We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Governors Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Governors Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
South San Francisco, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I were impressed from the beginning when we're checking-in at the front desk. Front desk attendant is professional and courteous. The hotel looks nice and clean. The amenities are great! Gym, complimentary breakfast with a good size breakfast area (both gym and breakfast room have flat screen TV), pool with jacuzzi, free parking and free internet. We couldn't get all that had we stayed in downtown Sacramento's 4* hotels. Yet... this hotel is very... very close to downtown; just one exit away. Highway access is easy, and having a gas station right in front of the hotel is a convenient for us before we headed back home on the road. Oh... last but not least, the room is spacious, clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at the Governors Inn Hotel. Our Front desk team and housekeeping staff strives to exceed every guest’s expectation from the moment you check in until the time you leave. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    117
    47
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
65
28
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We got a good deal on this hotel through priceline. We thought it was great. Clean, spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. We had no problems at all and the desk staff was helpful. Getting downtown was quick and easy. As for the neighborhood... it gets a little sketchy a few blocks away and the McDonalds adjacent to the hotel doesn't attract the best crowd. But it isn't anywhere near as bad as some would say. Still, like any urban center with free parking (or any place, really) it's best to stay in well-lit areas near the entrance and use due caution. We can't speak to the luggage handling as we manage by ourselves whenever possible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is essentially a huge and dingy motel. We were given a room at the back, but because the hotel is immense, it took a while to get inside from the parking lot to our room by walking down a long, dark corridor. We had a lot of luggage, there was no offer of help or carts to use. You are on your own here like you would be in a motel.

The building is dingy and dimly lit with low ceilings and low quality appointments.The room was old-looking and dark; if you are on the ground floor you are obliged to close the blinds for any privacy. It's not located a nice neighbourhood, but could be convenient for some located right off the highway.

The breakfast hours are comparatively short and the cold food is pre-packaged and stale.

A small swimming pool at the front of the hotel reached from the inside attracted many children so there's something to do for kids.

I found this hotel to be of poor value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

We were only able to stay here one night to check out the Sacramento area for a move next year, so I wasn't expecting much from a motel that I paid such a low price for.

The hotel is situated right near a freeway for convienance, and around surrounding motels and hotels.

We needed a quiet room after being exhausted from our flight the night before that caused us not to get into SF until 4am and then we drove to Sacto about 4 hours later.

The staff was all very friendly, there was ample parking, and the hotel and rooms were beautiful, clean, and well kept.

My only complaint was that the pool was not heated and there was no bathtub, but the spa made up for that.

Other than that, it was an excellent
choice. It was also close to downtown, old Sacramento, and the state capitol Bldg.

The rooms were very quiet and came with ceiling fans as well as a/c which was great because it was not that hot the night we stayed.

Excellent motel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us an awesome review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and found the Governors Inn Hotel to provide you the "value and convenience" that you were looking for prior to your move to Sacramento. Our staff works very hard to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience at our hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My room was large and very clean. The staff was friendly and efficient. I would definitely stay here again especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel was very clean and comfortable; easy to find from the airport and a short drive to downtown; a shady pool on the hot days we were there; good selection at breakfast and regularly replenished. We left a cellphone behind and the staff found it in our room within a few minutes and mailed it back to us right away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for your very kind review of the Governors Inn Hotel. We are glad you found our hotel to be "very clean and comfortable." As you can imagine our staff is very proud of our hotel and works very hard provide to deliver first class customer service. We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I've stayed in Motel 6 and Roadway Inns that were nicer than this place. Rude staff, lied about the price and refused to fix what they did wrong. The hotel smells like wet dog and the room stinks like I don't even know what. Wow - it's very sad. I've stayed in a lot of cheap and expensive rooms and this one is by far the worst expensive room I've ever stayed in. Internet service is real slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governors Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.