We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest and unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to rest and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Recently our family stayed at the Governor's Inn, we were celebrating a birthday and wanted to spend time in Old Sacramento...this hotel was so close and had everything we wanted...a pool, spa, clean and large rooms, with very comfortable beds. We felt right at home. I recommend this hotel with 5 stars, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had the king, and it has a separate area for a couch and a desk...large comfortable rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
How gracious of you to give such a wonderful review of the Governors Inn Hotel. We really appreciate the kind words and recommendations about our property. We do our very best to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience staying with us as we pride ourselves on being hospitality people. We are glad that you not only enjoyed your stay but also took the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    106
    44
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
59
27
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Motels.com gives this hotel a 2 1/2 star on a scale of 5, but I would rate it higher. We normally stay at 2 or 3 star hotels and it was the best older motel/hotel we've stayed. Nice sized room, very clean, etc. Cosmetically it maybe older, but well maintained. We saved a lot of money ($77.40 vs. $148.00) booking it through motels.com, rather than booking it directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Governors Inn Hotel. We very much appreciate the feedback as we are always striving to deliver the very best value and services to our guests. All of our guest rooms, Lobby area and Breakfast room have been fully renovated. We take extreme pride in our property and keep it well maintained. Thank you for highlighting those attributes in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Clean and quiet; quirky. (You'll know when you see the hallway carpeting). Hard to detect evidence supporting claims of "recently renovated" except for freshly painted hall walls. Breakfast distinctly meh. Some extra efforts on display - origami folded towels, brown-paper wrapped glasses.... worth it if you can get a below-rack rate price.

Room Tip: The freeway is on the west side; a McDonalds is to the north - try for an east facing room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami/nyc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

For $90 a night...a 3 star it is not. Super dated and needs a renovation. Nice front desk people.
Stay at a chain. You'll thank me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Absolutely could not have been a better place to stay while we were in Sacramento. We were very fortunate to land at 'home' away from home.
From the general manager to the desk clerks, hotel staff and housekeeping, they made us feel welcome and were ready to meet every request and concern, and filled them promptly.
I really cannot say enough good things about this group of folks we met--Toni, Michael, Josiah, Sarah, Hope, Xa, Justin, Yolanda, and the many others whose names we didn't get.
This is the place you need to stay if you are in Sacramento. You'll be well taken care of--they treat you like you are someone special. You will not be disappointed, either in the size of the rooms, the beds, the breakfast arrangements, check in and out...all very wonderful, fantastic, and smooth.

Room Tip: Third floor has more view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for going the extra mile to identify those staff members that made your stay with us even more memorable. We are so glad you found The Governors Inn Hotel to be your "home" away from home. Reading your review and sharing it with the staff just brought smiles to all of us. Being in the hospitality business is more than just giving you a room key, it’s about the entire experience and that is what we strive to deliver at the Governors Inn Hotel on a daily basis. Thanks for telling the world about your wonderful stay with us. And next time you fly across country to Sacramento; we will hold out the weclome mat for you...we look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nice! From the gentleman at the front desk to the maids and maintenance staff in the hallways, every member of the staff smiled and greeted you and asked if they could be of service. Very well trained staff - have never seen this level of graciousness in any other recent hotel experience.

The hotel has obviously been recently renovated and it shows. All of the public areas were very pleasant and clean. The room was large and came with a refrigerator, free wireless, in room coffeepot (this coffee is never good, but the effort is appreciated - missed having tea option but could pick up bags in lobby). Liked the touch of the basket for used towels. Bed was comfortable and clean. Only complaint would be lack of grab bars in the newly refurbished shower, better handle on shower door, and place to put washcloth when not actively using.

Breakfast service is relatively minimal - but includes juices, hot and cold cereals, bagels, croissants and waffles (make your own), apples and yogurt (fat free - thank you!). Would recommend slightly better plastic silverware. Staff, again, so pleasant and reaching out to be of service.

Coffee and hot water available 24 hours a day in thermoses in lobby. Free computer and printer also in lobby. Small pool and exercise rooms (we didn't use on this short visit). Room service available (didn't use) and MacDonalds (does anyone really eat there?) next door.

Look out your window onto the American River Trail for walks or bicycling. Easy access to freeways and downtown.

We would definitely consider a return.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side have view of River Trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind and generous review. As an Independent hotel we work harder to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience. We get many comments about the fact we are located near the American and Sacramento Rivers. And being right off the freeway it makes for very easy access. Just recently, the city and state completed a major renovation to the off-ramps and widening of the freeway underpass. Next time you’re coming through Sacramento, check out the artistic cement side walls in the underpass, they even include blue LED lighting. We are very pleased with the investment in roads and transportation improvements occurring along Richards Blvd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Every member of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was more spacious than expected, with super comfy beds. We ended up in the area a second night and were excited to return. Entire facility was very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad that you found our staff to be extra helpful. We pride ourselves on our staff going the extra mile to serve our guests. Thank you for recognizing our team members and mentioning it here on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.