreat located in St. Helena, near premium wineries and extraordinary dining. Country estate-style accommodations are spread over eight acres of gorgeously landscaped gardens, making the Inn an ideal setting for a well-deserved and relaxing vacation getaway or intimate honeymoon. The Inn's beautiful event space, lawns and courtyards are an inspiring setting for high level meetings and conferences, family reunions, romantic weddings and other social events. With stunning vineyard views and the Mayacamas Mountains just beyond, guests long to linger in the property's warm, inviting atmosphere and spacious guest rooms with hand-crafted fireplaces, intricate woodwork and country estate ambience.The Harvest Inn typifies an authentic Napa Valley wine country region experience, providing a peacefully secluded atmosphere only minutes away from the best Napa Valley wineries, restaurants, and other attractions. Charming brick and wood lodgings including 74 spacious guest rooms, suites and cottages are located in four separate neighborhood environments (Rose, Vineyard, Fountain, and Manor House). Most have wood burning fireplaces. Each guestroom and suite has its own distinct personality with vistas of Whitehall Lane Winery's Leonardini vineyard, the Mayacamas Mountains, or the Harvest Inn's famous landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Harvest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.