We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1-week + comfortable and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1-week + comfortable and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had to find a place at the last minute when our conference hotel downtown lost our reservation. We found an excellent rate for a week long stay at about 20% of downtown hotel quotes. It is a little outside of downtown but the green Line light rail opened in June 2012 with the terminus 4 blocks east.

Hotel is recently renovated, clean, and comfortable. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. Has an outdoor pool and spa. Breakfast was the basic, no eggs or meat, but typical for the price.

Just to avoid surprises, there are homeless in the area. the hotel does a good job of keeping them off premises. The only restaurant is McD's next door that may have some homeless around. Shuttle drive said Denny's is opening up across the street.

We would stay here again if we were traveling to Sacramento.

Room Tip: East side rooms may have too much light from the sun in the morning. Shutters rather than shades do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Public Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and glad you found our hotel to meet your needs. Our area is going through a wonderful renovation with new landscaping, more street lights, and a new light rail station just a few blocks away. The Sacramento Police Department's north area offices, California Highway Patrol headquarters and the California State Lottery are all located within minutes of our hotel. We are also excited by the new Denny's opening up across the street. We offer great value at the Governors Inn Hotel. With free parking, you are saving upwards of $24 a night in parking fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    114
    47
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
65
27
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We used this hotel before catching a flight to end our vacation throughout northern California. The front desk was friendly and let us pick the floor of our room. (there are three floors only) The staff was friendly the whole time. The room was clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were small. The bathroom was a little wierd because the sink is in the room and the toilet and shower are separate. I would have preferred a totally separate bathroom. Our room smelled a little like Italian food when we walked in.

Breakfast was ok. Fresh waffles but the coffee was terrible. I'd say for the price we paid we got our money's worth. I prefer to stay in more luxurious hotels but we just didn't feel we should spend the money just to have a place to sleep. I would stay here again though.

The other pluses were free wifi, coke and snack machine in the lobby, and fitness center. The cons are location; next to noisy freeway, not in downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and mentioning how friendly our staff is. They work really hard to provide our guests with great service. We are sorry about how your room smelled when you first walked in. Our housekeeping staff does a first rate job in cleaning rooms and I have passed along your comments to them. We are also sorry about the coffee. We only use Seattle's Best Coffee and have received numerous compliments. It may have just been a bad batch.

We value your comments as we are always striving to ensure each and every one of our guests has a great stay with us. Your feedback helps us improve our service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Governor's Inn continues to provide a clean, comfortable stay in Sacramento--at very affordable prices. Just minutes from downtown, the Governor's Inn provides a cost-effective alternative to the major hotels. Consistently clean, very nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. We so much appreciate you and all of our guests who choose to stay at the Governors inn Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Found Governors Inn on a whim one night while in Sacramento. Came into town, had a great dinner at the Delta King in old Sacramento (very close to hotel), enjoyed a few drinks at The Back Door bar then realized it was too late to be driving home. The staff at Governors Inn were very polite (forgot his name, middle eastern guy):) he checked us in pretty quickly. The hotel was very clean, the room was great, nice linens and towels. Didn't get to have the breakfast since we opted to sleep in! We've stayed here 2 more times and every time it's great! I mentioned this to the front desk lady, She said "oh, you can right a review" . I'm not sure if her name was Lea, but the 2nd time we stayed, Lea was very friendly and helpful even thought I called her several times with questions! The area is going thru some construction but all for improvements, but hey...you're in Downtown Sacramento! Also, the tissue and toilet paper were fine!!! Pros outweighs the cons! We will definetly be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are so glad that you found everything to be great! And we are so appreciative of you reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We have a very hard working team of talented people who care about our guests.

At the Governors Inn Hotel, we deliver a great value to each and every one of our guests including comfortable rooms, free internet, free parking and complimentary continental breakfast all an excellent value.

Thank you for your great review and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel only for one night but everything was really perfect.
The room was very clean, they had a nice shower (no curtain - glass door - which I prefer!).
The pool is not very big but ok. Breakfast is perfect (coffee, orange juice, cereals, milk, toast, bagels, muffins...) and the breakfast lady too :-).
Wifi worked fine, we had a fridge in our room and it is about 5 min to the State Capitol.
Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your PERFECT review! We know that the hospitality business is all about people and our staff team works really hard to give each and every one of our guest a great experience. We are so glad that you found our hotel a great place to stay.

Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean with all the usual amenities and good continental breakfast. It is not in a good location to walk anywhere downtown, though. Also, check in was absurdly slow...they seemed understaffed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and breakfast. Sorry about the slow check-in process. We are accustomed to giving our guests a fast and easy check-in experience. I will share your comments with our front desk team so that we can make the necessary changes to avoid this from happening in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stay at this hotel once or twice a year,. I have stayed here for years. I keep asking for a listing of the TV channels. No one seems to care enought to print out a list for all the rooms. Every hotel I've ever stayed in, has a listing of TV channels for that area. I ask for one, when I was there on June 4, and finally, after two hours of waiting, got one. It was handwritten ! Don't understand why this is such a difficult thing to provide ! Also, a microwave in the rooms would be nice. Other than that, my stay is usually good. My only other complaint was the breakfast selection. Very poor.

Room Tip: request the room you want when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about the TV Channel Guide. When we did our room renovations, we emptied all the rooms and never replaced the TV Channel Guide. Please know that we are producing a TV Channel Guide for each of the rooms and sorry that we did not have them available during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.