We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

This was the second time I had stayed at the Governors Inn. It is my favorite place to stay in Sacramento. On both trips I have met my best friend there and have we have stayed four to six nights. While it is in an industrial neighborhood, it is only a mile north of Old Sacramento and has close and easy access to I-5, which we jump on and off of to get there. The Governors Inn is a GREAT value for the price, much cheaper than a lot of places downtown. We have always been able to park the car below our room where we can keep an eye on it and close to an entrance, for ease in loading and unloading.and have never had any problem with the neighborhood. The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable, The Inn has air conditioning, which is absolutely necesary in Sacramento in the summer. It also has WiFi. Both the front desk staff and the woman who serves the continental breakast are outstandingly friendly and helpful! The continental breakfast is served in a spacious and nicely decorated area. What is served varies to some extent, but on our trips, they have had hard boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese, fruit, an assortment of pastries and muffins, juices, instant oatmeal, toast, cold cereal, etc. I am planning a trip to Sacramento this summer and will definitely be staying at the Governors Inn again!j

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    111
    44
    8
    6
See reviews for
63
63
27
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was my first stay at this hotel. I booked the hotel online without any problems. The staff was extraordinarly helpful, friendly and accomodating. They had a nice continental breakfast and the hotel was within walking distance to the Sacramento River. The airport shuttle service was fast and easy. I would definintly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were pleasantly pleased with the Hotel. Great value for the price. We only stayed one night, but it was a positive experience. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. If visiting Sacramento would not hesitate to stay there again. The parking lot was well lit, so you could see your car from your room to keep an eye on it.. The breakfast was pretty standard. A restaurant a short distance across the street, was good, and very friendly also.

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Disliked — brerakfast average but ok
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Travelling with family. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. There was plenty of variety at breakfast to make each of us happy and full. Staff was very friendly and helpful, recommending an excellent restaurant.

We were so satisfied that we have already stayed there again and will continue to do so everytime we need a hotel in Sacramento.

  • Liked — Large, clean, comfortable & quiet room
  • Disliked — My wife didn't like driving by the local hobos at the nearby McDonalds... they didn't bother anyone.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Accomodations were average. Upon check-in the hotel did not have my online reservation on file. Fortunately, I had my copy of the reservation along with my confirmation number.

The swimming pool and spa were nice and well maintained. The continental breakfast was a bit lacking. The location was close to the airport, but far enough away to not be bothered by jet noise.

  • Liked — Room accomodations
  • Disliked — continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed at the Governors Inn for four nights during the Sacramento Jazz Festival (over Memorial Day weekend) and were quite pleased. The room was very clean, roomy, and well appointed. The continental breakfast was good with a decent variety (various breads/muffins/bagels, yogurt, etc. -- though we would have preferred more fresh fruit.) The staff were always quite friendly & helpful, even during this busy weekend when many festival-goers, including youth bands, were staying at the hotel. The shuttle to Old Sacramento for the festival was prompt and frequent. We liked the hotel's location, close to Old Town, the freeway, and Discovery Park (with great running/biking paths). In response to some of the other reviews about the location -- We did see some homeless folks here & there in the vicinity but they weren't threatening or a problem in any way. One recommendation we'd make would be for the hotel - or some other business in the area - to offer bike rentals....we would have loved to bike at Discovery Park if we'd had wheels!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I travel to Sacramento about once a year for business and I usually stay at the Governor's Inn. It is a clean, decent and reasonably priced place to stay. The homeless people generally congregate at McDonald's next door and don't bother you. I have walked to the nearby restaurants for dinner with a coworker and have never had a problem.

That said, this will probably be my last time staying here. It is starting to get a little rundown looking around the edges. The breakfast which others have called carb heavy was a choice of bagels, muffins, dry cereal or donuts- and the donut and muffin were not fresh. The only fruit was choice of an orange or an apple. I think they have replaced the lighting with energy saving bulbs that are somewhat dim, adding to the dingy atmosphere. As a woman staying alone, the hotel, not the area it is located in, gives me the creeps.

  • Liked — Value of room for the cost
  • Disliked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.