We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family recently stayed 1 night at this hotel on a road trip to southern California. It was easy to find; clean; and the staff were very friendly. Pretty standard hotel room - but organized and clean. The free breakfast was great. The price was definitely right. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    124
    48
    11
    7
See reviews for
67
73
27
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here based on the Tripadvisor reviews. It was a nice place, but I was a bit disappointed based on the previous reviews. I got a good price through the hotel website. When I arrived, they allowed me to check in early. The room was a nice size and the beds were comfy. They do offer a free shuttle downtown, but if you just miss a shuttle, be prepared to wait. When we went to get the shuttle it had just left. The front desk clerk said it would be back in 20 minutes, but did not show up until 50 minutes later. They drop you off at the convention center, and then you can call them when you are ready to be picked up. We went the next day on a tour of UC Davis. When we got back around 2 p.m., our room had not been made up. I went down the hall to see when housekeeping would have a chance to make up our room, and I was told we were not on the list and we must have called the desk and asked that housekeeping not stop by. Hello!! Would I be asking when you would make up the room if I had asked you not to? The woman seemed very irritated that I wanted my room done. We had to go wait in the lobby until they finished with the room. The continental breakfast in the morning is very sparse, with lots of carbs and no protein. I would have rated this hotel a 4, if not for the negative experience with housekeeping. Still, overall, a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We usually stay at the Governors Inn when we come to Sacramento. Have done so for a number of years. Service outstanding, rooms excellent. This time, however, we found the shower head absolutely abominable. Left a note to management to have it replaced along with the shower controls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently stayed at Governors Inn with two of our grand daughters. We needed two connecting rooms and they were able to provide us with exactly what we needed and more. The surprise was that the price was so reasonable. We were nervous about the neighborhood, but it did not intrude on our experience and the hotel is lovely. We were close to everything we went to see (the captiol, Sutter's Fort, Old Sacramento, the Train Museum and the Crocker Art Museum). My favorite part of the experience was how clean our rooms were. Clean is important to me and this place was clean. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Not a 5-star hotel, but for business in & out travel it was a pleasant experience. Hotel & Room was clean and neat, easily accessible. The front desk people didn't jump out and hug me when I arrived but they were courteous enough for my needs. Neighborhood not the best but then I wasn't there for evening walks anyway. Price was right and I will stay there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were planning a vacation with our teenage daughters and spending a couple of nights in Sacramento. The price seemed to good to be true for just over $85 a night including taxes. Our room was large, clean and very nice. Breakfast was good and open later than most. Staff was friendly and helpful. It is close to downtown and parking was plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was looking for a room close to Sacramento to site see but did not want to spend $150 for a night.
I found this hotel online and I was so pleasantly surprised. It doesn't look like much from the outside but inside the room was LARGE, very clean and the $85 a night even included breakfast.
What a find! Check in was quick and easy and this hotel was a mile from delightful Old town Sac.
This was a great decision. If I am ever in Sacramento again I would absolutely return and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.