We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate chip cookies ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freeport Bakery

Freeport Bakery
2966 Freeport Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95818-3855
916-442-4256
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 64 Bakeries in Sacramento
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast
Sacramento
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best chocolate chip cookies ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was traveling in Wisconsin and stopped off at a bakery that ruined chocolate chip cookies for me, because they were so good, even day old. Every cc cookie I had afterward paled in comparison. Three years later, someone recommended Freeport Bakery as a must for bakery and pastries. I stopped there while in the area and bought some cake pops for the kids, and on a whim, a couple chocolate chip cookies. I was blown away. How was it that I never knew about this place when I actually worked in Sacramento for eight years? (Actually, it's probably a good thing I didn't. Now, it's an hour's drive to get there, which makes the anticipation that much sweeter, and resisting temptation that much easier!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    25
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best place for anyones sweet tooth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Freeport bakery is one of the cutest bakerys i have ever been to! For my fathers 66th birthday i went there to get him a pie due to the fact that if my father could have his way he would of gotten the chocolate cake but since he is a diabetic we settled for pie. Ill have you know that there berry pie is one of the greatest pies my father has ever had! I myself i am not a pie person but Freeport bakery now has me hooked! I really recommend this place to anyone with a sweet tooth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Oh, the scones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I usually try to stay away from bakeries, but can't resist this place for special treats. My favorite breakfast treat is a scone with coffee so take home enough to have for a couple of days. My husband is the one with the sweet tooth so he likes everything that Freeport makes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“for all chocoholics!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

enjoyed a flourless choc. cake. talk about rich. don't forget to pour a large glass of ice cold milk!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality and Creative Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The pastries, cookies and breads are great, but I mostly buy cakes for both family and business. No matter the size of the cake--and most can be ordered as full sheets--the presentation and quality of the ingredients are evident. I prefer the cakes frosted with whipped cream or ganashe; buttercream is too heavy for me. Samples: Boston Cream Torte, Chocolate Charlotte (mousse on chocolate cake), Fruit Basket (buttermilk cake filled with strawberries and bananas wrapped in whipped cream), Fleur-de-lis (alternating buttermilk and fudge cake, raspberry preserves, buttercream), Shadow Fresca (fudge cake with strawberries and whipped cream filling and frosting), Seville Marnier (orange poppyseed cake, infused with Grand Marnier, layered with chocolate whipped cream, frosted with chocolate ganashe), and a new one of late that is chocolate cake, chocolate ganashe, and light salt on top. Enjoy!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeport Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Freeport Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeport Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.