We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel photos don't do the place justice. It is really very nice, with spacious rooms and an open and light-filled lobby which invites one to sit down with a cup of coffee. The staff was exceptionally pleasant. Breakfast was average and being gluten free, I didn't partake. At least the coffee was good and strong. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sari1112,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and observations as we are always looking for ways to improve. We are getting ready to do another round of photos of our property and will try and do a better job capturing all the things you mentioned. Glad you liked the coffee, we recently switched to Seattle's Best, and we have been receiving very positive feedback.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    114
    47
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
65
27
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed only one night at the Governors Inn Hotel in Sacramento, CA. The hotel is located off the I-5 Freeway, however, is really not near downtown. A large railroad yard stands inbetween the hotel and downtown. I noticed that a Tram Station is being built as part of the link to the Airport. The hotel itself was VERY clean and VERY comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that they use sensor lighting and have natural products for the bathroom. The best touch was a laundry basket for the used towels. The hotel is located next to a MCD and across the street from a Dennys. Besides those two, I didn't notice any other place to eat. The only draw back is the location of the new Greyhound Station, just down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Bjaysfan21, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you liked our efforts to make our hotel very energy efficient. Our staff works really hard to ensure our hotel is kept very clean and comfortable. The River District where are hotel is located is in a great location as the city and the businesses are investing heavily into the area. The Denny's you mentioned is brand new and just opened this week. The Sacramento Police Department's north division, CHP Headquarters and the California Lottery Offices are also located in the River District, along with a brand new light rail station. The city and state have recently completed a multi-million dollar street scape and freeway offramp/underpass improvement project. We could not be happier about all the exciting changes taking place. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It is too bad this hotel is located in a less than desirable location. Saw some seedy characters in the vicinity, but certainly didn't feel endangered. It is clean, accommodating and reasonable. Free internet in lobby, complimentary continental breakfast & pleasant personnel. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear epruch, Thank you for staying with us. I mentioned to another TripAdvisor reviewer that the City is investing millions of dollars in the River District. The Blvd., freeway underpass and off-ramp have already undergone significant improvement to make it even easier for visitors to access the services along Richards Blvd. Also, our area is among the safest in Sacramento because we have both the Sacramento Police Department North Division and CHP headquarters are located along the Blvd. A new Denny's, Texas BBQ restaurant and other eateries are also nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed at Governors Inn on several occasions while visiting family in Sacramento. Can't find a better place, for the price or the cleanliness of this hotel, in our opinion, plus they have a good breakfast before heading out for the day. McDonalds is right next door too & a new Dennys Restaurant is "opening soon" across the street.. We will stay here many more times in the future.

Room Tip: We believe the 3rd floor is best and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear 664Christine_B13664, You said it all! Just a side note we are in the process of upgrading all of our TV to flat screens. Look forward to seeing you in the near future. If there is anything we can help you with on your next visit, please let us know. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and daughter for 3 nights. An excellent value! Room was very large and spotless. Easy to get anywhere in Sacramento. I arrived by train from san Francisco and free shuttle arrived promptly. Guess my only minor minor complaint was driver was not super courteous-- did not open unfamiliar van door-- said get in etc. but could be I have been spoiled by southern hospitality. Breakfast has varied choices-- just wish there had been some fresh fruit-- but my daughter loved the FRESH doughnuts. Stay here instead of a large chain--- you'll have lots of space all that you need and save $$$.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Georgiapeach,
Thank you so much for staying with us. And yes we are very sorry that our driver did not open the van door for you. We certainly strive to deliver the very best in Southern, Eastern, Western and Northern hospitality. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast too. Typically we have fresh fruit on the continental buffet. Hope you had a great trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nothing negative. Clean and very spacious room, quiet, nice fitness room, large dinning area for breakfast, great pool and hot tub. Less than five minutes to downtown and midtown (by car). We will stay there again on our next trip to Sac.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Nikolas A, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. The comments we receive are very helpful to us as we always want to evolve and improve our services. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was a very nice hotel for a businesss trip. I enjoyed my stay, and I would definitely stay there again.The hotel had just been remodeled, and it was very comfy and very clean, but the shuttle service needs to run past 10:30 at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Dana W, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are so appreciative of your comments. In regards to our shuttle service, we are always evaluating the needs of our guests when determining the shuttle schedule. Most nights our shuttle sits idle after 10:30 pm because there is just no demand. But as I mentioned that is one area we continue to monitor and make changes as needed. Thank you so much sharing on TripAdvisor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.