We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harvest Inn to your Saves list
Harvest Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Goiania, GO
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Romantic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

With different rooms some with fireplaces,this is a very nice property and my room was very confortable for 1 night stay.It is approprite to know many wineries nearby. Breakfast with lots of items in a nice place looking some wineyards .Lobby area confortable and with a happy hour .I think it would be nice to stay more than 1 night. Dont miss press restaurant nearby

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Alexrassi,

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us recently. We are pleased to hear that although you were only here for one night you were able to enjoy not only the property but the closeness of so many wonderful wineries and restaurants and our happy hour.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, and are happy to assist in setting you up with another reservation at Press!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    125
    41
    21
    13
See reviews for
43
365
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from our fabulous 35th anniversary visit to the beautiful Harvest Inn in St. Helena. From check-in to room to breakfast to grounds, all was perfection, especially the service. Thanks, Dunia!
The location was ideal for touring the many Napa vineyards. The front desk was helpful with making recommendations for dinner reservations. The gracious rooms are in small buildings scattered over the beautifully landscaped eight-acre property. The architectural style is somewhat English Tudor. The breakfast was delicious and bountiful, including fresh fruit, cold and hot cereal, muffins and croissants, quiche, coffee, tea and various juices, all served in a lovely building separate from the rooms. Umbrellas are provided in the rooms for the occasional shower. A half bottle of Cabernet Sauvingon from a local winery was awaiting us in our room upon arrival. We couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay here and look forward to many returns (perhaps EACH anniversary!).

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the property face a vineyard, not the street. There is road construction n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear SelectiveSusan,

It is so fabulous to hear that you enjoyed such a wonderful anniversary with us at Harvest inn! Happy Anniversary and congratulations to you!

We will be sure to pass along all of your kind words to not only Dunia, but to the rest of the front desk regarding their assistance in recommending wineries and dining. They will be thankful to hear it.

We wish you the best, and we do hope to have you back again (maybe for the next anniversary!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for a conference at the Culinary Institute of America up the street. The rooms are large with a spacious bathroom and most include a fireplace. The room is well appointed and includes daily complimentary bottled water , bath salts, and WiFi. The grounds are lovely BUT the Inn is directly next to Rt 29, so the traffic noise detracts from the garden/vineyard experience. Also, the walls are thin so you hear your neighbors bathe and clunk their suitcases down the stairs.
Breakfast is also included and is quite substantial and very good.

Room Tip: Try to avoid being in the "Fountain" section of the resort. This section directly abuts t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear AgP23

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Harvest Inn. It is always appreciated.

We are sorry to hear that your room and setting were not the peaceful tranquility we typically hear about. Next time you reserve with us, we would love to discuss perhaps another type or location of room so that you will have the utmost quiet.
Beyond that, we love that you were so close to CIA to make it convenient for your conference, and that when you returned each day you had all of the amenities you needed.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our birthdays & enjoyed every minute! The grounds are absolutely stunning! We had the perfect suite..a vineyard view with hot tub, beautiful fireplace & well stocked refrigerator with complimentary beverages. The staff is very attentive! The complimentary breakfast located in the darling country kirchen was delicious! I highly recommend the Harvest Inn & Can't wait to go back!!!

Rayan Austin

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Raybubble1,

What an absolute honor it is for us to have you stay with us for your birthdays! We are so happy that you were given the perfect room with views, fireplace and a hot tub!

Our staff will love hearing that they attended to your every need. We are truly blessed to have such a caring team, so thank you for your kind words to them.

We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for another special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Even though this hotel is on the main road, we never heard traffic noise. We had a king vineyard room. It had a lovely patio over looking the vineyard. A beautiful stone fireplace. There was a bottle if wine in the room for us when we arrived. The breakfast (included) was fresh and delicious

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear winebarb,

Thank you for staying with us for your romantic getaway. It was our pleasure to take care of you during your trip.

It is wonderful to hear that our convenient location still also granted seclusion and privacy, and that you were able to enjoy the peaceful vineyards from your patio.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harvest Inn soon, where a bottle of wine and breakfast will welcome you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Harvest Inn in June 2012 for my husband's 40th birthday. First I'll say that the breakfast is very plentiful and very tasty. So a big thumbs up on that. It is nice that they offer an appetizer and wine sampling in the afternoon, even if the wine is not very high quality and gave me a headache with only one glass. However, it goes downhill from there.

I realize that most places in Napa tend to be more on the pricier side and fully expected for it not to be as nice as the price indicated it should be. I did not expect for the room to be as dated and worn out looking as it was. While the room was a nice size, EVERYTHING in the room looked like it had been picked up from Walmart quite a few years ago. It wasn't "shabby chic" it was just shabby. The "view" of the vineyards could only be seen by sitting in a closed in little porch area. The bed, was the absolute most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The mattress was so incredibly soft that it offered no support. I don't mean it was of the soft and cozy nature but of the "does this thing have any support at all" nature. When I mentioned this to the staff they apologized and asked me if I wanted to move to a more expensive room. They said that it's a new mattress but I seriously question the honesty of that statement.

Overall it's not a horrible place but it certainly isn't worth the money. I saw many smaller, quaint bed and breakfasts around town that I would try out before selecting this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in mid-February. Our room was large, and it had a nice, large fireplace, so it was cozy. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with something for everyone, a nice view of a vineyard, and friendly staff. The complementary wine tasting in the evenings was a pleasant surprise. The grounds are lovely. The only thing to note is that there are no restaurants within about a mile walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestGM, General Manager at Harvest Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear LorsHeil,

We are so happy to hear of your cozy stay in February. The fireplace must have been wonderful on those cool nights!

It’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy so many of the hotels offerings, such as the breakfast, the complimentary wine tasting, and the vineyard views behind our property. Next time you could even pop into the lobby for a private garden tour with our chief landscaper.

Our staff looks forward to taking the best care of you again on your next visit to the Harvest Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn

Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond rated Harvest Inn is a luxury Napa Valley retreat located in St. Helena, near premium wineries and extraordinary dining. Country estate-style accommodations are spread over eight acres of gorgeously landscaped gardens, making the Inn an ideal setting for a well-deserved and relaxing vacation getaway or intimate honeymoon. The Inn's beautiful event space, lawns and courtyards are an inspiring setting for high level meetings and conferences, family reunions, romantic weddings and other social events. With stunning vineyard views and the Mayacamas Mountains just beyond, guests long to linger in the property's warm, inviting atmosphere and spacious guest rooms with hand-crafted fireplaces, intricate woodwork and country estate ambience.The Harvest Inn typifies an authentic Napa Valley wine country region experience, providing a peacefully secluded atmosphere only minutes away from the best Napa Valley wineries, restaurants, and other attractions. Charming brick and wood lodgings including 74 spacious guest rooms, suites and cottages are located in four separate neighborhood environments (Rose, Vineyard, Fountain, and Manor House). Most have wood burning fireplaces. Each guestroom and suite has its own distinct personality with vistas of Whitehall Lane Winery's Leonardini vineyard, the Mayacamas Mountains, or the Harvest Inn's famous landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harvest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.