We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

This was the second time I had stayed at the Governors Inn. It is my favorite place to stay in Sacramento. On both trips I have met my best friend there and have we have stayed four to six nights. While it is in an industrial neighborhood, it is only a mile north of Old Sacramento and has close and easy access to I-5, which we jump on and off of to get there. The Governors Inn is a GREAT value for the price, much cheaper than a lot of places downtown. We have always been able to park the car below our room where we can keep an eye on it and close to an entrance, for ease in loading and unloading.and have never had any problem with the neighborhood. The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable, The Inn has air conditioning, which is absolutely necesary in Sacramento in the summer. It also has WiFi. Both the front desk staff and the woman who serves the continental breakast are outstandingly friendly and helpful! The continental breakfast is served in a spacious and nicely decorated area. What is served varies to some extent, but on our trips, they have had hard boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese, fruit, an assortment of pastries and muffins, juices, instant oatmeal, toast, cold cereal, etc. I am planning a trip to Sacramento this summer and will definitely be staying at the Governors Inn again!j

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    146
    50
    11
    9
See reviews for
73
86
32
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were pleasantly pleased with the Hotel. Great value for the price. We only stayed one night, but it was a positive experience. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. If visiting Sacramento would not hesitate to stay there again. The parking lot was well lit, so you could see your car from your room to keep an eye on it.. The breakfast was pretty standard. A restaurant a short distance across the street, was good, and very friendly also.

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Disliked — brerakfast average but ok
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
390 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Travelling with family. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. There was plenty of variety at breakfast to make each of us happy and full. Staff was very friendly and helpful, recommending an excellent restaurant.

We were so satisfied that we have already stayed there again and will continue to do so everytime we need a hotel in Sacramento.

  • Liked — Large, clean, comfortable & quiet room
  • Disliked — My wife didn't like driving by the local hobos at the nearby McDonalds... they didn't bother anyone.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Accomodations were average. Upon check-in the hotel did not have my online reservation on file. Fortunately, I had my copy of the reservation along with my confirmation number.

The swimming pool and spa were nice and well maintained. The continental breakfast was a bit lacking. The location was close to the airport, but far enough away to not be bothered by jet noise.

  • Liked — Room accomodations
  • Disliked — continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed at the Governors Inn for four nights during the Sacramento Jazz Festival (over Memorial Day weekend) and were quite pleased. The room was very clean, roomy, and well appointed. The continental breakfast was good with a decent variety (various breads/muffins/bagels, yogurt, etc. -- though we would have preferred more fresh fruit.) The staff were always quite friendly & helpful, even during this busy weekend when many festival-goers, including youth bands, were staying at the hotel. The shuttle to Old Sacramento for the festival was prompt and frequent. We liked the hotel's location, close to Old Town, the freeway, and Discovery Park (with great running/biking paths). In response to some of the other reviews about the location -- We did see some homeless folks here & there in the vicinity but they weren't threatening or a problem in any way. One recommendation we'd make would be for the hotel - or some other business in the area - to offer bike rentals....we would have loved to bike at Discovery Park if we'd had wheels!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I travel to Sacramento about once a year for business and I usually stay at the Governor's Inn. It is a clean, decent and reasonably priced place to stay. The homeless people generally congregate at McDonald's next door and don't bother you. I have walked to the nearby restaurants for dinner with a coworker and have never had a problem.

That said, this will probably be my last time staying here. It is starting to get a little rundown looking around the edges. The breakfast which others have called carb heavy was a choice of bagels, muffins, dry cereal or donuts- and the donut and muffin were not fresh. The only fruit was choice of an orange or an apple. I think they have replaced the lighting with energy saving bulbs that are somewhat dim, adding to the dingy atmosphere. As a woman staying alone, the hotel, not the area it is located in, gives me the creeps.

  • Liked — Value of room for the cost
  • Disliked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

My husband originally booked us into the Best Western Sandman, but I read through Trip Advisor's reviews and insisted that he change motels. The Governor's Inn is in the same industrial neighborhood, a little pricier, but the reviews said it was safer and cleaner. So, crossing my fingers, we booked it.

We checked in at 12:30 a.m. PST, and the night person was friendly, making sure we had breakfast vouchers for all days and Internet connection info before we went up to our room, and asked if we needed a wake-up call. Our car was in a parking lot surrounded by high walls, but shared a lot with the McDonald's next door (which was handy for getting out onto the road leading to the freeway - I-5.) We had a king bed "mini-studio"; separate toilet and shower from the sink, which was separate from the couch, fridge/coffeemaker, desk and bed.

Very comfortable, firm bed, good pillows. Immaculate room. New or nearly new furnishings throughout. A little road noise, but keeping the fan on the heater helped. No curtains on the windows, but plantation shutters which darkened the room very well, and kept the level of dust down, with none of those annoying gaps between curtains that you get.

Breakfast the next morning was staffed, and was heavy on the carbs, but had a great selection of doughnuts, croissants, coffee cake bread, yogurt, oatmeal, English muffins and the like. Tables were wiped down between guests. You did have to present breakfast vouchers, but the staff person was very friendly about it. My guess is that's how they separate the guests from the local transient population.

Front desk person was very helpful in recommending a cab company and making change. He strongly recommended that I did not walk the neighborhood alone at night, as noted in the reviews for the Best Western Sandman and for this location. This is next to Discovery Park and the freeway on-ramp, and there are lots of transients in the area. Also, it is about 1 1/2 miles through a very deserted industrial area, which we walked during the daytime, to anything worth seeing in Old Sacramento or downtown Sacramento itself.

Maps were available at the front desk. There is a computer with Internet access available in the lobby for those without Internet access; our Internet access in the room was nearly as fast as our DSL at home. The front desk person was very nice and printed out our boarding passes for us without charge (but I did provide him with a token of my appreciation!). We were also referred to a grocery store where I could stock up on snacks and beverages for our stay.

Breakfast the next morning was "cereal morning", with a selection of cereals, donuts and oatmeal. When I asked about yogurt, the staff person fished some out of the refrigerator just for me. As I noted before, the breakfast is heavy on the carbs. There is peanut butter available for toast and the like.

There is also a "Manager's Reception" in the afternoon, which features sherry, tea and cookies from packages, which I found charming, if not terribly high-brow.

The Governor's Inn is all non-smoking, and conference rooms take up the entire first floor. There is also a pool and a hot tub or sauna, but we didn't use those. All looked very clean. All rooms are interior rooms. There are 2 elevators to the 2nd and 3rd floor guest rooms.

Checkout was easy, since we had to check out at 4:30 a.m. We had gotten yogurt and pastries the day before and put them in our refrigerator so as not to bother the front desk person, but he offered to get us some breakfast to take to the airport with us, not knowing we had arranged this on our own. Our bill was quickly and accurately presented.

I would gladly stay here again. The extra we paid for this motel vs. the Best Western Sandman gained us peace of mind, friendly staff, immaculate housekeeping, a good bed and good breakfasts. Well worth it in a budget location.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great room, immaculate housekeeping
  • Disliked — Breakfasts a little carb-heavy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 83 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#46 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.