We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solidly average place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Napa, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Solidly average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I booked this hotel on an Orbitz whim, the kind where you supposedly save money by booking an unknown hotel room for a cheaper rate. My "great deal" was supposedly getting a $115 room for $75. Well, after I booked the reservation I discover that the going rate for their rooms is $80. So no real bargain there. I probably will never trust Orbitz again or do this sort of business with them. So you have been warned!!

The hotel was definitely older than it looks in the pics too. There was no literature in the room telling you check out times, pool/Jacuzzi hours or any info on the times of the breakfast buffet. We opted to sleep in till 9:30 & my husband ran down to the buffet & it was being shut down & was slim pickins by then. There was not even a microwave to heat up the few bread items that were left. And no microwave in the room tho there was a very noisy mini frig. The bed was kinda lumpy but I slept okay. We had a king bed. There was only a stand up shower in the room too. I guess it was fine for $75 but I definitely would have hated to pay more for this place. The location was convenient to Old Sac, just a couple minutes to drive there. I don't see what people were raving about with this hotel, it was nothing spectacular or special....just serviceable if you really don't plan to spend much time in your room except to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear JanieKennedy,
I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. We value our client feedback and we use the information we learn to improve our services to our guests. It is our custom to let all of our guests know the continental breakfast and swimming pool hours upon check-in. Our clerks also provide the access code to the internet during check-in as well. We do provide a microwave in our breakfast room which is located on the back table.

I will be sharing your feedback with our front desk clerks to remind them about making sure all guests are informed of the hours for the breakfast buffet. We do appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    117
    47
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
65
28
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Like my title says, I always choose here when in town. The evening front desk man (Heinrich sorry for bad spelling) is absolutely wonderful! friendly face and always remembers my name. The rooms are nice and usually very clean. although my last stay my room was not up to par.I would and have suggested this hotel to my friends and family. I will be staying here again in the near future. F.Y.I the area is not the best, you have a few wondering people thru out the night, but I have not seen or been bothered by them while staying here. .

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the 3rd floor.. and have not had any issues with noise but the view of the ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dalania A - Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when staying in Sacramento. We are humbled and honored to have earned your business. Our staff, as you mentioned, work very hard to take care of our guests and so glad that we have exceeded your expectations. I will share your review with our housekeeping department as we have very high standards. Thank you again for taking the time to sharing on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed one night in Sacramento, the front staff was very nice and recommended some eateries to us that evening. We went to the workout room the next room, and the facilities was what was expected in terms of equipment for this hotel. But no towels, no water in the room! There was a sink with tap water, which would have been ok, but it tasted like chlorine. I like to be fully hydrated while exercising, they need to put in a water dispenser. Pool was decent, but not heated so very cold at this time of year. Breakfast was good with waffles. The breakfast room was a decent size with lots of tables.

Room Tip: For a one night stay, I would say any room is fine. The place is fairly big with lots of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Karen L - Thank you so much for staying with us. Appreciate your comments about providing towels in the workout room. Glad you liked the waffles -- that was a suggestion from one of our guests and the waffles have been very well-received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Recently stayed for a three night training session; used my boss’s credit card to book the room. The front desk person would not charge the room to the credit card it was book with and I had to put it on my personal card. They have an approval form that needs to be filled out by the card holder with a copy of the persons' driver license. It would have been nice to know before I arrived.
The stay was average, the room/sheets/ towels were clean. The shower was dated and needed grout. I could hear the people above me stomping around. The pool/spa was clean and isolated from the public view. The free breakfast was simple: waffles/oatmeal/cereal/bagels/fruits
Location is great. Walking distance to large riverside park; it’s a couple miles along river to “Old Town” Sacramento area lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor so you don't have people stomping above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Matthew M - Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We do value and appreciate the feedback. As the front desk clerk explained, it is our policy, along with many other hotels, that we have a signed authorization form from the holder of the credit card authorizing the use of their card. I am sorry that this was not explained when you made the reservation. We do our very best to get the information out about our policies, I am sorry that we fell short in this instant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed at the Governors Inn for a conference down town. Great value with good basic breakfast, clean newly redecorated rooms and best of all - free shuttle to and from the airport and downtown. Saved a bundle and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
SanClementeMichael - Awesome review -- Thank you so much. Our business is all about taking care of our guests -- I am very glad we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here while working short term in downtown Sacramento. The place is decent, with a free breakfast that includes make-your-own waffles. It is a quick drive down 7th from the downtown area. Parking is free. The rooms have been updated in past few years. The hotel is pretty clean, however it is on the outskirts of downtown so the immediate area doesnt really have much going on. You need to drive or cab into downtown for restaurants. Right next to a McDonalds and across the street from a gas station and Dennys.

Room Tip: Some rooms are right next to the McDonalds drive thru. I dont recommend those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
jbrew3066 - Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review us at trip advisor. We get a lot of good comments about our free parking and the make-your-own waffles in our continental breakfast buffet along with our other amenities. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

After my prepaid hotel downtown telling me that I did not have a room, Governor's Inn was there for me. The room was larger than I expected. Simply decorated. Quiet--which was necessary because I was there for the bar exam. The front desk was very professional and courteous. The only negative really--as I was grateful to just get a room at the last minute--was the frig. The mini frig was more of a swamp cooler. I had planned with my downtown hotel to have a complete kitchen so I had brought some food that needed refrigerated during my stay--but it was a small inconvenience--Dennys was located across the street and McDonalds directly next door so the problem resolved itself. Great stay for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
CaliforniaVisitor - Very glad to read that you had an excellent stay with us and we were able to meet your need at the last minute. look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.