We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

My visit started by calling the hotel the rate was kind of high so i went online on to price line they gave me ten dollars off but before I booked I called the man at the front desk and told him about the rate he said he would book it for me at that price which was great. The hotel is clean and nice a little older but still seemed nice and updated. The room was very spacious the bed was ok. Tv was not very good I wish they would of had direct tv not very many channels. If you have a little kid like I do they don't have a bath tub only shower that was a bit of a inconvenience and no microwave to warm up food. The property seemed safe and it was a keyed entry and the rooms are all inside I tend to like hotels like that I feel a lot safer. It's close to McDonald's and down town. All in all I feel it was a good deal and nice hotel. The front desk associates were all very nice as well.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    125
    48
    11
    7
See reviews for
68
73
27
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel staff was friendly, continental breakfast was adequate. Room was fine, no bells and whistles but comfortable and clean. Pleased with the pricing of the room! Location central to downtown Sacramento and free parking. Recommend for those visiting Sacramento!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the hotel has been updated, it smells old and musty. It is in a poor location, with vagrants and other types of questionable people around. They do have security cameras and when asked if there was ever an incident, the response was well, not never. The hotel had very few other guests at the time of our stay but waking down the hallways you could hear in-room conversations and tv's. I would never stay here again and would recommend to my friends and family to keep searching.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was large and clean and the black out curtains darkened the room completely --- leading to a good night's sleep. Pleasant staff and easy parking. (Enough said....why must my review be 200 characters?)

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A quick overnight business trip brought me to this gem. As a self-employed professional that must be budget conscious, I discovered this great find on one of the well know discount booking sites. Conveniently located between the Capitol and North Sacramento, an easy exit near the interstate. Recent, major renovations are evident with appealing decor in the lobby and rooms. The king room was large, with nice furnishings, decent mattress, flat-screen t.v., free wi-fi, in-room coffee and basic bath amenities. The bath was compact, shower only. Complimentary breakfast, continental style---with a variety of breads, cereals, and make your own waffles. Add to it Seattles's Best Coffee, and complimentary newspaper in the lobby. The property felt safe, and although there are a few transients around the area, they can be found everywhere downtown. Although my booking site rated it 2.5 stars, I feel it is a solid 3 stars despite not having a restaurant in the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was large,and clean. Nice large breakfast room - typical fare, waffle maker, cereal, bagels, etc. Very quiet. There was only on restaurant around. Obviously Mexican, but have to say food very authentic not a chain. Well worth the visit.
This hotel is very close to the Old Town but you need to access the freeway for a short drive. A little confusing if not familiar with the area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel for a quick in and out trip. Rooms are large and spacious. Front desk was very helpful and efficient. Clean and amenities were average. I care more about clean than a large gym and restaurant area! Will be back.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.