We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.

Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St. to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   711 16th St., Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Reno, Nevada, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A cheap room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Jeez, people. It's a fifty dollar hotel room, not the Ritz!

We grabbed a bunch of rooms here after driving in from Reno for a monthly dance night in Sacramento because they were cheap and in a great location for walking around Midtown.

One of our companions brought a "CSI Light" and gave the rooms a once-over. No bodily fluids were found.
The rooms were shabby, but clean.
They did smell a little old & musty, but the windows opened and you could get a nice breeze going that freshened up the room in about three minutes.
The wifi was pretty sporadically sucky.
Shower was hot and had good water pressure.
Staff was very nice, but only talked to them at check-in/check-out.
Did not have the breakfast, but my friends said it was the ever present Coffee & Cheese Horns™ that you find at cheap hotels nationwide.

Honestly, if you just need a clean bed to crash for a night after clubbing and a shower in the morning, you can't go wrong with this cheapie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
2
10
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redding
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chose this hotel because of location on the map to our Dr. appointment. There are other hotels close (across the street) but the Tripadvisor reviews were better for this one. I can't imagine how that could be! Our first clue should have been the bars on the windows downstairs. The chemical cleaner smell about knocks you over when you open the door. We had to air the place out before we could relax. Thank goodness we were on the 3rd floor and didn't have to worry about the "loitering locals" walking in. The carpet could have been cleaner, better dusting would have been nice. The bathroom was just plain dirty, with old paint and dirt on the toilet paper holder along with everything else. There is a small tub/shower that would have been ok if they had had one of those curved curtain hangers. Didn't appreciate having the curtain stick to me when I turned around! The bed and pillows were comfortable except that the shallow fitted sheet kept coming off the mattress corners all night. Spent most of the night worried about our vehicle since there was no fence and people used the parking lot as access from some apartments in back, to the street. The TV and the WiFi worked sporatically. We even asked for new batteries thinking it was the remote. The complimentary breakfast was ridiculous, only coffee, juice & rolls! Then there is only 2 chairs in the lobby (facing the managers desk) with NO table to put your stuff on.
I do have to say that the managers were very nice, helpful about the area, and pleasant to talk to. We will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. What a mistake!
This place was GROSS. We are used to staying in other EconoLodges, but this one was far worse than any we'd ever stayed in, and more expensive. First, the building is very old and not at all updated or maintained. The ONLY plus I could find was that there was an elevator since we were on the 3rd floor. The room was far from clean...there was hair everywhere in the bathroom. The smell - we could barely stand it. It was like death and mold. The sheets were old and stained and there was no fitted sheet, just a flat sheet, another flat sheet, a very dirty blanket and a very dirty comforter. The old refrigerator was SO loud it kept us up that night, and we found the microwave..... in the bathroom. There were 3 deadbolts on our door - probably because of the sketchy location. The TV had no reception and the front desk didn't seem to care. All of the fixtures (lights, faucets, etc.) appeared original from perhaps the 60's ? It was also very noisy. This room looked like something out of a horror movie. We got in and out as fast as we could. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay overnight near downtown and I'm so glad I picked here! The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was average, nothing fancy but clean and it was only a 15-20 minute walk to downtown and less than a $10 taxi fare back. Will definitely stay here next time I come to visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights! Location was fantastic for where i needed to be, but the room was dirty, bathroom was disgusting, leaking tapes.
Some very strange and odd people hang around the place at night.
Had people knocking on our door at all hours of the night and day.
and to top it off we were both bitten by bed bugs.
Will definitely never stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

If your looking for somewhere on a budget and just out of the city this place is for you. Not to far of a walk everywhere or even a drivd you don't like to walk, we stayed for two night the first night was a friday night and was perfect night for dinner at chops and drinks at the torch club, however the rooms are a bit thin lined and we could hear another couple having a domestic the Saturday was a lot more pleasant going to downtown scaremento and having a good nights sleep

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilagarcia de Arousa, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Location is really good and safe, staff is friendly and nice, the hotel is spotless clean, rooms are big and you have all you need. You can see they take care of the place.
I will go back there, no doubt, if I come back to Sacramento. Breakfast is not big deal but you can't ask for more for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.

Address: 711 16th St., Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St. 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 4 blocks from the Sacramento Convention Center and less than 1 mile from historic Old Town Sacramento. This Sacramento hotel is close to area attractions including the California Exposition and State Fairgrounds, California State University, the California State Capitol, the Sacramento Zoo and the Governor's Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St. Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Econo Lodge
Econolodge Sacramento 16th St

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.