We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks all around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sacramento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sacramento to your Saves list
The Westin Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Riverside Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95822 (Formerly Le Rivage Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Helena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top marks all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited the Westin Sacramento for a short spring break getaway with our two boys, ages 8 and 4. The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, clean and well appointed and the staff are friendly, professional and seem to always be right there to help without ever being intrusive. We were really pleased with our room; it was spacious and beautifully furnished. Our boys loved the old fashioned tub and the heavenly beds lived up to their billing. Our balcony overlooked the river and we were able to take in all the action on the dock; despite the activity, the room was very quiet and peaceful.

The pool and spa get top marks; we especially enjoyed the ease of ordering room service and having a leisurely meal at one of the pool's umbrella tables. The restaurant, Scott's, was busy with guests and locals; a sure sign of great food and service. The kids menu offered several taste and healthy selections and we enjoyed the fresh seafood selections.

The bike and walk trail that runs between the hotel and the river and dock was a great outlet with kids. I am glad we brought along the boy's scooters. We also enjoyed the bocce courts and fire pits (perfect for evening s'mores).

We've definitely found our home away from home in Sacramento!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
22
28
3
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Westin was very comfortable. My room had a balcony with a view of the river. It is a bit out of the way (from the main drags in Sacramento), but this makes it pretty quiet. The bedding, mattress, and pillows were very comfortable. The staff were friendly, and room service was standard Westin fare- good but not great, healthy, and satisfying. The decor is not very modern or trendy, but is not dated.

I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very nice and has nice facilities (gym, bocce, firepits, hot tub, pool, restaurant, bar). It is under construction right now though and the location is very far from many places in Sacramento.

I did love the claw-footed tubs in each room!

Room Tip: Get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed 2 nights and found an unexpected treasure. The pool and removed location offered a great getaway for us (2 parents, 1 six year old + grandparents). Scott's restaurant offered better than average food selection and results, we ended up eating both dinners there after full days of exploring sights. the Platinum SPG service at arrival was poor, but improved during the stay and with other staff.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is under construction so there is some limitation on updgrades and room types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear debbie h,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you and your family enjoyed your getaway with us. We hope to welcome you back when you return to Sacramento.

Best Regards,

The Westin Sacramento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a frequent traveler and have a Platinum status with Starwood Properties (SPG). I have stayed at some of the top SPG luxury collection properties in the US (Equinox in Vermont, Ballentyne in NC, St Regis in DC, etc) and this Westin property had service from all areas that was as good or better then all of those properties.

The staff at the front desk, bellman, restaurant, security, everyone went above and beyond to make my family stay better and constantly surprised us with superior service. Kristina at the front desk and Jacorey were particularly helpful on multiple occasions.

I never thought a Westin in Sacramento could be a destination resort but this one definitely is and we will be returning often.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jde22272,

Wow! Thank you! We appreciate you recognizing Jacorey and Kristina for their service; We are very fortunate to have them on our team. We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

The Westin Sacramento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Westin is a little out of the way, while its river location is pretty on one side of the hotel if you are on the other side your view is of a highway and there is a lot of road noise at night. Also the parking lot is a weird long walk from the hotel, they do have a golf cart to pick you up but only if you can catch it at the right time. Overall a good hotel, but I always expect a little more when I pay for a Westin experience.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Spacebry,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Sacramento. At Westin, we are committed to providing exceptional service and ensuring that our guests enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay. For guests that would prefer a room facing the Sacramento River, we suggest one of our Deluxe Rooms, which are available with either one king bed or two double beds. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Sacramento.

Best Regards,

The Westin Sacramento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are staunch Westin fans and Starwood Preferred Guest members and have never met a Westin property we didn't like! We have stayed here and arranged for my in-laws to stay here during a holiday visit. We loved the views and the customer service. The gentleman who handled the check in was fabulous. I wish we could remember his name in fact so we could commend him to his supervisor! Nice rooms, lovely beds and an absolutely breathtaking river location. We always enjoy our Westin stays and were happy to get our in-laws in as well. I highly recommend Westin properties. They are all unique with their own personalities and well worth exploring in any location!

This particular location has a Scott's Seafood restaurant and bar on the premises with gorgeous outdoor patio seating alongside the river too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river offer the most scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear CheersSacramento,

Thank you so much for your review. It's great to see that you and your in-laws enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

The Westin Sacramento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sacramento

Address: 4800 Riverside Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95822 (Formerly Le Rivage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of California’s capital, The Westin Sacramento is a peaceful getaway on the banks of the Sacramento River. Downtown—home to the state capitol and the convention center—and Old Sacramento are just a few minutes away.Treat yourself to a decadent session in our full-service, award-winning spa. Relax by the pool or the river while sipping a glass of wine from a local vineyard. Host a memorable gathering in our 9,000 square feet of meeting and event space.Our 101 luxurious guest rooms and suites ensure a re-energizing stay. The Westin Heavenly Bed® comprises layers of comfort for an uninterrupted night’s rest, while the bathroom offers a deep-soaking claw-foot tub and White Tea by Westin™ amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rivage Sacramento
Hotel Le Rivage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.