We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Sacramento Marathon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
calgary,alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel for Sacramento Marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, as I was running the Sacramento Marathon. The hotel location is about a 6 min transit bus ride to the downtown core (the bus stop is right in front of the hotel). The hotel is right beside McDonald's (very convenient). The hotel is very clean, and has been renovated. The beds were comfortable. The hotel was quiet, eventhough there is a busy road. The continental breakfast had good variety, and food was fresh. The BEST part of staying here was the staff! They were friendly, informative, and helpful. They allowed a late check out due to the timing of finishing the marathon, and time to get back to the hotel. This hotel also provides a free shuttle to the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    112
    45
    8
    7
See reviews for
64
65
27
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for only a night but even that was too long to handle! Lets start with the good points

The staff was great (Which is why the 2 stars). They were jovial, and very welcoming.
The breakfast was good. Good variety and food quality was good.

Now the things that matter - The hotel looked very good from outside and the lobby was nice but as soon as I entered the room, we could see it needed cleaning - lots of it. The carpet was filthy and the bed very uncomfortable. The bathroom was pathetic, tiny with a barely there kind of shower.With two kids under 5, we could have definitely used the bathtub. We realized that since we got a very good deal through Priceline, we were given the least desirable room in the hotel, the one with McDonald drive through right outside our window, no bathtub and filthiest possible carpets.

Will I recommend it to others - Only if they want to save money at any cost

Will I go back there - NEVER

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors, Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel. We truly pride ourselves on the quality of our service and dedicated staff who consistently go above and beyond to deliver the best experience to our guests.

We have just completed a major renovation to our hotel where we did a complete makeover to each of our guest rooms, lobby and added a brand new breakfast room. We hope you come and see our remarkable transformation to our guest rooms and common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

This hotel came with a very good rate on hotwire. I just needed an overniter. The hotel is undergoing renos so the look may improve. It was clean the room was big. The soaps and shampoo were basic,but that's ok I didn't really want to pay for more. The girl at the front desk was very sharp and pleasant

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ak
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We got this 3 star hotel through an online service based on price and were pleasantly surprised.

It had some nice beds, cool, clean rooms, internet, and a fairly good continental breakfast.

The staff was helpful and courteous.

The pool was small, but I was the only one there both times I visited, and the exercise room has some up to date cardio machines (2 stair master machines and 2 exercise bikes). Again, I was the only one there at the time.

The hotel is undergoing renovations, probably why we got it for a 1 or 2 star price through an online network.

The only drawback was no tub (just a shower) and our little kids like baths, so we had some crying and screaming there.

There is a McDonalds next door (like 10 feet) but they have some nice, high vegetative walls separating the pace it works well.

The whole place is well lighted and equipped with surviellance cameras, and you may see some of Sacto's homeless here and there on nearby streets, we felt safe and sound (I think the police department being right next store also helps).

So while you sometimes wonder about hotels that are not parts of big chains, this one does indeed earn its stars in our opinion. The place also seems to be constantly improving based on the management's efforts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

This hotel has comfortable, big rooms for a family of four. Light breakfast provided and a great pool for those hot Sacramento days. It is not centrally located within Sacramento itself so a car is a must for getting around, although it is well priced compared to the main chain hotels in Sacramento .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

This was the second time I had stayed at the Governors Inn. It is my favorite place to stay in Sacramento. On both trips I have met my best friend there and have we have stayed four to six nights. While it is in an industrial neighborhood, it is only a mile north of Old Sacramento and has close and easy access to I-5, which we jump on and off of to get there. The Governors Inn is a GREAT value for the price, much cheaper than a lot of places downtown. We have always been able to park the car below our room where we can keep an eye on it and close to an entrance, for ease in loading and unloading.and have never had any problem with the neighborhood. The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable, The Inn has air conditioning, which is absolutely necesary in Sacramento in the summer. It also has WiFi. Both the front desk staff and the woman who serves the continental breakast are outstandingly friendly and helpful! The continental breakfast is served in a spacious and nicely decorated area. What is served varies to some extent, but on our trips, they have had hard boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese, fruit, an assortment of pastries and muffins, juices, instant oatmeal, toast, cold cereal, etc. I am planning a trip to Sacramento this summer and will definitely be staying at the Governors Inn again!j

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was my first stay at this hotel. I booked the hotel online without any problems. The staff was extraordinarly helpful, friendly and accomodating. They had a nice continental breakfast and the hotel was within walking distance to the Sacramento River. The airport shuttle service was fast and easy. I would definintly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.